We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend!!”
Review of Schooner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schooner Inn
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend!!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It's always interesting to me the difference in opinions on here. Two people can stay in the same place, same time and you wouldn't know it! We had a wonderful weekend at Schooner Inn. Lee helped us check in and answered many questions while we were there. Will was also very helpful. We never passed an employee who did not speak to us. Housekeeping was very accommodating. The room was great, we had two beds, a table and four chairs, fridge, microwave, stovetop, coffee pot and toaster. Plenty of dishes and silverware also. Room was large and balcony was larger than most I have seen in the newer hotels. Much more of a family feel than some of the huge swanky resorts. We enjoy the south end of the beach, it is much quieter, but only a shuttle away if you want to go up to the North Beaches.. Also, enjoy being near Waterman's(yummy hushpuppies) and Sunnyside(delicious breakfast!). If you want to take a short drive down to Sandbridge, check out Margie and Ray's! We loved the Schooner Inn and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    157
    63
    42
    48
See reviews for
139
151
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Three of us girls went on a week vacation to schooner inn despite all of the bad reviews. It was the best vacation ever. the hotel is right off the jetty where all the surfers are. you have a quite beach and are walking distance to restaurants and everything else. in the back parking lot was a circus tent and the show was amazing, no animals all acrobats. as for the hotel itself, it was as old looking as the pictures, but it was clean and wasn't run down. they were also in the process of remodeling the rooms. the staff as very nice and helpful 24/7. And the air conditioner worked great, never woke up in a sweat like some of the reviews, and the room was always cool. the view of the ocean was great. security entrances and a safe in the room to put things when out on the beach for extra security. now all you need is to go to any local bar at order orange crushes and cheesy bacon fries, shrimp and ousters with the locals. Burtons has amazing food and drinks and cheap too. you'd have to drive 10 min buts its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bachmanjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arezzo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

It's ok. People at the front desk are nice, good position, at the end of Virginia Beach. Just take the room Ocean view or don't go.
Parking is included, the swimming pool in the middle of the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a nice hotel with small kitchenett and beach front balconey. Price a bit high for what it is but this is the high season and beach front. Check in was not til 4:00pm and we took the train so had no car, they let us store our luggage til check out time, which was very nice.
The elevator had kind of a smell to it but it was always wet with sand in it also. The bathroom had a bit of mold around the walls, I am sure to the high humidity.
My main problem was that when we asked for a 6:oo am wake up call, we never got the wake up call :( So I missed the wonderful sunrise. All in all it was better than some but not as good as others. I would most likely stay here again but will bring my own alarm clock.
The laundry was out of order and I spent money for soap with was empty and the staff did not do a thing about it.

Room Tip: Stary on th 4th floor or higher. Do not expect a wake up call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnelson2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room for the money! Especially after reading previous reviews. Beds were comfortable. Very clean. Quiet. We love the south end of Virginia Beach. Came here for a birthday celebration. Wanted to stay an additional night but it wasn't available. Ended up at a chain hotel at the north end the second night. It did not compare. We preferred the Schooner Inn. Would definitely stay here again! Staff was friendly! Check in was flawless!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Schooner's, after leaving a dumpy hotel at 17th St. The sweet girl at the front desk was so helpful. Because it was same day booking, we stayed in an ocean front jacuzzi room the first night and a pool side efficiency room the second night. Both were very nice and clean. My husband and I are big coffee drinkers and they very graciously gave us extra coffee! Loved being right by the playground, boardwalk, and away from the busy midsection of VA Beach. We will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 427tracye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our family has stayed at the Schooner many times, and we were a bit disappointed in our stay this summer. We love the location of the hotel at the end of the boardwalk, which is one of the reasons we choose to stay here. We booked the hotel through a travel website, and during check in and check out, we were told that we should have booked our rooms directly through the hotel. With the exception of two people at the front desk, we were treated rudely whenever we needed to stop at the desk for anything. The maids hadn't cleaned our rooms or left clean towels, so we stopped at the desk for clean towels. We were told to check with housekeeping. Housekeeping had FAILED to give us clean towels, so we were forced to use our beach towels to dry off after our showers. The noise in the hotel was awful this time, too. If there are quiet hours at the Schooner, they are not enforced. We were kept awake well after midnight by screaming kids, someone in another room slamming a door, and a variety of noises from the other rooms above us and on both sides of us. We complained to the front desk, who rudely asked us what they were supposed to do about it! Our rooms were never cleaned by the maids, and we were forced to track the maids down in the hallway to get clean towels. We made our own beds, threw our trash away and cleaned our rooms ourselves. The service was awful, the beds weren't comfortable, and the elevator smelled like vomit. After this experience, we will be looking for another place to stay next year. We were our own maids and felt as though we were in a frat house for all the noise. The hotel has a strict no-smoking policy, but how about a strict no-noise policy after 10 p.m.?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alfie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,047 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Inn

Property: Schooner Inn
Address: 215 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3606
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Schooner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Virginia Beach
Schooner Inn Virginia Beach
Schooner Virginia Beach
Schooner Va Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing