We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belvedere Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn & Suites North Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
358
131
35
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
131
35
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikesthe north enddiner attachedsalt water taffyfamily owned hotelchain hotelssmall hotelrooms are cleanadjoining roomssmall poolbeach frontbike pathtrip to virginia beachcoffee makerbeautiful view of the oceanwe've stayedstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This is a little late, but hopefully someone will find it useful. I took the family here in mid September for a 5 day get away. All the previous reviews commenting on the very friendly and accommodating staff, hotel cleanliness, and relative good value are 100% correct. Here's a few other things we found noteworthy: every upper floor room overlooks the ocean - and provides excellent viewing of the dolphins that swim by each morning. The hotel pool is small but immaculate - and oh so warm! It's a great place to frolic after a few hours in the sand. The diner is reasonably priced and does a very good job with breakfast items - but it's rather small and can fill up quickly. But there are several decent restaurants within walking distance. Since we went in September, traffic wasn't bad... which was fortunate since many VB attractions are toward the south end (like the amusement park). The only downside to the hotel is it's age. Don't get me wrong - everything is kept in a state of good repair and the decor is quite nice. But if you want a modern hotel with all the bells and whistles (and price) then look elsewhere. But if you prize cleanliness, friendly staff, responsive maintenance, and great value - the Belvedere is what you're looking for. We will return.

Room Tip: If you would enjoy watching the sunrise or dolphins swim along the beach, get an upper floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Budman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Belvedere has a nice location near the north end of the boardwalk. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, and the small pool is a nice. Breakfast at the cafe was excellent, although my wife and I did mot enjoy lunch the as everything seemed too greasy.

My main gripe was with the air conditioning unit in the room. It was so loud that if you put the TV to max volume, you still couldn't hear it. It was just way to noisy for me and kept me up at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FudRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks for reviewing us last fall! You've hit all the high notes, from a great staff to an excellent cafe, and we're happy that you enjoyed your visit.

That said, I'm sorry to hear that the air conditioning was so disruptive. Did you let us know? I can only understand how frustrating this must have been, and can assure you we'll look into ways to resolve the problem.

If you have any other comments or concerns, don't hesitate to share them with us. We know there is always space for improvement, and would love to "wow" you with a five-star visit! Thanks again for sharing, and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The number of stars someone rates a hotel is about as subjective as it gets. I struggled with rating the Belvedere because most of the hotels my wife and I stay at are in the Caribbean. However, I felt the Belvedere deserved 5 stars because it delivered on what it promised; Clean, Friendly, Functional, On the Boardwalk and Affordable.

My wife and I were at the Belvedere from 9/24 - 9/27. We wanted to get away from work for a few days and drove down from Richmond. We arrived a little early and went to Rudi's for lunch. We showed up at the Belvedere at 1:30 and were greeted by the owner(s) and given our key as well as an explanation of the amenities with smiling enthusiasm. Heck, some of the $500 a night hotels on the strip don't make that good of a first impression.

We were given Room 506 which was right off the clean, large elevator. The room smelled nice and appeared very clean. The bathroom is small but had recently been re-tiled. No wear and tear indicators even though the hotel was built in 1969. There was a small balcony with really nice view of the ocean and boardwalk. We asked for a kind bed which we received. I would have preferred a pillow top but that is really getting picky. The room came with a wall mounted flat screen TV, a microwave, a mini-fridge, a bureau, hair dryer, bath amenities, a writing desk, a small table with 2 chairs, a bureau and about 6 lamps. Everything worked perfectly.

The hotel offers free use of bicycles to ride the 3 plus miles of bike lanes adjacent to the boardwalk. There is also a small pool in the parking lot which we did not use. There is also a small attached coffee shop. The aura was in line with a time when things were simpler and people were easier to please. We had pancakes one morning with coffee and the next morning had just coffee and an English muffin. One day we asked for 2 coffees to go which they cheerfully accomodated us with.

Nights and mornings were quiet which, I guess, would make sense since it wasn't the height of summer with their crowds. The hotel is on 36th street which is at the extreme north end of the boardwalk so it is ideal for a quiet getaway.

I would return to this hotel and I also want to thank to owner and his family for their fine hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler38richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thanks for reviewing us last fall! It's gratifying to hear that we lived up to your expectations this past September, and we can't wait to share your praises with the rest of the team. You've hit upon exactly what we aim for, and it means a lot to us. We hope you'll come back again soon! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This destination was perfect for my two teenage sons and I. It was spacious enough that we weren't on top of eachother. The accomodations were clean. The entire staff was so helpful and curtious. Having the diner right there was perfect for breakfast. And the boys loved having the pool there for night swimming. We loved the free bicycles that were provided; that was a nice family activity. The price fit our budget perfect and we felt like we got more out of it than staying in the hotels. The boys actually liked that it was out of all of the hussle and bussle of the "heart" of everything yet close enough that we could participate in everything. Will definitely stay here again. What a treasure!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaReiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Happy to hear about your perfect stay, Teresa! It's nice to know that even your boys enjoyed the hotel—teens can be a tough crowd to please, so that's saying a lot! Think you'll get the chance to stop back again this summer? We'd love to have you back! Thank you for the five-star review you wrote last fall, and take care.

Best wishes,

David and Leigh W., Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Belvedere earlier this month. Our entire family came to support one of our sons who was running in the Rock and Roll Half Marathon. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and had a wonderful view of the beach. We also enjoyed breakfast at the coffee shop. The parking lot is small so get a good parking spot and leave your car there during your stay if you can. The new pool is great for those of us who can't spend the day on the beach. Would definitely return there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judi262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews