We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #48 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My company was hosting a conference in Virginia Beach and we needed rooms as well as a conferece room. Ocean Sands Resort was our pick. The conference room was cozy. It was a bit cold outside and we had a fireplace in the conference room. Everyone loved the rooms and the hospitality that Mike Jones (GM) Michele Colson (VP) and Mary McGregor (Supervisor) showed us was great. I even just made another reservation for one of our employees. Thank you Ocean Sands Resort!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTT757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

We feel very privileged that your business chose our location to hold their conference. Our amenities and professional staff make it the perfect environment for company gatherings. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and we hope that you will continue to book with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just wanted to thank all the caring customer service people at Ocean Sands for a wonderful time the weekend of November 16, 2013. We reserved two adjoining rooms for a get together with 4 of my daughter's friends. They were kind enough to put us close to the pool and a room at the end of the hall so the girl's would not disturb anyone if they made any noise. The rooms were in excellent condition and had all the amenities to make our stay comfortable. I loved the bedding and slept so well. When we arrived they had put Happy Birthday Alexis out on the marquee. All of us had a great time in the pool and the manager, Mike even walked us out to our car in the morning as we checked out. Thanks so much to the Ocean Sands team. It was like visiting with family. We can't wait to come back again!! Faye

Room Tip: This 22nd Street location was so convenience to everything. Right in the center of the boardwalk. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We are honored that you chose us to celebrate Alexis’s special day. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that everyone’s visit to the resort is a pleasant and memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that all our amenities suited your vacation needs and made your stay that much more enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Front Desk Supervisor, Mary McGregor, was extremely helpful in coordinating our materials crate I needed to send ahead of my boss for an Exhibit. She went beyond her duties to make sure to secure the crate after it arrived, gave her staff the heads up and had even called me when they arrived! Then helped me get it shipped out. Now, who does that anymore? Mary does! I can't thank her enough for her awesome assistance; without her, we would not have been able to do our Exhibit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

All of our staff goes out of their way to give everyone the best experience possible while visiting Virginia Beach. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this excellent review and acknowledging the great work that Mary does. We thank you again and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Why do people buy timeshares? You have to clean up after yourself; no maid service. The "suite" is tiny. 3 adults can barely fit into it. The suite is so small, that there are no doors on the closets. The timeshare owners have to pay $300 a week on top of their timeshare investment to stay here. And in November, this is not a good value at all. You can get nice oceanfront motel rooms with balconies and breakfast and maid service for $39 a night. This place is marginal. The furniture is cheap particle board. We had to put a slipper between the headboard and wall because the headboard was so loose, it banged against the wall whenever we rolled over. There is no balcony and the windows are filthy. You can't take photos through the windows. Highly recommend that you ask for a room on the third floor or higher. The streetlights shine right into your room on the second floor. And even in November, loud people seem to hang out on the beach late at night. You can't rinse shampoo out of your hair due to the low flow shower head. While there are free washers and dryers, the dryer barely works at all. The indoor pool was ok, as was the hot tub. The staff were ok. If you are going to be out all day doing stuff, this place is tolerable for just sleeping. The linens are ok. The bed was comfortable, but I didn't sleep well at all. The curtains are hemmed over the AC unit, which is nice, because they don't blow out into the room. The walls are painted nicely. Oh - and the cable TV package is very limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we are always looking to improve. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This resort most definitely exceeded my expectations, which were pretty high, The unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom with separate sleeping and living areas, plus a Jacuzzi bath, separate shower and two basin areas. The kitchen/diner/living room was very well appointed with a washing and dryer on the same floor.This is a really nice facility located on the boardwalk of Virginia Beach. Very Friendly staff. Clean and nicely landscaped.

Room Tip: The resort management staff has started to work with the state of Virginia on re-added the balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that all our unit amenities suited your vacation needs. We take great pride in our excellent customer service and the upkeep of our facilities. Thank you again for taking the time to write this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

the ONLY good thing about this place is the location - right on the beach. in saying that, you can't sit on the balcony because they don't have one! none! the only hotel on the strip that doesn't have a balcony. hot tub has murky green water in it and wouldn't dream of using it.pillows feel like they're stuffed with cotton balls.they advertise a full kitchen - no oven - the microwave is considered to be a convection oven when you use the rack - which we didn't even have. I would never come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19adpam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I apologize that the Resort did not meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location was right on the beach. The staff were fantastic. We had problems with our windows leaking due to the continuing rain. We had to change our room three times due to window leaking.
Even though I read the reviews I missed the one about no balcony. Being at the beach you need a balcony. Our's was the only one I could see that did not have one.

Room Tip: Go else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handsome200067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your trip. Your feedback is important and I apologize that the weather and the lack of balconies affected your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £97 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing