We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach location for off season!”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Ocean Sands in February 2014. The weather was warm, the beach was beautiful and there were few people around. We ate at a couple of delicious local restaurants, grocery shopped at Whole Foods and Trader Joe's. The resort staff were very welcoming. They answered my questions with a smile. They had many activities each day we were there and even though there were few people at the resort, they did their best. The pool was amazingingly warm. My kids spent hours in the pool. The room was clean and up to date and parking was on the same floor as our room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

It gives us great pleasure to know how much you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad you were able to take advantage of all our great amenities, activities, and everything that the Virginia Beach area has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this excellent review and we look forward to seeing again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at ocean sands this sat night and it was wonderful! The beds are very comfortable, and the kitchenette is well stocked! Showers were great with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Will stay here again. Great view too!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Our modern amenities along with the great view of the Atlantic Ocean really enhance the overall vacation experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this great review and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Ocean Sands is run by an excellent staff. It is located in the middle of the boardwalk and is a perfect location at the beach.

Rooms are nice and have a great view of the Atlantic Ocean.

TWO THUMBS UP!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance021771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

We are thrilled to hear that our great location and our inviting staff made your stay with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were here for our anniversary and wanted a nice cozy place. Well, we didn't get that. I don't require immaculate rooms when I go somewhere, just clean! We ended up having 3 different rooms. After being switched to the 3rd room we realized that it probably wouldn't matter which other room we were moved to as all would have the same standard of cleanliness. It was not just the regular surface cleaning after each room that was missing. They seriously did not look like they had been cleaned in many many months. (Or years) My husband and I went and bought cleaning supplies to try and clean the room up a little (at least where we would be using and touching)

We had different types of food and sticky stuff all down the front and side of the fridge, the kitchen counter, sink and wall had caked on food, toilet (dried urine all over) and bathtub were disgusting, the windows and ledges in the bedroom had many fingerprints and dust caked on, the a/c unit had food, dust and who knows what else in the vents and had a horrible smell when turned on that smelled like someone urinated in it, the curtains had something brown all over them (we didn't even want to touch them) and the floors, baseboards, edges and corners throughout were the worst. They did not look they had ever been cleaned (including the grout between the tiles). We had to keep our shoes on the whole time. It was the most disgusting I have ever seen and would be ashamed if I were the management. I had complained while I was there and they told me they got new cleaning staff - but it should NEVER have gotten that bad!

We also used the grocery service were u can order groceries online beforehand since we were coming in at 11:00pm and didn't want to have to worry about that in the morning. So that was great ... except they were not there when we arrived! Fortunately the grocery store is open 24/7 and one of the guys who works at the resort offered to go get the groceries for us. Which was very nice of him. But there needs to be better communication between the grocery store and the resort!

Their internet service was also very poor. We could access the internet after a day of being there but it would always kick us out after a few minutes. Not good if u need your internet!

We will never be staying here again nor will we be recommending it to our friends!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TimKris2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We apologize that after several attempts we were unable to come to an acceptable resolution and that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It did not meet our expectations either. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Dylan Goodrich was our driver to this van trip provided by the resort. He was very nice, professional, accommodating and friendly. He did an excellent job for my whole family. He is an asset to your company. His attitude towards his job is rare. I wish you have more Dylan in your organization. Dylan, please continue what you are doing.

Room Tip: I am not embarrass to recommend this resort to my friends and family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge Dylan and the great work he does. We are glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the activities and van excursions that our resort offers. We really appreciate this great review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first trip to the Atlantic Coast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It felt like home from the time we arrived. The view of the Atlantic from the room is awesome. We watched the dolphins swim by almost every morning. The indoor heated pool is actually warm. The kitchen had a full refrigerator/freezer, four burner flat top stove, and a microwave/convection oven, so we were able to cook our meals. Laundry facilities are also available. Many stores and restaurants within walking distance of the resort. Many activities also within walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Pool is on the sixth floor. Parking garage goes to the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your first visit to the Atlantic Coast. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our variety of amenities and great location in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Thank you so much for this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very nice. Every thing was lovely. I enjoyed my time here. Every one was very happy with their stay. Customer service was very nice and welcoming. Smiles were beautiful and heart warming. Stayed here the past three years to bring in New Years. Plan to continue to do that.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerieharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are honored to hear that you choose us annually to celebrate the new year. Our staff goes out of their way to make everyone who walks through the door feel welcome and right at home and we thank you for taking the time to acknowledge their efforts. We really appreciate your excellent feedback and look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#68 of 109 in Virginia Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £86 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing