We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile is still among us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Sands Resort
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile is still among us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

This place is great! My husband and I traveled here with our three young children ages 5,6, and 7 for a weekend getaway. We wanted a place that could keep young children entertained plus give mommy and daddy a "day off." The view was amazing from the sixth floor. We walked into the room and we were looking straight at the ocean from our bedroom window. The staff was great as well, I mean they treated us like family, going out of their way to get us a room right outside of the pool area. The pool was heated and the kids were able to take their floats along. The jetted tub was a hit for my kids as well. I enjoyed the full kitchen in our room to make meals rather than eat out every night. Also, directly across the street is an arcade were you could spend an entire day. You can't beat the price with this kind of service!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOM0fTHREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Ocean Sands Resort. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit with your VSA Resorts family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    75
    38
    14
    25
See reviews for
154
98
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We were the first to stay in one of the PURE rooms that had airfilters and was created for people with allergies. I have dreadful allergies, and given that the room was newly reappointed (we were the first to stay in this particular room) it was more than worth the upgrade charge. We had friends stay with us for 4 of the 7 nights and I wouldn't want to do that with anyone who you weren't really close to -- it's a small space for 4 people. (However, the pull out couch was comfortable, which is rare.) But we made it work. The view was great, as was the location. All the staff from the manager to the housekeepers to the front desk to maintenance were all very accomodating and friendly. Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhk1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you for being our very first guest to vacation in one of our PURE suites at the Ocean Sands Resort, the only resort in Virginia to offer the hypo-allergenic vacation suites. We look forward to seeing you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Great customer service.....wonderful rooms.....one word...WOW!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriadavis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Ocean Sands Resort. Hopefully with your review and others, the inviting atmosphere and service at the Ocean Sands Resort will no longer be a secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Me and my husband spent feb 12th to feb 15th there. Customer service was great until we had a problem with the alarm goin off next door in the middle of our nap and it took them a hour to come cut it off after we called. The night before we didn't get any rest because our guest next door had a party all night and messed wit the adjoining doors connecting our rooms which scared the mess out of me being that I was alone cuz my husband went to a party. I was terrified! They had a parrot next door that made noise all the next morning and their kids were loud! Our jet tub had mildew in the water propellers so we couldn't enjoy that, which one of the resaons for getting the room was to use the jetted tub! Customer service made us aware that we couldn't change our room without paying a 50 dollar clean up fee so we had to let our neighbors mess up one more night in order to b able to change rooms.I didn't like that bein that I paid for 3nights not 2. The view was great and we loved how u self serviced ur cleaning in our room and towel trade out. Hated having to strip all linen off bed and put in bathroom, I mean that was too much. Our issue with our blender was corrected quickly and all staff were courteous.Really wish I could have enjoyed my jetted tub and some much needed peace and quiet. We won't be returning due to uncleanliness of jet tub and me being a nurse I jus couldn't stomach that. Even though complaints were addressed it really didn't seem as if they really cared and no one geva a follow-up call. Was really lookin forward to returning but got to say no to mildew by all means!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank secoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
I apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations – it did not meet ours either. Thank you for your feedback, we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

I've stayed at all three of VSA resorts in Virginia Beach...The Atrium, Ocean Key and Ocean Sands. All three offer the ultimate in customer service and satisfaction. Recently I stayed at Ocean Sands which is on the beach. The rooms are georgeous and no detail is left untouched. The spacious suites are newly decorated and completely remodeled. I thought I was at "The Ritz"! The entire staff makes you feel right at home and offers every kind of amenity and comfort. I would highly recommend this resort anytime, to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
It is a pleasure to hear you have vacationed with each of our timeshare resorts. We have received excellent feedback regarding our newly refurbished vacation suites. Thank you for making us your “home away from home”, and recommending us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

We had never stayed at ocean Sands before and were plesantly suprised. The staff was so freindly. Rooms were sparkling clean but small. The veiw from the pool was amazing. I cant wait to return this spring.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for choosing the Ocean Sands Resort as your vacation destination. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

It's always nice to stay here. The staff is very friendly. Would surely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rek6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMitchellvsaresorts, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
I appreciate your sharing your vacation experience with the Ocean Sands Resort and recommending VSA Resorts to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#48 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Property: Ocean Sands Resort
Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing