We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great flamily vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Martinsville, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great flamily vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The view was perfect. We were on the 2nd floor. Perfect for sunset and sunrise.
The queen size bed very comfortable. room was clean. The living area and the kitchen could use a little upgrade. the only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast that was offered.
Donuts and bagels was about it. The coffee and the juice was perfect.. Don't ever change that

Room Tip: 2nd floor was great. Actually felt like we were right there on the beach. Queen size bed was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments and your business! I hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    357
    136
    61
    55
See reviews for
460
269
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Barclay TOWERS provides a clean room that is adequately sized for a family with two or three children. It also offers a well furnished full kitchen that's always useful. Just can't beat it. I would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 03Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting this review. We appreciate your comments and your business! I hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The resort was beautiful and having an oceanfront room (all oceanfront suites resort) was an added treat. The staff was friendly and very helpful. But, having to share the already crowded elevators with housekeeping carts and housekeeping/maintenance trash barrels and such was not pleasant. Whoever designed this resort forgot to include a service elevator or two. Otherwise, good getaway resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mitzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting this review. We appreciate your comments and your business! I hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this hotel and location but everyone except a few employees seemed to hate their job. I don't want to feel guilty for staying in pool until close , or for asking for a parking pass, or for extra towels. Make your guests feel special! Would return in hopes for new staff next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bullinger84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting this review. We appreciate your comments and your business! I apologize of my staff member's grumpiness. I hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next visit to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed at Barclay Towers many times, even though they may be a little bit older hotel I have not one complaint for the convenience of the private 2 bedroom accommodations and ALL of the rooms are oceanfront with no sneaky up charges that some hotels charge. Front desk staff are always friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff are more than accommodative and prompt for special requests. Also, maintenance guy ( Jack) installed a new door stop within 5 minutes of ours falling off once running into him in the hallway. We love the location because it's at the quieter end of the strip with phenomenal views near a lot restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast is a little ho hum after a couple of days- bagels, donuts, cereals etc... BUT if that's what keeps their costs lower and their service excellent then I am willing to do something for myself our fully stocked kitchenette in our room. 5 stars for the money,location and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor to avoid wait time at elevators at busy times 2nd 3rd floor . And end of hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nwaterbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your thorough review. My staff and I take pride in providing good value and great service to our guests. We appreciate your business! I hope you'll stay with us again when you return to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

the hotel was very clean staff very pleasant ....love the kitchenette...equipped with everything we needed.....disappointed the 4th of july fireworks was cancelled due to the hurricane...other than thank we had a great time and will return to this hotel again......smiles

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rackleyjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your review. My staff and I take pride in providing good value and great service to our guests. We appreciate your business! I hope you'll stay with us again when you return to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent 4 hours looking for a place on the beach. The Barclay Towers had the best combination of price, good reviews, location and amenities. I wanted a view onto the beach and requested one of the upper floors. They accommodated us and we ended up on the top floor (8th). Part of the plan was to watch the sun come up on the beach. We were able to change this; we sipped coffee on the balcony as a brilliant red sunrise presented itself. It was awesome! The king size bed was very comfortable and separate from the living space with a sofa bed. The sofa bed worked out well for my 11 year old and gave the wife and I privacy, a hard thing to find on vacation. There is a small kitchenette stocked with enough cooking items and dishes to get by. We liked the beach at 8th street. It was not crowded and the sand was nice. I spent 2 1/2 days on the fishing pier at 15th street. The fishing was good. I caught Roundhead, Spots, Croaker and Blues. Having the kitchen was great as we had fresh fish for dinner.
The staff was very nice and helpful. The price was close to half the normal room rate of $300.00 a night. I figure we also saved at least $100.00 on breakfast (they have a nice continental breakfast), and another $150.00 on lunches and dinners. Plus we saved by only using the car once in the 4 days we stayed. OTHER THINGS: My wife loved the bus system. The Side Street Café had great Mexican food. The outside porch needs a new awning, there are many small holes in the top. These could be sealed with almond silicone in a couple of hours. Hint to Manager since I know David C. reads these.

Room Tip: Stay off second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorazo107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Barclay Towers Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barclay Towers. Thank you for posting your thorough review. My staff and I take pride in providing good value and great service to our guests. Yes, I do read all the TripAdvisor reviews. And, in fact, the awning is being replaced this summer. We appreciate your business! I hope you'll stay with us again when you return to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing