We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ocean Front Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great Great location. Room was very clean and was ready at 4:00. We had a two bedroom lockout. Best looking Resort at night. The lights around the whole building makes this Resort stand out. If you want to be on the ocean and hear the waves at night, this is the place to be. The boardwalk is close to three miles long. As you walk in the mornings you will see many dolphins up and down the coast. Everyone was always very helpful. The only negitive would be that it did not have a washer and dryer in the room.

Room Tip: Honestly every room is good. We prefer higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank indianasports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! I agree, our Resort looks great all lit up at night! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

To start off with, our room was not ready when it was supposed to be. We had to wait an additional hour to check in. The cleaning service was OK. A couple of days they just switched the towels, when we wanted our sheets changed as well. The pool was a little dirty with sand that could have been cleaned up.

On the positive side. The hotel is right on the beach with an excellent location. The price is right and the rooms were in decent shape. Overall I would porbably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jstock2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Goods - Front desk staff, fully furnished rooms with cooking utensils, nice rooms, great location near good restaurants, good parking, nice beach (all hotels in this area have a great beach, but the Boardwalk's is the only one we saw that was lit at night), descent pool.

Bads - (not really that bad), room wasn't ready when we arrived (front desk staff handled the situation well though), maid service wasn't stellar (but not horrible either), the pool wasn't totally clean (because a lot of sand was deposited from the beach into the pool).

Note - Right under the departure path of a Navy Fighter Jet base and there is constant jet noise all day and night - didn't bother me, I actually enjoyed watching the planes, but it might bother some.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Boardwalk was a part of a timeshare presentation and was a nice choice. The room had a lovely view of the Atlantic via a balcony. There were pull-out sofas in the bedroom and in the living room. Ultimately, the space could sleep 6.

The full size kitchen was a plus and the living room had a flat screen and DVD player. The bed was not quite queen size and the closet space was tiny. Iron and Ironing board included but the ironing board was the miniature dorm sized ones. The bedroom had a "regular" TV and DVD player. The bathroom had an unusual set up; the only "private" area was the toilet area, the shower/bathtub was open to the bedroom. Not an issue for a couple but if it were being shared by lots of people, it could be an issue. Toiletries were available for use if you needed them. There are separate A/C units in the living and bed rooms; the unit in the bedroom was noisy.

The location is close to many restaurants and attractions for families. Upon check-in, we were given a handy coupon guide that had lots of discounts for restaurants, shopping, attractions, etc. that helped save some money. The boardwalk was filled with families, couples on bicycles, people walking dogs, joggers and the ocean was sprinkled with swimmers, surfers and a few dolphins in the early morning.

The staff that we came in contact with were all very nice, front desk, housekeeping, etc. and there is a fitness center and indoor pool for use as well.

The timeshare representative stated that this is a 4 or 5 star resort quality and while it is nice and adequate, I could hardly call it 5 star. All in all, if we were in the position financially to purchase a timeshare, we may have but not at this particular resort because of the bathroom issue.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a villa with a city view. However, from the bedroom we could see the beach. The balcony opened onto Atlantic, which was very entertaining. It had lots of room for a family of 4. The kids slept on pull out bed in living room. We were able to cook in full kitchen, which saved money. Best part was a deep jacuzzi tub. The pool was clean and we loved the hot tub. The staff were available to meet our needs with a smile. We will definatly stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepsimommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just got home from the worst experience in our 10+ years of timeshare ownership. We got there and the floors were sticky. We asked that they be mopped while we were gone and we couldn't tell that they did. The bed was so bad that we ended up pulling the mattresses off the sleeper sofas and putting them on the floor to sleep. We were told that they didn't have anything larger than a queen bed when we checked in....Internet WIFI was $30 for the week and no one offered any alternatives, not that I would have listened to a timeshare presentation anyway. We were told this was not a a "spring breaker place to stay" since it's a timeshare, but there were two "couples" in the pool that told us they were Freshmen. When we asked them, we were told their mom set it up for them. The walls were paper thin and the guys above us were over the top wild and crazy after coming in from a St. Patty's Day party.

The only positive thing I can say is that the sunrises are great and the sound of the surf with the open patio door is relaxing, assuming that the noise below stays in check. We avoided the hospitality desk because we didn't want to give them a false sense of security that "everything was great" because we were basically shut down every time we asked about something. This is not what I consider to be a "condo unit". It might be OK for a bunch of college kids, but there's nothing there for families to do unless you just want to hang out in the pool.

Room Tip: If you're gonna stay here, ask for Oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is our second time staying here at the Boardwalk. We are Marriott timeshare owners in Hawaii and are used to that level of quality so I was checking out the Oceans Beach Club as our choice to go to as an equivalent. The reviews there were not very impressive. Seems like all of the rooms in all of the resorts and hotels here on the oceanfront are small so if you are expecting Marriott size and quality, you won't find it anywhere here. For the size of the rooms, the Boardwalk is decent. It's by no means, luxury but, for a nice stay with a magnificent view, we would stay here again. The staff, when we checked in, and every time we called about anything, were extremely helpful. The room service people that we encountered in the hallways while they were working were always very courteous and pleasant as well. The Boardwalk is definitely a nice place for your family to stay. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#67 of 109 in Virginia Beach
798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#42 of 109 in Virginia Beach
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £59 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing