We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the third time we've stayed @ the Belvedere Hotel and would definitely go back again. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (especially Bren). It's affordable and extremely clean & every room has an ocean view. Bicycles are provided which we rode twice a day and the pool is clean .
Also the adjoining restaurant has the nicest staff and the best breakfast and lunches .
Truly, this is a GEM!!!
Alot of the family run hotels are disappearing along the strip and being taken over by the Big Chains. Please don't allow this to happen to the Bevedere!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is a great alternative to the offerings along the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. All of the chain hotels charge outrageous prices compared to the nightly rate at the Belvedere. The hotel has a great, unobstructed view of the ocean, even on the ground floor. Being at the North End of the beach, this hotel is great for families because it is located in an area of the oceanfront without all of the obscure businesses and nightclubs. The hotel only has one problem, parking. Make sure when you park, it is impossible to be "boxed in" by other cars. The room was just a clean as any other chain hotel. The bathroom is small, but it still does its job. Overall, this hotel has made a return guest out of me.

Room Tip: If you can't sleep with any noise at all, avoid a ground floor room. A slight amount of noise ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awwthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

First, I booked the rooms just a couple weeks in advance and was quite pleased they had an available room. My husband, college age son and I stayed here three nights. We were on the second floor and had a beautiful view of the ocean, beach and boardwalk. We could sit on the balcony or be in our room and have the sliding door open and hear those lovely ocean waves all day. We could walk down to the beach in less than a minute and that was so cool.

I loved the casual ocean decor of the room and flat screen TV on the wall. Small bathroom size was a non-issue for us, even with my husband who's 6'3" and over 250 pounds. The room itself was bigger than many hotel rooms we've stayed at. Happy that there was a fridge and microwave in the room. We took our own coffee maker as there isn't one in the room, and a toaster as well, along with bread and peanut butter. In the morning, we'd sip our coffee and eat toast on the balcony...heavenly.

All staff was very polite. One reason for four stars is because this is the only ocean view hotel we've ever been to, so I have no comparison with others. And I found that sitting on the balcony in plastic chairs put the top of the railing right at my sight of vision. I placed several pillows on the chair so I could sit higher and see the view. Also, my husband and I have a queen sized bed at home; the ones at this hotel are smaller, more like a full size bed, so you have less room to move around in while you sleep. Lastly, it would seem like the best location for a hotel would be in the middle of the boardwalk around 20th Street, this one is up north on 36th street but still a great location.

I would love to stay here again. Wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: Uh, I don't see how you could go wrong with any room at this hotel as they are all ocean front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoTripTakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

All prior reviews are correct. Service is unbeatable. Got a personal email from the owner before we arrived to let know they found us a room to accommodate all 5 nights without a room transfer (originally wasn't available). Was personally greeted by David (the owner) during check-in, he remembered the name, held the doors for us (no joke) and paid a lot of attention during the stay. When my car battery died (grr.. kids...), David (again, personally) helped me start it with a jump-kit. When my kids needed something downstairs, which was a lot, David or his other family workers tolerated all weird requests and assisted them (and I know first-hand, this ain't easy). They also donated us a decent cooler when I asked if we can have a box with ice for perishables. How many places would do that?
The resort is located on the 36th street, a quieter section of the Boardwalk. Depends on your preferences, but I would prefer closer to all the action, i.e. 20th street +/- few blocks). If you want serenity, yet close to the beach, this is your place. You are literally steps away from a very good beach. Of course, serenity goes out the window when military jets start flying overhead (which is pretty much all day long), but there is no escape from them anywhere you go in this town.
Now, for the room: good thing I read prior reviews and didn't have a heart attack at the sight of the bathroom. It is tiny indeed. It was three of us, I and two almost grown kids, so we didn't care much. But if we had our 2-year-old with us, it would become an insurmountable challenge to do anything there. There is a bathtub, but I wonder if it's more of a nuisance than a perk. I would rather see a shower stall with more room for the toilet. If you are obese or large, you may have to use public restrooms before you use this bathroom.
Efficiency kitchen worked great for us, not very fancy or necessarily large, but did the trick for three of us once or twice we stayed in. That said, why eat in with so many places around? Wasn't a big fan of the coffee shop downstairs, but people there are nice. With a larger family, you may find the kitchen a bit cramped. But again, I can't imagine staying at the Belvedere with a large family.
Bottom line: would return in a heartbeat, unless there is four or more of us, in which case, alas, it will have to be one of those faceless, generic chains with larger accommodations and rude personnel with plastic smiles.

Room Tip: Stayed at 301, perfect view, really quiet. That said, all rooms are almost identical in that regard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolbasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Best hotel choice on our Virginia vacation! What a gem. Quiet, and by that, I mean you do not hear your neighbor's door slamming, the ice machine clanking or traffic. Yes, it is not new, but that is part of the charm. Our room was immaculate, bed and pillows so comfortable! Good size vanity. We had a room on the 1st floor, which was handy. The view from the balcony is gorgeous! Staff helpful in recommending restaurants. Free bikes. Also the adjoining diner is a great spot for breakfast. We try to frequent independent properties and restaurants whenever possible. So glad we found the Belvedere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We, again, enjoyed our stay here as we have for 16 years. Like going home seeing our "beach " family.The staff of the resort and coffee shop are the best!! The upgrades done this past year were most appreciated and welcomed, check it out. New pool, too. The everchanging view of the ocean and beach were great.
Watching the Navy ships going in and out of the bay is a real extra treat, take your binoculars.
Seeing the Navy jets overhead and hearing the "sound of freedom" made us appreciate the USA more. This resort is a must stay. Get to the Coffee Shop early as it closes @ 2pm. Great b'fast and the Patty Melt is to "die" for. The best resort for the cost and location on the "quiet" end of the beach.

Room Tip: All ocean front ,with large balconies, we like the 2nd floor, try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodyGboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

While we'd have to give the weather a 1 during our recent stay, I can't say enough nice things about the Belvedere and its staff. Every staff member we ran across, from the owners to the housekeeping staff, was friendly and helpful. The location is excellent...a short walk down the boardwalk to where everything is happening, but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. The availability of rental chairs and umbrellas at lower prices than the beach vendors was nice too. If a spacious, luxurious bathroom is critical to the success of your vacation, look elsewhere. If clean, comfortable, convenient hospitality is what you're looking for, you can't go wrong with the Belvedere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMichener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Address: 3603 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2706
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £89 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, now new local owners as of April 2017. The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing