We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the price”
Review of Schooner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schooner Inn
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Albany, New York
1 review
“Decent for the price”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed at the Schooner Inn for our honeymoon. We were here for only 3 nights. The beachfront view is fabulous and the hot tub was nice. The room was alright. The decor, tv, and furniture was old and needs updating. We brought a DVD player and tried to link it up, but they wouldn't allow it. There was dishes and a mini kitchen which was great. The housekeeping did not come around although we had our tag onthe door. For the kitchen make sure you bring soap and sponge, sugar for the coffee, and whatever other necessities you may need/want. Bring beach towels as there are none provided. The pool is nice. The balcony is small, but again a terrific view. The air conditioning was fair, but in the hotel's defense, they are trying to be energy efficient and upgrading their systems. It was still decent. There is an iron/board whch was great due to our travel, our clothes needed ironing. The elevators are small and there is only 1 luggage cart. Parking is great (and free). The staff at the desk were good. Pleasant and helpful. Our safe was broke and we were unable to use it, so a little concerned about this as there is a charge for it and we had valuables. There is free wi-fi which is terrific! The location is at the end but perfect and not a lot of traffic. The smallest hotel on the beach, but was great. The pool was a great temp and clean. There was ample lounge chairs available as well. There was only one dresser and a few hangers for clothes, so a little disappointed in that also. There was a table for things, but filled up rather quickly with all the free tourist information. Overall I would recommend, but dont be overly surprised if it doesn't meet the highest of standards.

Room Tip: Book for 3 or more nights on a Sat. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    154
    57
    41
    48
See reviews for
132
149
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

After reading the older reviews, I was extremely skeptical. However, the more recent ones looked to be quite an improvement. My boyfriend and I called on Friday night of Memorial day weekend looking for a last minute hotel room, that wasn't going to cost an arm and a leg for one night. We got lucky and were able to book their last room for $150. The outside looks a little worn, but its quaint, and the rooms are great! Super clean, no bugs, comfortable beds. I would absolutely stay here again. the only downside is how far it is from the strip-but exercise is great, and you can always drive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Loved the hot tub and the balcony. The view of the beach from our room was excellent. My finance woke me up around 6am and pulled back the curtains "look at the sun coming up!" The decor is a little dated and the tv was old/small but we were not there to watch tv - the hot tub and the beach were plenty of entertainment, there was even a live music event nearby, so when we were in the room we left the door open and enjoyed the music. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, they were there when you needed them and invisible when you didn't (as they should be). The only thing we disliked about this hotel was the walking distance to the better/best restaurants/bars/clubs..but we could probably use the exercise anyway. Great stay, definitely will be staying there again. If you are traveling as a couple make sure you get a room with the hot tub, you will not be disappointed. Traffic on 264 to the beach was horrible when we arrived, make sure you plan to arrive earlier than 5 pm. We checked out at 4am, so not sure about morning traffic. Beds slept great also - we brought our own sheets so not sure about the quality of those. Towels were a bit dry/rough, ended up using our own on last 2 days.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad_boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We checked in May 31, 2011. We were about 2 hours early which wasn't a problem. The process was a snap and CarolAnn was absolutely wonderful! She made the start of our vacation perfect! The room was clean and much larger than I had pictured. the view from our room (6th floor) was incredible. Each morning my husband and I would walk to breakfast or take a short trip into town. When we returned our room had already been cleaned and the bed remade! We found all the staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful. We checked out on June 3 and once again CarolAnn made our departure flawless. We will be sure to stay at the Schooner Inn next time we are in Va Beach!!!

Room Tip: 6th floor is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was a fantastic hotel. The bed was gigantic and very comfortable - and it is my opinion that it is difficult to find hotels with comfortable beds! There was also a hot tub in the room which was great. When you sat in the tub you could look out into the ocean since it is right next to the window. The room had a sink, microwave, toaster, and fridge which all worked well. It also had a nice sink and dishes/silverware to use as well. The staff was friendly and accommodating, when we asked for extra pillows they gave us extras without any problems.

There were only a few downsides to this hotel. The first was the location. If you plan on doing nothing but sitting on the beach and staying at the hotel this is the place for you - but we wanted to go walk around some and it is all the way at the end of the beach. You have to walk at least 15-20 minutes before you start hitting most stores, restaurants, attractions, etc. The other was the door - I don't know if it was just our room,but the lock on our doors didn't work well and we had to slam the door every time to make sure it was really shut.

All in all, we really like this hotel. I think we would consider staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seelie8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This is a very nice hotel. I needed more pillows because I have sleep apnea and when I called the front desk they brought up 3 pillows to our room. The bed was so comfortable my wife and I wanted to bring it home. Great view of the ocean from our room. Balconies are kinda small but still nice. Free Internet with strong signal. Clean rooms with new carpet and clean paint. A very nice place to stay if your planning a Virginia Beach Get-A-Way!!

Room Tip: The heart shaped hot tub is VERY romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bubbie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va Bch
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here over Valentines weekend. The room was very clean, and well kept. The bed was comfortable. The best thing was the hot tub! Unlike most other hotels, the tub was up against the oceanfront windows. It was SO cool being in the hot tub and looking out at the ocean. The room was on the top floor, so we didn't feel like we were exposing ourselves to anyone. We will definitely stay here again for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stllrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#24 of 109 in Virginia Beach
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#80 of 109 in Virginia Beach
486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Inn

Property: Schooner Inn
Address: 215 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3606
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Schooner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Virginia Beach
Schooner Inn Virginia Beach
Schooner Virginia Beach
Schooner Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing