We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place To Stay In VA Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #60 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Millerstown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay In VA Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel from Mar. 21-24, 2014. We had a one bedroom suite on the side of the building. The room and hotel were both very nice. Everything was clean and had a fresh smell. All our linens were clean and we had plenty of towels and washcloths. Housekeeping came every day and made our bed and replenished our towels. During our stay we received two different calls to make sure everything was okay with our room and to see if we needed anything. The hotel staff was very nice and knowledgeable of the VA Beach area when we had questions.

We were in town for the Cheer and Dance Extreme Cheerleading Competition at the VA Beach Convention Center. Our eight year old Daughter enjoyed the indoor pool and being very close to a Dairy Queen.

We also visited the VA Beach Aquarium and Science Center, which is located a few miles up the road.

Our stay at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel was wonderful and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Tigger1031,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so happy that we could exceed your expectations! Our service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! (And of course being right next to Dairy Queen is a plus as well!) We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    96
    36
    29
    42
See reviews for
104
84
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobbs Creek, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ocean Front with awesome view!! Room was clean and spacious. I chose the Queen Suite with the additional living room and kitchen space... Fully furnished Kitchen... It was a really nice room and the rates were excellent during the winter weeks... If you don't want to be aggrivated just a bit, by-pass the welcome package... unless you want to hear about the timeshare associated with this Hotel... The only other thing I will say is.... The pillows are very hard, like sleeping on a brick.... But all in all, a great place for the whole family... Pool & Spa and Large Exercise room were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and a great location right near the pier and all the "action" is part of why our resort can't be beat! Even in the off season, The Boardwalk Resort is a great relaxing place to stay! Thank you for the feedback on the areas where we can improve as well, we are so thankful to have guests like yourself that will provide us with honest feedback to help us improve! We take great pride in our resort and want to make sure we let our guests know that vacation ownership is an option that works great for some folks and will allow you to save money and travel the world as well as a deeded property that can be passed down for future family members to enjoy! Thank you again for your wonderful comments and suggestions!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Housekeeping not very great ... They don't come and clean even if we call them ...hotel had a foul smell everywhere ... Carpets old ... Apart from tat it was very nice stay and it was manageable though ..oceanfront room was great and gym was good ...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are.
I am a bit stumped by your comment about old carpeting as we completed carpeting the entire resort's guest rooms just last month! We have beautiful brand new carpeting in all units as well as mattresses, bedding package, wallpaper, TVs in Bedroom areas, Blu Ray Players and expanded storage space, brand new sofas/sofa beds, and recovered dining chairs/benches all completed in 2013!
Additionally, I am very sorry that you did not receive housekeeping services during your stay. If you have a "Do not Disturb" sign on your door, that is the only reason I can think of that they would not have cleaned your room unless you were staying as a week long timeshare guest. Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the boardwalk over Thanksgiving week. It was clean and spacious. We have 4 kids so the extra space really was nice. Great location, right on the board walk. You can drive on the boardwalk and night and there are Christmas decorations all lighted up along the boardwalk which was cool (for a fee of $12 for our Van). The staff at the hotel were really friendly. The pool was small but fine as was the hot tub. The fitness center has so real nice treadmills with TV's. You can walk to DQ, other resturants and shops which was convienent.
It made for a nice relaxing week.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how your trip was a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views. The holiday lights on the boardwalk are always a lot of fun as well. I am sure a relaxing vacation is just what you need when you have 4 children! Thanks again and please come back and see us very soon!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just got back from a weeks vacation in Virginia Beach. (Nov 16 to 23) It was our first time visiting the area. We stayed in room 806 which had a fantastic view of the ocean. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated. The place is going under renovations and I believe we got one of the newer rooms. The windows in the room are fantastic for they are floor to ceiling in the main room and also pretty big in the bedroom. I could easily lay in my bed and see the ocean. We enjoyed watching dolphins in the morning while having coffee on the balcony and viewing the beautiful full moon on the ocean at night. The staff were all very friendly and addressed anything we needed very quickly. The only down side is that we wished the Rock Fish restaurant in our building was opened. I hear this restaurant is really good but it closes down for the slow season. There are still lots of restaurants within walking distance but it would of been nice to have something in our building. After a day of exploring and walking the beautiful sandy beach and boardwalk you are not always excited about doing more walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hello, My name is Nicole Webster and I am the Resort Manager at the Boardwalk. Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how your trip was an enjoyable one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views!
I agree that it would be great if Rockfish were open in off season; we certainly miss that wonderful food in the winter time! Try us again between April and October and you will be able to enjoy the awesome crabcakes and fresh seafood and all the other great food Rockfish has to offer! Thanks again for your comments! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We rented a one bedroom suite for the week. Our unit is one of the upgraded ones and is very very nice. Furniture is in perfect condition, bed is very comfortable. Our unit overlooks the beach and has a little deck (unfortunately it's too cold to sit outside!) Kitchen has a good supply of pots/pans etc. They have the most awesome thick, soft towels. I'm in love with them! The unit was very very clean except that the kitchen floor wasn't swept, and in one of the cabinets the glasses are sticking to the shelf, so they needed to be washed before using.

There are laundry facilities, but not in the unit - you have to go to a different floor. There is also a very nice pool and hot tub, along with a fitness center onsite.

There is a restaurant (Rockfish) on the premises, which we have not yet been to. There's also a ton of places within walking distance. It's in a great location within Virginia Beach. They also have plenty of parking.

We'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and a great location right near the pier and all the "action" is part of why our resort can't be beat! Even in the off season, The Boardwalk Resort is a great relaxing place to stay! Thank you for the feedback on the areas where we can improve as well, we are so thankful to have guests like yourself that will provide us with honest feedback to help us improve! We look forward to your next visit!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Four of us decided to rent a suite at Boardwalk in order to be able to hang out together without going back and forth from hotel rooms. This place was like a small apartment. Complete with 1 1/2 kitchens and two baths. Great balcony with an awesome view and wonderful extras. The four of us were able to live together for 4 days without getting into each others space. The kitchen had plenty of cookware and a few appliances. Housekeeping made sure we had clean kitchen towels every day.

The concierge (we had Alex) was awesome and gave us the information we needed to make this trip spectacular. Definitely plan on bringing the family back asap so we can experience this again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean. If you get a suite with a kitchen, plan a complete menu down to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffiveMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have newly renovated rooms with full kitchens and ocean views sets us apart from the rest! I have shared with our staff that you were very happy with their service and they were delighted. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#72 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Property: Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing