We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Franklinton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location, small rooms”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom, 6th floor with great ocean and boardwalk views. Close to everything. Room seemed small compared to Marriott and Hyatt timeshares, quality was at least two steps below them so I am not sure how it rated a gold laurel on interval. Furniture was dated and stained, mattresses on sleeper sofas were very uncomfortable (worse than usual), room seemed dirty, kitchen floor was sticky upon arrival. Layout for use of the one bathroom was poorly designed, there was no sink accessible or shower unless you were in the seperate bedroom area (no wall seperation just open to bed area) you can access the toilet from the living area without going into the bedroom though.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, there was no timeshare sales pitch or pressure to attend one. Even though we were told at check in they would exchange linens once midweek, they did not and when we asked we were told they never do that and if we wanted them to there would be a charge. We stay at timeshares all the time and understand that you do not get daily maid service like a hotel but all we have been to did do a mid week cleaning and linen replacement. They would give you fresh towels any time you asked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    100
    39
    31
    44
See reviews for
108
94
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We used this place as a one night stopover on the way to Outer Banks. We had 3 couples and rented the 1 bedroom suite which had a queen bed and 2 queen pull outs. 1 pull out was in room with bed. It was perfect for what we wanted. Only thing only 1 bathroom, the toilet had a door off the kitchen area and a pocket door on the other side leading into the bedroom/bathroom. (problem was no door to seperate the shower/tub area so no one could have any privacy when taking a shower. We all had to put blinders on. The room was clean except that the cleaning people left a discusting washcloth on the top of the toilet which actually looked like it had human waste on it. YUCK!!
Oh and they only allow 1 parking space so 2 of our cars had to be taken down to a public garage and left there. They get you for 2 days parking since they next day starts at 5 AM
Other than that all and all it wasn't a bad deal for such a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyDesi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We traded a beautiful one bedroom unit and they gave us a dirty shoebox of a room. We could not even get a luggage cart into the room and close the door. The shower curtain was moldy and the drawers in the bathroom had hair in them. The bed was so worn we sank into the middle when we laid on it. The closet was less than two feet and there was no dresser.
We had one small window that looked onto a noisy street. There were other rooms available that people off the street were able to get for less than the time share fee we paid. After repeated contacts with the front desk, the "vacation consultant" and interval we got nowhere everyone just passed the blame to someone else and did not even return our calls. You had to pay extra if you wanted clean towels or maid service or internet or a chair on the beach. There was no outside pool. DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUCCIGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Was enticed to go to a pitch about becoming a time share holder at this hotel. Promised a no pressure presentation. ended up hardly being the case. They expect people to fork over 13 grand and then pay a monthly fee for 5 years. they fail to inform you of a maintenance fee and they really lay on the pressure. the room was full of marks they were trying to score. they take you for a tour and have actors who make appearances to praise the facility at just the right time. after i told the representative i was not interested he brings in the inventory manager who finds me a share that the down payment was 200 dollars with a monthly fee of 199 for 5 years. Do the math and add up the monthly fee of 500 bucks for 2 weeks of time share a year and you should break even around the year 2200. what a scam. facility unit i saw was nice but the scam was just that a SCAM

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Decaur, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here from August 4th-August 9th. We had a great time! We booked on short notice and could only get an efficienty. Not bad for 2 people. Had a nice LITTLE kitchen area nice size bathroom. Did the job! Loved that it was right on the beach. We ate at the Rock Fish great food. (expensive but good!) I would stay here again. I love Virgina beach!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor_Lumadue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First thing I noticed when I entered the room is the entire shower area is open to the bedroom so whoever is sleeping in the bed has to go out while you shower. The only balcony is off that bedroom not the common area (living room) as most are so the only ones that can enjoy the beautiful beach sunrise is the ones that stay in the bedroom and if anyone with you smokes you have to go through the bedroom to get to the designated area which is the balcony. The air condition vents half way across the small balcony and the heat from it makes it so you can't even sit over there on these hot days. I was told by Jenny when making reservations we could pay an additional $7.00 for a second vehicle to park there and upon arrival was told no way - you can park it at 9th Street which is about 7 blocks away and walk back in this 100 degree heat. I am not a timeshare owner but yet they zeroed in on my family that was to arrive to do a tour and never once offered it to me - who had just paid over $1000.00 to stay there for the weekend. My mini-vacation was just added stress that I could had done without. Needless to say I just left a day early and will never be back there. They could have cared less and did absoutely nothing to try to help but why should they - they already had my money. Totally dissatisfied and will never stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank jmdrn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Fantastic facility and staff was very friendly. Nice indoor pool wished they had an outdoor pool. Great restaraunt below hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jersarecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
749 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Property: Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing