We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and staff helpful to assist.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atrium Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atrium Resort
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff helpful to assist.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a week thru RCI to visit family in the area. Upon arrival we were given a room on the 9th floor which had a musty smell, and we requested another room without an odor, so they placed us on the 6th floor Room 609. After unloading we left to have dinner with family and visit, then stopped to get some groceries for the week. Upon arrival back at the resort at midnight we found that the elevator was not working (they only have 1) and staff assisted me in carrying the bags up, but my wife who has a handicap sticker to limit walking and avoids stairs due to leg surgery. Atrium is one of the few resorts that there is a ground floor were the lobby and the pool is then starts a first floor, which is actually the second floor-so if you request a room on the first floor, it is on the second floor. After waiting an hour and the elevator still wasn't repaired, I assisted my wife up the stairs. That night her leg hurt so bad that she tried to sleep with it propped up on the couch, but although you can have all the lights out in the unit, the front windows (that are the length of the room from the door to the wall) the bright lights in the hallway come in. I would not recommend these for people who want to sleep in the front room as there is no way to darken the room-we pulled the couch out almost two feet, but the curtains let the light come in thru the bottom. The other issue is there are couches outside some of the rooms and like ours, people seem to camp out there to talk on their cell phone or wait for family. I don't know but it is unusual to have peaple sitting on a couch outside your room when you arrive and continue to talk outside your room when you are in your room. I would prefer the couches be placed in the middle or not there at all, as when we had stayed there years ago when there were no couches outside the rooms. Parking was good, however handicap parking on the other side of the building is unusual when the elevator is not centrally llocated, and even though there were 3 handicapped parking spots near the elevator, they were in use for most of the week with two of them having cars that never looked like they moved, same car, same parking spot. We used thos spots only on Friday and Saturday night. Occassionally I would drop my wife off at the entrance were the ramps are, but there is not a ramp when we parked under the building so she would walk around the wall and use the ramp between the handicap parking spots to enter the door near the elevator. The bed was soft due to the pillow top, but unit was clean. Several times we would turn the cold water on to brush our teeth and would get warm water, if you let it run long enough it would get to cold water. Unit 609 was on 21st street and several nights we were awoken by sirens going by under our window, which limits the ways into the resort being located in between 21st and 22nd streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We thank you for allowing us to handle difficulties you experienced during your stay appropriately. We are so glad that you enjoyed our comfortable and relaxing pillow top mattress. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    61
    22
    10
    10
See reviews for
93
53
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything was awesome! everything was clean and wonderful. we will stay there everytime. it was the best place we have ever stayed! everyone should stay here! all the staff was great and very nice! the pool was very clean. we really enjoyed the rooms they were big and the beds were very comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear that our friendly staff and clean resort enhanced your visit to Virginia Beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massanutten, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Atrium Resort for a week...We found it to be very clean, well supplied, convenient to the beach and boardwalk and the staff went above and beyond. They were all very friendly and helpful. It was centrally located and only a 2 block walk to the beach. You're close to shops and restaurants all within walking distance. The rooms were very neat and clean. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. I'm looking forward to our next stay there. Thanking everyone at the Atrium for a great stay in Virginia Beach...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissVivienne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We strive to keep our resort as clean as you would your own home. We are so glad to hear that our wonder staff, unit amenities, and great location enhanced your vacation experience. Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband booked this with our RCI timeshare deal. And at first I was not looking forward to it because I felt like it was going to be the standard run of the mill "timeshare" "resort" stay. Upon initial inspection, the resort looks very plain. The foyer is nothing spectacular and the indoor pool is awkwardly positioned in the foyer area. So that was an immediate turn off. The elevator was old and outdated and slow. We stayed in 215 and upon entering the room we both were pleasantly surprised. The decor was new and trendy. The room smelled clean and it actually was very clean and well maintained. It was a decent amount of space for a one bedroom. The kitchenette was just enough space to make a decent meal. The bed was comfy and the bedroom was spacious!
The resort had ample parking which was nice and free! It was not ocean front but a couple of blocks away from the beach, walking distance. It was also in close proximity to the strip, so there were a host of restaurants and shops to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know that our unit amenities and location suited your vacation needs. Thank you for taking the time to mention the cleanliness of your suite as we strive to keep our resort as clean as you would your own home. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The atrium was amazing! My boyfriend and I loved the location being so close to the oceanfront was great for our beach days! The rooms were very clean and ver spacious! Kitchens were fully stocked with utensils pots and pans. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We will definitely be coming back to this resort when we come back to Virginia beach!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laryssa_erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit with us. Our clean, spacious, fully equipped suites are designed to give you all the comforts of home. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our staff and the great work that they do. We really appreciate this excellent feedback and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My family and I stayed at the Atrium for spring break 2014. It was a small, comfortable resort perfect for small families. The rooms were nice and clean. Tere were activities for my daughters, such as arts and crafts and family movie night. The girls really enjoyed the swimming in the pool each day. The staff was awesome. They really made sure that we had everything that we needed and even went out of their way to make other accommodations. The resort is located in walking distance of the beach. I would recommend this resort to young families like ours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy a few of the many great activities we offer. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our staff as they are always willing to give assistance to improve everyone’s vacation experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this fantastic review and we are already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was on vacation with my family and we were looking for a great place to stay in Virginia Beach. We stayed at the Atrium Resort. When we checked in to the hotel I was greeted with a friendly smile and the process was very easy and painless. When we got to the room, it was very clean, great size. Great little kitchen. The beds were so nice and comfy, it felt like I was at home. It was like walking into a nice apartment! They have a really nice pool that was very clean, we just did not have the time to use it. I was very impressed with the staff and the resort as a whole. I would highly recommend staying at the Atrium Resort the next time you are in Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRMike, Manager at Atrium Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are honored that you and your family chose to stay with us. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our units as we strive to give you all the comforts of home during your visit. Thank you so much for your excellent feedback and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Resort

Property: Atrium Resort
Address: 315 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3322
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Atrium Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, just blocks away from the boardwalk, the 90 unit smoke-free resort offers a family-oriented atmosphere with an open-air lobby and relaxing environment. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• 24 hour fitness center• On- site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• King size pillow-top mattress• Queen size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atrium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Virginia Beach
Atrium Resort Virginia Beach Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing