We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but needs better housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location but needs better housekeeping”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 4teens over July 4 holiday. Hotel staff couldn't keep up with increased visitors- windows filthy with greasy handprints. Our balcony was constantly riddled with a puddle of water from the a.c. Unit. Smell of garbage in garage and hall on our floor. Average stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
As the General Manager of this hotel, I would like to thank you for offering this feedback about your recent stay with us. Our success is dependent on the feedback we get from loyal customers like you. I deeply regret that you had a poor experience with housekeeping. We assure you that this is not the norm at our property, even when we are at full capacity, and we will make every effort to ensure this does not happen again. We do have staff cleaning public areas daily but you are correct that it can be difficult to keep up with especially the back doors to the beach area that get new handprints every few minutes! I hope that you will stay with us again so we will have an opportunity to make this up to you!
Thank you again for your feedback and business!
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    97
    39
    30
    44
See reviews for
106
92
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in a 2BR for 4 nights and enjoyed it. The room had an oceanfront view and balcony which is great. Our room came with a fully equipped kitchen, full refrigerator with freezer, dishwasher, stove/oven, large microwave, 3 TV's, DVD players, dining room table and sofa. The hotel has an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, fitness room, and indoor garage. The room comes with 1 free parking space and free internet access. The Wifi worked fine and there were plenty of channels available to watch. The hotel is not huge (only 10 floors) which is nice since there are only 2 elevators. The hotel has a restaurant Rockfish but it doesn't open for breakfast so I think a lot of guests use the full kitchen to cook breakfast in the room which you can smell the bacon in the halls everyday. The Jacuzzi is a little small (maximum capacity of only 6) but the hotel wasn't too crowded so I did not have to wait to use the Jacuzzi or swimming pool. The hospitality service was okay but not as good as other hotel chains which offer complimentary coffee and breakfast. The first night was fine which they provided shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, and coffee. After the first night, they just made the beds and provided fresh towels but did not provide any additional shampoo bottles or coffee packets in the room like most other hotels do. Next year, I may try another hotel and book 2 adjoining rooms which offers complimentary breakfast and other amenities for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerfromMtKisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how your trip was a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views!
We apologize if you didn't receive additional supplies when your room was cleaned, we do typically restock those when your unit is cleaned. We would love to you to come back and see us again! Keep in mind, most hotels do not have full kitchens in their rooms; so while you may be able to find a hotel for the same/similar price, you would sacrifice the ability to cook meals on your own for a free breakfast (which is usually frozen food warmed up and very limited in offerings). Thank you again for your kind comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was a nice hotel with good in-room amenities. Ours included a sitting area, separate bed and bathroom, kitchen and kitchen seating. It included everything needed to make meals before we walked out to the beach. Shopping and restaurants galore on this street with nice nightlife. Trolley outside can take you locallu, including the aquarium. The staff pitches their timeshares, but they are not high pressure. Overall, a clean, decent place for an affordable price located right on the ocean.

Room Tip: "Next to elevators" on your reservation will probably mean you have a partial ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SP518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and a great location right near the pier and all the "action" is part of why our resort can't be beat! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Pros:

- Good location with lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
- Nice size suite with large shower/sink area and separate toilet room
- Room/kitchen/bathroom were clean upon check-in
- Very convenient free parking garage with access directly to your room floor
- Great oceanfront view from room with floor to ceiling windows.

Cons:
- Front desk staff has no clue about hotel amenities and/or answers to basic questions. (I called ahead to find out if shampoo/conditioner was provided in rooms and the girl who answered had no idea. Same thing w/ a question about if the hotel has cribs for infants.)

- Housekeeping skipped our room even though we were supposed to get a cleaning. When I called to notify them, they told me that our room would be cleaned the following day. When it was "cleaned", it was only the beds made and trash taken out. New trash bags were not left and I had to track someone down to get new bags. I don't know if this is normal protocol or not for the cleaning since it's a condo-style property, however.

- Kitchen cookware and appliances need updating.

- Bed pillows were beyond lumpy and hard.

- Only one small packet of coffee given and no coffee shop within a close walk! (This was very difficult for a caffeine junky like me!!!)


***Overall - if you get a good rate in-season and need a suite with a kitchen, this property will prob be fine and suit your needs. Just bring your own pillows and coffee!!***

Room Tip: Oceanfront view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! We are happy to see that you enjoyed the location, views and cleanliness! I am very sorry that you felt the front desk was not knowledgeable about our Resort. Guest Service is our number one priority, we train our staff extensively upon hiring and we train them that "if you don't know, find out!" Additionally, I am very sorry that you did not receive housekeeping services during your stay. If you have a "Do not Disturb" sign on your door, that is the only reason I can think of that they would not have cleaned your room unless you were staying as a week long timeshare guest.
We are happy to replenish your coffee as a daily rental guest, so please just let us know! We updated our living rooms and bedrooms this year and our kitchens and bathrooms will be updated next! Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
489 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The oceanfront location at Atlantic & 16th streets. The rooms are well designed and the furnishings kept in good shape. Staff is friendly and helpful. This section of the beach does not seem to be as crowded as the area further north. If you enjoy amusement park rides, the hotel is just one block away from the rides. Also a block away from the 15th Street pier.

Room Tip: The end unit 1 bedroom rooms (e.g., 708, 908, etc. have a balcony off the bedroom that overlooks bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! I agree our location can't be beat! We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed here in may for my honey moon. Had an excellent time at this hotel. Great location and will definitely come back again. Angelina at the front desk was OUTSTANDING she really made our stay extra special by going above and beyond to make us happy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oduheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we are right in the middle of the Boardwalk with stunning Ocean views doesn't hurt either! I have shared with Angelina that you were very happy with her service and she was delighted. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments and congrats on your recent marriage!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary. It exceeded our expectations. The staff, especially the hotel manager, was so friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend it!!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your special anniversary trip a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. Please come visit us again soon!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Property: Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing