We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For relaxation, comfort, and outstanding service by attentive employees and management its the best on the beach.”
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The accomodations are 1st class if you are looking for suite(sweet) living. Every room or suite is oceanfront with one way glass. You can see out but they can't see in. The staff always responds to your inquiries and requests in a timely manner and with a smile. Sundeck, sauna and jaccuzi poolside with poolside TV and daily Arts and Crafts for all ages and Massage therapy by apointment it's like one stop shopping. Let me not forget the free washers and dryers on every other floor so you can leave as clean as you came. Of course you have a hospitality room with free internet service and telephones with USB ports. The sky restaurant provides a great view of Virgina Beach and the boardwalk cafe is famous for the best, yes best, burgers on the beach. Take a week or a weekend and you will cry when it's time to go home. Check in and check out is a breeze. When you inquire about the accomodations just say hello to manager Bill Mitchell for me. Oh, before I forget the Ocean Sands is located inthe heart and I mean center of the evening stree entertainment and music whic can be easily viewed from the garage if like me you are to lazy to roam around one night.. There is no smoking in the accomodations and common areas but a separate deck is provided for those who indulge on the second floor with comfortable chairs and sundeck recliners. We are trying to come back in August or September need I say more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngfamily33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. Bill and I look forward to your return this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

We have been staying at Ocean sands for a long time, and the last couple visits were not up to par. But this last time, was the best we've had in a long time. There's pleasent music playing, and the staff is amazing. The rooms are so much better than last time. The room was clean, and pleasent to me in. They have recently upgraded the rooms (we know because we were there last year and years prior) with LCD TVs, new furniture, new air conditioning units, pretty much new everything. The whole room was re-done. The bike rack was also moved to the 2nd floor, wich was a HUGE improvement. Before we had to store bikes in our room, now they all fit with alot of room to spare. We asked how this happened in 1 winter, and they said Ocean Sands was under new management. Then there were 2 staff members that really stood out to me. Dominique and Bill Mitchell. I don't know Dominique's last name, but both were great. Whatever we needed, wether it was coffee filters, or maintenence. When we were going to ride our bokes, Dominique said that it was going to rain, and pulled up radar while dealing with other cutomers. Those tasks may not be substancial, but they were continually friendly, and helping us out, as well as everyone else there, but I don't know their names, either. One other thing I liked was there was hand sanitizer stations everywhere. That meant they were trying to stay santiary. But, there were some problems. There was NO WiFi in our room, and we were close to the ground level. I had to go in the lobby to use wifi. Also, our air conditioner wasn't bolted to the plastic shell in one corner, and would sometimes stop working, but was easily fixed by the reset button on the outlet. The room isn't the biggest either, but if you have 1-2 people your fine. We survived with 5 people.Though there are some problems, the good things make up for it, and I can't wait until next year.
5 out of 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comptutorials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I have traveled many places and this is one of the best hotels we've had the pleasure of staying. The staff were very professional and always greeted us with a smile on their face. The room was exceptionally clean and included WIFI and two flat screen TVs. The decor was a modern beach theme that gave the ambiance of a Bahamian villa. The hotel is centrally-located between stage venues which made it convenient to travel the Boardwalk. We definitely recommend this hotel! Kim and Hank

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunluvin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We have owned our timeshare since the first rennovations began at the Ocean Sands. We were MORE than dissappointed when as we watched the quality of this resort spiral downward. HOWEVER, in the last fcouple of years, each year has gotten better. The rooms have a fresh new look, duvets on the beds -which are MUCH more sanitary, and the staff was not just courteous, but also acted in a very professional manner. The location of this resort cannot get any better. It is located right on the beach about at the midway point on the boardwalk, and less than a block from the ampitheater- not to mention restaurants and shops. I hope this current management continues in the current pattern. This was, by far, our best stay here in 15 years!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanci_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

i loved it here! right on the ocean, perfect! no balcony, but with small kids it gave me peace of mind that they wouldn't fall off. all the staff was so nice and helpful. great parking. rooms are small but it's all we needed and we have 2 adults and 3 kids. i will stay here everytime!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The resort is located in the middle of the boardwa;lk. the view is beautiful. T he rooms are roomy and decorated in nice colors. Staff and Manager are very friendlly and helpful. Has a niice pool and fitness center. Couldn't ask for a better place to vacation.
Bernice Davis

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaverTappahannockVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This was the first time in Virginia Beach. The location was great. Alot of things to do withing walking distance. Thumbs up for the check in service, just drive up and the staff is waiting for you with your room key and parking pass. Only complaint is we wish there was balconies for the rooms but that wasn't that big deal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing