We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belvedere Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belvedere Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nebo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked one night and extended our stay another night. The room was very clean, the king size bed was great, the ocean view is perfect, and the staff really did treat us like family. It's really nice to get great service for a reasonable price, and we'll certainly stay there again without hesitation. Thanks to all! John and Suzette

Room Tip: They are all ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
You're more than welcome, John! It's wonderful to hear that your stay was so enjoyable, you decided to stay an extra night. Hopefully, we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Thanks so much for the stars and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    105
    23
    14
    6
See reviews for
182
133
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have been going to this place for years now with my husband & a group of 15-20 friends ( we go annually) & we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The Rooms are very clean & overlook the Ocean. They have bicycles that are free for the guests, they have a Great Coffee Shop on the premises for Breakfast & Lunch which is very convenient & the Owners are the Most Hospitable & Friendly People I have ever met.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaSordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks for continuing to support us on TripAdvisor. We're flattered that you think so highly of our service! Think you'll get the chance to visit again soon? Would love to welcome you back! Thanks again and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I really don't where to begin. I guess this review is extremely personal and in that respect quite unusual. My husband & I stayed here earlier this month and having settled in and just starting to explore, my husband was taken ill. He spent two nights in the local hospital and the family and staff that run this hotel were fantastic. I really cannot thank them enough. I am so pleased that we were staying here and not in some impersonal high rise block. I know that my task here is to rate the hotel and I can honestly say that despite the health scare, this place is exactly what we love. Real America. If you are looking for the modern style then perhaps this is not the place for you.. This place is honest and true with old fashioned values and charm. Our room was comfortable with fridge, microwave and best of all fantastic views. We stayed a few extra days until my husband was fully recovered and were genuinely sad to leave. So hope we can return again one day. As I write we are about to leave the USA and I know that the Belvedere will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JenDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Words can't even begin to express how touched we were to read your review, Jen. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others. It means a lot to us and we hope to welcome you & John back again soon.

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

when I see a negative review among glowing ones I usually write it off to a grumpy, negative person but I should have listened closer. This place was a great disappointment. I went there because of the reviews on this site and I feel misled. One thing it did have going for it was it was right on the beach and the rooms opened to the beach. It was great to go to sleep at night listening to the surf. Everyone raved about being family owned but that really meant nothing to me as I never bothered with the front desk except to check in. She was nice but that was a five minute part of the stay and the rest of the stay was disappointing. The room was dirty. I went to plug in my phone and there was dust behind everything and on top of everything including the plugs. It was obvious that nothing had been moved to clean for many years (that is only way to get this level of dirt). The vent in the bathroom was disgusting with dirt and so were the corners of the room. It was very dated. The bathroom was about 5' by 6' and if you are overweight you cannot get into the bathroom. The towels were thin and small and so where the sheets. They had been washed so much you could see through them and they were scratchy. The décor was bad 1970's and with a little paint and cleaning this could have been a charming hotel. There are hundreds of hotels on the beach and this certainly was not worth $142 a night. More like $60 a night. I have stayed in better Motel 6s. I really don't understand the enthusiasm these reviews have for this place. It was one stop short of being a no-tell motel. They have trip advisor sign out front and I think it is disingenious to say you are top rated. Yes you might be but I wonder who wrote the reviews? the employees? with so many other places to stay in Virginia beach and many even cheaper, this one is not worth the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank celestia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, Owner at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We value constructive criticism. Questioning our integrity? Not so much. We'll go with your initial instinct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Valleys, Pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My sister and niece and I stayed here and had a wonderful time. The location could not be better and it was hard to pull myself away from the balcony overlooking the boardwalk and beach. The room was attractively decorated and very clean. There is a fabulous little restaurant that serves great breakfast and lunch. Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan7Valleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
So happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us! This means so much to us, so thank you. Did you have fun exploring Virginia Beach as well? Hopefully you'll be back again soon! Until then, take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here based solely on Trip Advisor reviews but a lot of the hotels in Virginia Beach looked decent on the outside. Since it was our first time to this town we thought we'd get a reservation instead of just walking in and taking our chances. It appears we had nothing to worry about as we went after Labor Day when things were not so hectic and it appeared most places had rooms.

PROS:
Family owned
All rooms face the ocean
Staff was quite friendly and recommended restaurants, activities, bus info, etc.
Free parking
No resort fee
Heated outdoor pool
Bicycles to borrow
Beach chairs and umbrellas to rent
Small cafe attached to hotel

CONS:
Bathrooms are tiny and the seat on our toilet wasn’t tight and ended up pinching my leg
Our balcony collected cigarette smoke from somewhere rendering it useless. We couldn’t determine who was smoking and when we called the office no one answered - the calls kept going directly to voicemail so the situation was never resolved.
Wifi was weak, this could easily be solved by installing repeaters or boosters in the rooms.


It's good to note that Virginia Beach closes up for the winter as do the smaller hotels. The larger chains stay open but there's definitely a tourist season.
Dogs are welcome on the beach after tourist season.
There's a dedicated path for bikes and a larger, separate one for humans which parallel the ocean.
Jet’s fly overhead which isn’t the hotel’s fault but it’s helpful to note it happens. All hotels at Virginia Beach have this problem.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed everything from the pool to the bicycles.

That said, we apologize if you weren't happier with other aspects of your stay. We understand how unappealing the smell of cigarette smoke can be, so we'll see what we can do to prevent this in the future. Likewise, we appreciate your suggestion about the Wifi—great thinking!

If you have any other comments or concerns, don't hesitate to share them with us. We're all ears! Thanks again and take care.

Best regards,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary at this very special family owned oceanfront hotel in August 2013. This was our first trip to Virginia Beach and we were very delighted with the accomodations, the family atmosphere, friendly hosts and the very lovely and clean beach with accompanying boardwalk/bikepath. What is better than a room with a private balcony on the ocean? We chose this hotel primarily due to a review in our BARC Electric Cooperative Living
magazine in the Rural Living section. We always enjoy the column written by Margo Oxendine and decided to visit the Belvedere on her recommendation. Thank you, Margo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belvederebeachresort, David and Leigh W., Owners at Belvedere Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Happy we could make your anniversary that much more special, Tom! Thank you so much for sharing your terrific, five-star experience with others on TripAdvisor. It means so much to us and we hope we'll get the chance to host you again soon!

Take care,

David and Leigh W., Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Beach Resort

Property: Belvedere Beach Resort
Address: 3603 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belvedere Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, this little "gem" sits right in the heart of the desirable North End of Virginia Beach. Owned and operated by the same family for over forty years, The Belvedere is well known as one of the friendliest family destinations on Virginia Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Belvedere Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing