We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Would Stay Here Again”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

The hotel was clean, smoke-free, right on the beach, and a very good rate. Apparently the rooms were recently renovated and it showed. The common areas were always clean and/or being cleaned. The breakfast included boiled eggs, fruit and yogurt along with the standard continental breakfast fare. That was great for me being a diabetic and most places only having sweet cereal, muffins, sweet rolls, etc. The only thing that was strange to me was that we did not have a dish washer but they wanted us to wash the dishes before we left. In the cabinet where the dishes were stored was a statement that all dishes are washed and sanitized per Virginia state law. Does that mean they took the dishes out of the cabinets and sanitized them after I washed them and put them up? How would they even know we used them? Hmmmmmm.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsynhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    377
    142
    67
    56
See reviews for
499
286
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I traded my timeshare for this one for our spring break vacation. There are hotel options.

About a month before arriving, I had read some reviews about bed bugs. I emailed the office several times and was reassured there were no bed bugs. I'm a maniac and checked the unit, sans luggage, to inspect for bed bugs before bringing in our items. There was no evidence of any and the unit was very clean and recently remodeled.

The timeshare units are all one bedroom and feature a boardwalk/beach view. This means the set up is pretty unique. When you enter the door, the queen size bed is immediately in front of you, set up as a small bedroom unit with a good size closet. Walking down the narrow hallway, you pass the good sized bathroom into the living room with sliding doors out to the balcony overlooking the beach. The kitchen is small, with a full sized refrig, mini dishwasher and small stove and microwave. The units were all in working order and there were plenty of pots and pans.

The furniture was in good condition. Cable television was limited but included 3 HBO channels. The coach opened to a sofa bed, but we never used it. I didn't find the couch very comfortable to sit on but the chair was ok.

The carpets and flooring all appeared to be in near new condition. The air conditioning unit was very loud. I mean very loud. When you read about air conditioning in the reviews, take it seriously. It wouldn't bother me if it didn't kick on and off so often. The position of the bedroom, near the door to the hallway, could be a problem if people out there are noisy. We had one morning of some loud folks leaving at 5am, and I welcomed the air conditioning unit kicking on at the right time to drown them out.

The people at the front desk appeared bored and didn't perk up when I asked questions on the first day such as, "where can we grab some milk". The property is sold out for timeshare buyers but do rent out hotel suites to other guests. Continental breakfast was available to hotel guests daily but the timeshare guests were given breakfast on Monday only at 9am along with a little presentation on the area happenings. When we checked in, we were given a packet which included area attractions along with direction on how to get there. The check in/check out procedure was clear, and we received instructions two weeks before we were scheduled to arrive.

It was great to see the sunrise each morning from the balcony or, if too chilly, from the living room. It was a great spot to people watch too, as there are all sorts of interesting characters roller blading, biking, walking, running and kite flying right outside of the unit. We were given the second floor, probably not the most desirable floor, but we liked it because we could easily bypass the two elevators easy enough. We had great weather that week, and all days except one were warm enough to lay out on the beach.

The indoor pool was adequate and in good shape. There were plenty of staff to keep up with towels, sweeping and keeping the general areas clean. This is where we found the friendliest staff members. We received trash removal service and fresh towels daily. We received maid service twice during the week which included refreshing the bath & body works toiletries and a vacuum/dust/clean. Typically these services do not come with timeshare stays unless you pay extra.

The location is near 9th Street, right on Atlantic Avenue. Parking is limited in front of the unit, but there is a parking garage right across the street. After the weekend folks cleared out, we had no difficulties finding a spot out front of the building. Plenty of places to eat and snack lined Atlantic Avenue. Lots of little shops and such were all a walk away. Vendors were all over renting family bikes, single bikes, roller blades and such.

We drove an hour or so during our week stay to Busch Gardens and had a nice day. About a mile away is a cute aquarium we spent half a day in, and drove half an hour to the Norfolk zoo too.

This is one of my favorite drive-to vacations we've had, in the six years or so we've been trading for spring breaks. I would definitely return to Virginia Beach, and definitely would stay at this timeshare spot again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Barclay Towers is NOT a luxury hotel/resort, but we found it to be an amazing value. All rooms face the ocean. We were on the eighth floor and had a fantastic view. The hotel is in a great location for walking to restaurants, etc., but is farther down the street from the most-tourist centered (tacky) shops, etc. We had a servicable kitchenette, a comfortable kingsize bed, and a small but adequte balcony overlooking the ocean. In short, I really felt that we got a great deal for the off season rate we paid. I would recommend this place to friends, especially for the off season.

The pool was being renovated while we were there, so we didn't get to use that. Hotel staff offered us use of the pool at the Quality Inn next door, although we didn't try it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Stayed at the Barclay as a package deal for whale watching. We checked in and one of the first things was a dead bug on the bed. Our bathroom was dirty and had hair strewn around and the curtains had what looked like toothpaste smeared on them. Upon returning home we found bed bugs had gotten into our suitcase. What a nightmare! The hotel manager has had nothing to offer or say, never again at the Barclay.....there are much nicer places to stay in VA Beach

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moretrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

At the price I wasn't expecting what we got. The suite was spacious, pleasantly decorated and comfortable. Two televisions, balcony over boardwalk, well stocked kitchenette, bathroom with very nice toiletries, extra pillows, comfy king-sized bed and fast internet. Yes, it is an older building but interior is quite nice. Yes, there is a man confirming you are staying at the hotel in the breakfast room before you eat. Continental breakfast offerings included various flavors danish, muffins, bagels, jams, jellies and such, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, instant oatmeal, yogurt, doughnuts and maybe more choices than I noticed. Muffins were moist and fresh. Parking across the street is normal for VA Beach. Location and view is fantastic. Maid service was great today. I didn't notice the service because I was on the balcony. When I came indoors the trash was gone, bed made, floor vacuumed, towels straightened and washclothes replenished. (We reuse towels to save washing water and energy.) I'm very well pleased.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Recently returned from a vacation at Myrtle Beach Resort --- while there all we talked about is how much we love Barclay Towers and its location (right across from Planet Pizza -awesome, little grocery store, and beach store), its accomidations (large seperate bedroom so my husband can go to bed early while me and kids stay up later), the large boardwalk, the FREE breakfast (at Myrtle we got adults free but had to pay $7/child and my son only drank orange juice), friendly staff, room service (at 5pm in Myrtle our room had still not been serviced every day).... We have gone to Barclay about 6-7 years in a row and will book again there next year. My husband use to complain about the parking garage (but it is HUGE compared to the one in Myrtle we had to park in)... Stay at Barclay and you can park your car and never have to move it again. The only draw back is the limited luggage carts - but that is often because other people are rude and hoard them in their room... We had to pay for a BellHop in Myrtle and could never find one to help us unload and load.... We knew we loved Barclay, but now that we have gone another location, it won't happen again!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfedenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

IF YOU ARE USE TO SHERATON, MARRIOT, HILTON…ETC…DO NOT STAY HERE.
This place IS a dump, for the amount of money paid; we could have stayed in a NICER hotel. The pictures ARE VERY deceiving and DO NOT look like the rooms. Rooms are much smaller and dirtier. A MAJOR renovation is needed. Our bathroom was filthy. The bathtub needed to be recaulked, as there was mold growing in the crevices. The showerhead was full of mold and dirt. There were no bath towels there when we arrived. The maid never came to clean our room, WE HAD TO CALL. And when she came she did not do a very good job. There was still sand on the bathroom floor. They also, need to add another elevator; there are only 2 as during the busy times, THEY TAKE FOREVER to get to you. We had to wait 5-10 minutes and most of the time took the stairs. THIS PLACE REALLY GROSSED ME OUT. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. Those people who had a pleasant stay here must have gotten a room/suite that was hidden from us as well as the other disgusted guest.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pldChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
368 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Towers Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Towers Resort Hotel

Property: Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Address: 809 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Towers Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barclay Towers Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Towers Hotel Virginia Beach
Barclay Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing