We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I went there not knowing what to expect since it was our first time there. I have been to many resorts and I have to say that I was quite pleased with our stay there. The satff did a great job of being friendly and were always willing to give their assistance. They made my family feel right at home. They even gave us an extra key for our roomand a parking pass for our daughter who lives in the area. We were pleased with the location which was right on the beach and we could walk to many fine restaurants and other tourist attractions in the area. The pool was great although the only complaint I had is that they did not let the kids stay in the water past 8PM especially since we were there on the off time in November and there wasn't anyone else using the pool. My grandaughter loves the water and had fun. I also did use the exercise room and that was up to date and was fine. My room overlooked the ocean and the bed was very comfortable. I would like to say that we will be back and will recommend this resort to my family and friends to stay

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
We appreciate your sharing your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. Thank you for your positive feedback - we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    76
    38
    15
    25
See reviews for
158
98
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The resort has been under constant renovation for at least two years.

This past week, the fire alarm went off twice at 3:30 a m. The first time the desk clerk knew how to alert people that it was a false alarm, while the second time, the clerk didn't know how to work the public address system. This also happened when we were there in the spring.

Late arriving guests are placed next to current guests in the middle of the night instead of alternating rooms or floors.

New clock radios were placed in the rooms, but no one knows how to program them. When the alarm goes off in the middle of the night, the only thing to do is unplug it.

Only one of two resorts on the beach with RCI affiliation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowsigloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
I apologize that your vacation was interrupted and appreciate your feedback regarding our new iPod alarm clock/radios. Due to your suggestion, we are adding the instructions to the vacation suite informational guides. I hope you give the Ocean Sands Resort another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I stayed with my 10 year-old son, and between the indoor swimming pool and the newly remodeled rooms I couldn't decide what was the best part. Well there was the ocean view, that sort of topped it for me.

I have a difficult name to pronounce and the front desk clerk said my name correctly and checked us in quickly. The room was set up for us, the table was set and they had loofas in the bathrooms which was wonderful because we had forgotten ours. I also like that I didn't have to hunt down room service for shampoo because they have shampoo despincers in both bathrooms along with soap.

I was very happy and my son and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meagan3874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to you and your son visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Great accommodations on beach, staff very helpful. Kitchen and room setup great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betania158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
We appreciate your taking the time to share your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I've been an owner at Ocean Sands since 2001. I no longer deal with RCI, cause I wouldn't spend that week of my vacation at any other resort in the world!! The staff is great Becca,shawnna, Jackie, Myrissa ,Rose and the rest, of the staff (please forgive me,I can't remember all of their names), but you couldn't ask for more helpful or pleasent people to deal with, just makes your stay more enjoyable.Michelle C and Bill M.do their very best to make sure that you are comfortable and happy with your visit. ( I missed Michelle's husbands pickled peppers my last visit, she was on vacation in Mexico, a well deserved vacation I might add). Anyway if you're thinking about a vacation in VA beach or anywhere, I would strongly suggest you take a trip to VA Beach and stay at The Oceand Sands Resorts. I know you'll enjoy youself as much as I and my family always do.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchdwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. We appreciate your continued business and timeshare ownership with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Clean, very comfortable, attractive room on the ocean. Central location. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Highly recommend Ocean Sands.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DialLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with the Ocean Sands Resort and thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The employees were exceptionally friendly. The hotel was very clean. It is centrally located on the strip in Virginia Beach. The only downfall was no balcony in the room. Every other hotel had balconies but this one. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkmercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcolsonvsaok, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Ocean Sands Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#27 of 109 in Virginia Beach
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing