We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelled of urine - no response from staff”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smelled of urine - no response from staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We thought we were going to be at a nice place on the boardwalk! No balcony. Every hotel on the boardwalk except this one has balconies. All we could do is sit on the bed and look out the window.

There was a puddle of water by the parking deck door that smelled of urine and it was on the carpet in the hall also. And of course right into our room. We told the front desk and got no offer to move us but just a "we'll let housekeeping know". Housekeeping's solution was to add a lot of perfumed carpet powder which was so strong it would choke you.

The A/C is terrible. You have to nearly freeze in the bedroom just to make the living area cool enough to sit without breaking a sweat.

The hot water in the shower will melt your skin. I used the cold wide open and barely touched the hot knob and it was still too hot.

This place should be the star hotel for VSA Resorts but instead it is an embarrassment for them.

I was so disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim_N_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
I apologize your stay was not to your standards, it was not to our standards either. I appreciate your bringing your concerns to my attention and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    77
    39
    16
    25
See reviews for
161
99
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Ocean Sands but have two major complaints. First, the room design in unit 603 makes it nearly impossible to get any air circulation to the bedroom. Second, on the day we arrived we reported our room phones were not working. We were told that unit 604 was having a problem as well. The problem was never corrected.

A minor aggravation is the odd placement of wall mirrors. I consider myself lucky not to have walked into a wall during our 4 day stay.

But, if you plan on coming to VAB for the annual Air Show, this is the room to get. The only thing missing was a balcony. Two days worth of rehersals, plus two shows, although Sunday's was after check out, helped make the minuses acceptable. If you are a fan of combat jet noises, it is the place to be, especially if you like 6 jets flying directly at your window.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay at Ocean Sands for our 4 night trip. We traveled with my mother and 5 year old nephew. The room was perfect for our stay! The price was much more affordable than getting a 2 room suite at the other oceanfront hotels. Each room is oceanfront, has a separate bedroom, a living room area with a sleeper sofa, TVs in each room, kitchenette with stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishes including pots and pans. It was nice to be able to make some meals in the hotel rather than dine out for every meal. There are dish towels, paper towels, dish detergent, and a vacuum to clean up the sand. There was also a free washer and dryer on our floor which came in handy. This room met all of our needs!

We slept with the windows open to hear the ocean and the location was convenient to walk to restaurants and events on the boardwalk. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although they could not accommodate us to check in 30 minutes early. The indoor pool was great because it rained one of the days we were there. Check out was a breeze. One thing to note is that there is not housekeeping during your stay. You can exchange your towels at the pool. If you need anything else, you can call the front desk and they will try to accommodate.

Room Tip: From floor 7 to 14, there are only a few rooms per floor! We stayed on 12 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I’m pleased to hear your vacation was comfortable and pleasant. Should your next vacation bring you to Virginia Beach, we hope to see you back at the Ocean Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is the perfect location, all the rooms are ocean front, this hotel is in between if you're planning to stroll around, rooms are nearly perfect, just wish they have balconies, amenities are great! Sauna tanning and jacuzzi are my favorite! Just didnt bother to swim a lot in the pool though but I had fun, one thing that stand out to me was how friendly the staff was from the front desk to the pool! Sheila is just a sweetheart! I enjoyed her company at the pool and making sure I had fun! No wonder she gets positive feedback as I read through comments. She even made me a bracelet as while we did crafts. I love the resto downstairs i forgot the name but it was mexi food mostly and the fries are awesome! Oh and i enjoyed the free popcorn from the front desk :-) all in all i would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your vacation at the ocean Sands Resort. I do hope you will choose VSA resorts again when you plan your next vacation to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff at the desk were cheerful and friendly. The room was spacious with a well stocked kitchen, full sized fridge, cook top stove, coffee maker, dishwasher and microwave. There was a dining table to seat four (six could easily fit but only four chairs) and a sleeper sofa in the front room. The bedroom had a huge window overlooking the ocean. We slept with the windows open at night listening to the waves roll in. There was a large parking garage with key card access to the hotel (one time our key card didn't work) and an elevator right inside the door. The halls and elevator were the only areas of the hotel that looked a little dated and had kind of a musty smell. The room itself smelled very fresh. We made good use of the hotel's gorgeous indoor pool area and the complementary tanning bed. The tanning bed was a very old model but it was sanitized before each use and worked very well. The hotel also has a massage therapist available by appointment that was excellent and affordable! My husband and I both had hour long massages and enjoyed every minute! Guests should know there is no room service during their stay but towels can be exchanged at the pool for fresh towels. There is a vacuum in the room, extra toilet paper and tissues, as well as dish soap/sponge, dishwasher tablets, little salt/pepper shaker (thimble sized), soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower and by the sink. Personally I liked not being bothered by room service, or having to plan the day around when they would be coming. The front desk graciously allowed us to stay an hour past check-out time due to our massage session scheduled at 11:00. We would absolutely stay again!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the tenth floor because it provided a spectacular view of the ocean (we could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands resort for your vacation. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Resort on your next trip to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauquoit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 4/27 and 4/28 in room 904. The view was fantastic and the location couldn't have been better , right on the Boardwalk and the beach! The staff was very accomodating and friendly I definitely would return here and would hope for the same room. It allowed quick access to the elevator and to the pool and jacuzzi on the 6th floor. I can't believe some people had bad experiences. Our unit was very clean and well stocked. My favorite bar and restaurant was Mahi Mahs. Our favorite breakfast spot was Doc Taylors. For evening entertainment CP Shuckers was an awesome bar! Great bartenders and the owner was a great guy! Definitely a must for all you drinkers out there. only a block and 1/2 away from our resort. Abbey Road was also a good restaurant and bar 2 blocks up. The taproom was also a very good place to drink and eat!

Room Tip: 6th floor and up are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beveragegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We appreciate your review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, VA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Dirty room with soiled linens on the kitchen table upon check in, head-ache inducing smell of Lysol in the hallway, not enough hot water for showers, and no coffee refills ("one packet allowed per weekend stay"). We had a good year for four years straight but this has ruined it for us.. never again.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisy33148NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie R, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
I apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations, it does not meet mine either. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing