We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed based on Trip Advisor reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We stayed based on Trip Advisor reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here based solely on Trip Advisor reviews but a lot of the hotels in Virginia Beach looked decent on the outside. Since it was our first time to this town we thought we'd get a reservation instead of just walking in and taking our chances. It appears we had nothing to worry about as we went after Labor Day when things were not so hectic and it appeared most places had rooms.

PROS:
Family owned
All rooms face the ocean
Staff was quite friendly and recommended restaurants, activities, bus info, etc.
Free parking
No resort fee
Heated outdoor pool
Bicycles to borrow
Beach chairs and umbrellas to rent
Small cafe attached to hotel

CONS:
Bathrooms are tiny and the seat on our toilet wasn’t tight and ended up pinching my leg
Our balcony collected cigarette smoke from somewhere rendering it useless. We couldn’t determine who was smoking and when we called the office no one answered - the calls kept going directly to voicemail so the situation was never resolved.
Wifi was weak, this could easily be solved by installing repeaters or boosters in the rooms.


It's good to note that Virginia Beach closes up for the winter as do the smaller hotels. The larger chains stay open but there's definitely a tourist season.
Dogs are welcome on the beach after tourist season.
There's a dedicated path for bikes and a larger, separate one for humans which parallel the ocean.
Jet’s fly overhead which isn’t the hotel’s fault but it’s helpful to note it happens. All hotels at Virginia Beach have this problem.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the pool to the bicycles.

That said, we apologize if you weren't happier with other aspects of your stay. We understand how unappealing the smell of cigarette smoke can be, so we'll see what we can do to prevent this in the future. Likewise, we appreciate your suggestion about the Wifi—great thinking!

If you have any other comments or concerns, don't hesitate to share them with us. We're all ears! Thanks again and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    105
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
182
133
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary at this very special family owned oceanfront hotel in August 2013. This was our first trip to Virginia Beach and we were very delighted with the accomodations, the family atmosphere, friendly hosts and the very lovely and clean beach with accompanying boardwalk/bikepath. What is better than a room with a private balcony on the ocean? We chose this hotel primarily due to a review in our BARC Electric Cooperative Living
magazine in the Rural Living section. We always enjoy the column written by Margo Oxendine and decided to visit the Belvedere on her recommendation. Thank you, Margo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Happy we could make your anniversary that much more special, Tom! Thank you so much for sharing your terrific, five-star experience with others on TripAdvisor. It means so much to us and we hope we'll get the chance to host you again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demopolis, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor for helping us find this excellent hotel.
The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly, they made us feel right at home. What a good idea to rent chairs and umbrellas to their guests! They could give us directions to anything we wanted to find and made good restaurant recommendations.

The rooms were spacious, although the bathrooms were small, and very clean. The rooms all overlook the beach and ocean. We watched dolphins playing the first morning we were there and the morning we had to leave (a day after we had planned, we were having so much fun!).

I would highly recommend this to anyone going to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbishop89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for recommending us to others! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your trip—this is just our goal. Aren't the dolphins amazing? Your support is much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the Belvedere and we just love it here! The owners and staff are warm and welcoming and you feel like part of the family by the end of your stay. I won't ever stay anywhere else and recommend it to anyone going to VB. All rooms are oceanfront, the diner's food and staff are awesome...BEST HOTEL IN VB!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanE20164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to sing our praises on TripAdvisor, Susan! Our guests are important to us, so of course, you can always expected to be treated like the family. That said, we hope to see you again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just returned. Picked this hotel based on price and TA reviews. Good location, can walk to lots of places. Great breakfast downstairs. Is not anything fancy, but relatively clean. Not spotless. How much are you in your room on a beach vacation? Make your choice based on that. Pool was small but clean. No safe, no ironing board; but coffee pot and coffee provided. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OHIOMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for supporting us on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. What places did you check out in Virginia Beach? Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our second year in a row to have the honor to stay at here. No words can express how wonderful everyone is. The owners Dave &Leigh make you feel like family. You will just have to come and stay yourself then you to will be speachless. Will definitely be back next year. Thanks once again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gholsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for the stars! Amazing, professional, hospitable—this is exactly what we hope to hear, so we promise to share your review with rest of the team. Can't wait to welcome you back!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

You can't ask for a better hotel staff. Friendly, attentive, nice, willing to help in any way. I chose this hotel also because it is family run. We stayed on the top floor with the most beautiful view of the ocean. We took advantage of the room service from the adjoining Belvedere diner, which did not charge extra for room service! Everyday we enjoyed our delicious breakfast from the comfort of our room, overlooking the ocean and a run of dolphins! Really enjoyed the "feeling of home" inside the room. The beds were so comfortable, even down to the pillows and I am hard to please when it comes to pillows. Very clean, excellent housekeeping service as well. Located in the "not as crowded" area of the oceanfront. The only thing I would like to see improve is an expansion of the bathroom. It got a little crowded with the three of us girls! Very good value compared to surrounding hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swp0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Friendly, attentive, nice—this is what we love to hear! Adding more room to the bathroom is great feedback, so trust that I'll share this with the rest of the team. Any other suggestions? We're all ears! Thanks so much for sharing and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing