We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in the Studio Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I had reservations at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas from April 19-26. This was a two bedroom interval exchange. It exchanged for a studio. This in normally not a problem since it was just the two of us. The room is very, very small. It is smaller than a two or three star hotel. This is very disappointing. I have exchanged with interval since 1999. It would be helpful if the guest are informed that the studio accommodations are smaller that the normal studio accommodations. We could only hang four hangers on the so-called wardrobe rack. The staff and the service was great! The fitness is excellent. We were offered an upgrade it was not available until Wednesday. We were checking out on Thursday. We would not stay in this hotel again. It is maintained but old and outdated. We did not see the one or two bedroom. We are finding that it is easier to stay at a Marriott hotel, we always know the quality is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seetheworld1NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We are happy to see that you felt our staff and service was great. I agree our studios are our smallest units, however, they all have kitchenettes and about the average size of a standard hotel room. Unfortunately, we are not always able to offer upgrades due to limited availablity. We would love to have you back with us and try our oceanfront suites with a full kitchen the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I loved our stay because it was right on the boardwalk! Our 1-bedroom, 2nd floor, ocean front unit was very nicely laid out. It could use a little updating, but it had everything that we needed. We had a full kitchen, with a microwave and dish washer. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the 2 air conditioning units because ours leaked onto the floor. But, when we called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMEReh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so thrilled that we could exceed your expectations! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! By the way, we are doing a full kitchen and bathroom renovation in 2015, and we have just done the living rooms and bedrooms last year! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our Oceanside 2 bedroom villas was beautiful. The unit was clean, and there was room for 2 adults and 3 active teens. I did, however, need to comment on the quality of the kitchen & the linens. The kitchen has service for 5, but the cookware was minimal and of poor quality. I had to put the only skillet (9 in) on the 1 cookie sheet because the handle was flimsy and I was afraid it would break. There were no measuring spoons, just a 2 c glass measuring cup. In addition, there were no mixing spoons. Typically when we stay in villas (our preferred way to vacation) we have a much better appointed kitchen- making it easy to prepare cocktails, snacks or even the occasional dinner. I actually went our and bought a couple of things to make the kitchen more serviceable for us. Also, I had to request more pillows and blankets as the pillows were flat out of terrible quality or just really old because everyone was both lumpy and flat. All that being said, the resort was well maintained, clean and with plenty of room. Each room had a flat screen and regular DVD (not Blu-ray). I would come again, but just make sure that I had brought any kitchen utensils that I felt I needed.

Room Tip: villa 307A is a 3 bedroom with lock out. We had the side with the full ocean front view and 2 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to have such a great resort in the middle of all the "action" for our guests to enjoy!
We do have heavy stainless steel cooking equipment in the units, so feel free to contact us to tighten up the handle if you feel it’s loose. The pans are very sturdy, but the screw in the handle can become loose. Additionally, we are sorry you had lumpy pillows; we certainly do our best to maintain and replace pillows as needed. Again our staff is here around the clock to serve you and we would be happy to address any issue you may have during your stay.
Your suite should have had a DVD player in living room and a Blu Ray player in bedroom, we just installed them last year (2013). We have one of each in every suite.
We are doing a full kitchen and bathroom renovation next year (2015) so be sure to come and check us out again!
Thank you again so much for taking the time to review our property!
-Nicole Webster, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel from Mar. 21-24, 2014. We had a one bedroom suite on the side of the building. The room and hotel were both very nice. Everything was clean and had a fresh smell. All our linens were clean and we had plenty of towels and washcloths. Housekeeping came every day and made our bed and replenished our towels. During our stay we received two different calls to make sure everything was okay with our room and to see if we needed anything. The hotel staff was very nice and knowledgeable of the VA Beach area when we had questions.

We were in town for the Cheer and Dance Extreme Cheerleading Competition at the VA Beach Convention Center. Our eight year old Daughter enjoyed the indoor pool and being very close to a Dairy Queen.

We also visited the VA Beach Aquarium and Science Center, which is located a few miles up the road.

Our stay at the Boardwalk Resort Hotel was wonderful and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Tigger1031,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so happy that we could exceed your expectations! Our service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we have a great location and fully appointed suites with full kitchens doesn't hurt either! (And of course being right next to Dairy Queen is a plus as well!) We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Virginia Beach area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ocean Front with awesome view!! Room was clean and spacious. I chose the Queen Suite with the additional living room and kitchen space... Fully furnished Kitchen... It was a really nice room and the rates were excellent during the winter weeks... If you don't want to be aggrivated just a bit, by-pass the welcome package... unless you want to hear about the timeshare associated with this Hotel... The only other thing I will say is.... The pillows are very hard, like sleeping on a brick.... But all in all, a great place for the whole family... Pool & Spa and Large Exercise room were very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our resort! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and a great location right near the pier and all the "action" is part of why our resort can't be beat! Even in the off season, The Boardwalk Resort is a great relaxing place to stay! Thank you for the feedback on the areas where we can improve as well, we are so thankful to have guests like yourself that will provide us with honest feedback to help us improve! We take great pride in our resort and want to make sure we let our guests know that vacation ownership is an option that works great for some folks and will allow you to save money and travel the world as well as a deeded property that can be passed down for future family members to enjoy! Thank you again for your wonderful comments and suggestions!
-Nicole Webster, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Housekeeping not very great ... They don't come and clean even if we call them ...hotel had a foul smell everywhere ... Carpets old ... Apart from tat it was very nice stay and it was manageable though ..oceanfront room was great and gym was good ...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are.
I am a bit stumped by your comment about old carpeting as we completed carpeting the entire resort's guest rooms just last month! We have beautiful brand new carpeting in all units as well as mattresses, bedding package, wallpaper, TVs in Bedroom areas, Blu Ray Players and expanded storage space, brand new sofas/sofa beds, and recovered dining chairs/benches all completed in 2013!
Additionally, I am very sorry that you did not receive housekeeping services during your stay. If you have a "Do not Disturb" sign on your door, that is the only reason I can think of that they would not have cleaned your room unless you were staying as a week long timeshare guest. Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the boardwalk over Thanksgiving week. It was clean and spacious. We have 4 kids so the extra space really was nice. Great location, right on the board walk. You can drive on the boardwalk and night and there are Christmas decorations all lighted up along the boardwalk which was cool (for a fee of $12 for our Van). The staff at the hotel were really friendly. The pool was small but fine as was the hot tub. The fitness center has so real nice treadmills with TV's. You can walk to DQ, other resturants and shops which was convienent.
It made for a nice relaxing week.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole W, General Manager at Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property! What a pleasure it is to hear about how your trip was a pleasant one! I will be sure to share this review with all of our team members to show them how appreciated they are. I agree our property has a great location with even better views. The holiday lights on the boardwalk are always a lot of fun as well. I am sure a relaxing vacation is just what you need when you have 4 children! Thanks again and please come back and see us very soon!
-Nicole Webster, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
450 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas

Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £59 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to ocean sunrise views through your floor-to-ceiling windows, and spend the hours in between enjoying the comforts and conveniences of home at Boardwalk Resort Hotel. Each of the newly renovated studios and 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites are appointed with a wide range of features, including separate living rooms with sleeper sofas, fully-equipped kitchens and kitchenettes, TVs with cable and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, and large bathrooms. You’ll also enjoy our convenient central-boardwalk location, just steps from the entertainment at 17th Street Stage and Park.Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas is located in the heart of the resort district, in the center of Virginia Beach’s famous boardwalk – named one of the “Top Ten Boardwalks in America.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Hotel Virginia Beach
Va Beach Boardwalk
Hotels Boardwalk Virginia Beach
Boardwalk Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing