We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over charged and don't tell you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Over charged and don't tell you”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Over charged are room 20 extra dollars a night when we found out they were rude and nasty and charges a holding fee for the room to and does not tell you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrd012001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    250
    84
    42
    31
See reviews for
262
234
63
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just came back from staying there for 5 night. The location is great. But their parking was across from the hotel and we could park for free on the 5th floor or up. there are few spot by the hotel but always full. So we had to use the parking garage. Which will be fine if we are only adult but we have an infant and toddler with us so it was inconvenient. Anyway, the room was clean but first morning when i was about to make coffee, the old coffee was still in there... also, bathtub draining system was very bad. And one more thing, the iron board was too old or broken already, after my husband used it and tried to close it but instead some part came off. (they did replace with new one). I mention all this to the front desk when we were leaving but she wasn't really apologetic or care about it. I expected little more professional reaction or customer service from Hilton but i guess i was wrong.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinriandcheito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Moved to this hotel from another Hilton property close by the airport. Town Center just suited us better and we were taken by the "sparkle factor" when we walked through the door. Everything looked and smelled fresh! Front desk staff were very accommodating despite us not having a reservation at this particular property. Our room was lovely....very clean and comfortable. Especially like having a micro and fridge in the room. Hotel has some great restaurants and shops close by. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if my travels take me back to the Virginia Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I can tell the hotel was recently renovated, but not that old and its very nice. Stayed there this past July 4th weekend and was great. The room was a little small, but nicely equipped and clean. Each staff member at the desk was nice and personable. The hotel is in a great location for business guests and couples. Close to Virgina beach (15mins), movie theater, lots of restaurants, and shopping. Didn't care for parking on the 5th floor or above in the parking garage across the street, but at least it was free. Great job to the GM and staff for a great stay, very clean and well kept property.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hotelpro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed here recently for two nights and the place was totally booked. However, it was quiet in the lobby areas as well as the halls. The rooms were clean and the bed really comfy (our two top criteria). Front desk staff was very gracious. The breakfast is not complimentary but find a rich relative to treat you like we did . There was a great variety of tasty items with omelets and waffles made to order. The parking area outside the hotel is not huge but the staff directed us to park across the street in the parking garage on Level 5 and there was no charge. An added plus - it kept the car out of the hot sun and was more comfortable when we needed to use it. There are numerous restaurants/bars within walking distance and when we returned back to the hotel Saturday at around 9 pm, the area was jumping. It is very close to the Westin Hotel too.. While it isn't close to the beachfront, the price is equivalent to what some of those hotels charge and this property is much nicer. We did notice folks with beach bags and towels who appeared to be headed towards the oceanfront. I was ticked that the pop in the vending machine was $3.00 per bottle so you might want to bring some waters and pop if that is your thing. Our fridge in the room worked the best of any place we have ever stayed and that is a huge plus. Also, right across the street was a great cupcake shop (not cheap but high quality) and YUM! We would stay here again and definitely visit the cupcake shop.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichmondBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here from 6/20/12 to 6/23/12 and loved it! The room was nice comfy too. To make everything easier I will list the pros and the cons and then you can just decide what you would like to do from there.

Cons
No complimentary breakfast (at the Hampton inn they have it and it is the lower level of Hilton)
People and staff there was not too friendly at all
Parking was across the street on the 5th floor
internet connection wasnt good

Pro's
Adjustable comfort setting on the bed
Bath and body works and neutrogena soaps and lotions
sound proof walls.
extra clean

Overall this place is about 10 mins away from the beach and smack dead in the center of tons of places to go. If this is your first time trip to V.A beach I def suggest that you stay here. It is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tay685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here this past weekend for a concert at the Farm Bureau Live Amphitheater. The halls and rooms were nice and looked newly remodeled(which is a plus). The bed was incredibly comfortable too! And, although we did not use the pool, we peeked in and it looked nice and a great area. I can't say enough about the location. Literally, right out your door, and a short walk away, were so many different restaurants to please anyone. Check-in was very easy and everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We had the most incredible meal at Ruth's Chris down the street- highly recommended! The Red Star Tavern was also a great place to hang and sip yummy drinks after dinner. The venue was just a short drive away. We will stay no other place when in town for a concert!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbfan322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Address: 252 Town Center Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Virginia Beach, VA is located in the downtown Town Center district! Our hotel is within walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Hotel Virginia Beach
Hilton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing