We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like you are back in the Bayou”

Blue Pete's Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 1,423 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BLUE PETE'S Restaurant is a local's landmark for casual dining on the edge of beautiful Back Bay in Virginia Beach. Visit once, and you're a friend. Visit twice, and you're family... And believe me, you'll be back once you taste the Sweet Potato Biscuits! BLUE PETE'S is locally owned and operated by twin brothers Nick and Aristotle, and is an ideal site for business meetings by day, family dinner by night, and kicking back to live music once the sun goes down. We look forward to serving you!
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feels like you are back in the Bayou”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went twice in one week-first time due to the reviews and second to get more of the laid back, on the water ambiance, she-crab soup and mojoritas (mix of mojito and margarita). First time was just the hubby and myself and second time our sons, 19 and 25, came along for a free meal. Both times great food and drink but second time our waiter made it even more fun. I can't recall his name, dang it, but he was one of the best servers we have encountered in a long time regardless of price range.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belisa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been vacationing in Sandbridge for a few years and we have been returning to Blue Pete's each of the last few years. I believe it was bought by new owners a couple years ago, but the place continues to impress. The food selections are great. The service is good. And you can't beat the local atmosphere. I would recommend Blue Pete's to anyone vacationing in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A GREAT FAMILY PLACE”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have been to Blue Pete's twice in the past three weeks. One time with a group of 13 and the second time with a family reunion group of 19. Our waitress was spectacular and attentive to the entire group. The menu was perfect for ALL ages.
I strongly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
433 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Incredible Food - Off the Path Location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been visiting VA Beach for over 14 years now, and it was refreshing to see another great seafood option rise about my ole favorites. This restaurant is listed as a steak house on some review sites, but the seafood is the real show!

Located between the beach and Pungo, Blue Pete's is benefiting from some new owners (2 yrs or so), and a great offering of food.

We had a party of 7, and each of our meals was incredible. The Mahi with Crab was insanely good. The offering was actually crab meat in a sauce, but what was delivered was a crab cake on top of the Mahi, with a great sauce.

The decor is nothing special like most of the good seafood places off the harbor. The location is rustic and scenic.

The service was great, and we didn't have room for dessert. Make sure some one in your party orders the Mac and Cheese!!!!!

Only thing to improve on is the temperature of the drafts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had dinner with a party of 9 people. We had drinks, appetizers, and entrees. The menu had a great variety of items to chose from and everything was delicious. Carrie was our waitress and she was outstanding. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie45678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Pete's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Pete's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing