We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved their soups”

Calypso Bar and Grill
Ranked #95 of 1,429 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved their soups”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We've tried the Calypso a few times.Great staff, really helpful.And their soups were our favorite !! You need to try it !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    66
    29
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere, Awesome "Slackdog" Band!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I think this is the largest outdoor patio on the boardwalk. The view is gorgeous. After several visits, service is always excellent and haven't had a bad meal yet. Anything seafood is my favorite! Drinks are very reasonable.This band is so so good! They play classic and current rock, but wish they would play at Calypso's more often - they are so talented! We always have so much fun and will always come out to see the dogs!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1shorething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Music and Prices”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Loved the band they had on November 15th, 2013. They are apparently regulars. Staff was super nice, and quick. Drinks and food were all very nicely priced. Didn't go out on the covered deck, as it was pretty crowded, but it's nice they offer that at all, considering we went in November and many places don't have the covered option.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Friends and Fun Times”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

OMG! I love love love this place.. First time in VA Beach and was wanting to go out somewhere fun The DJ who played Saturday Nov 9th was great he played old and new music.. Drinks were very reasonable the bartenders were friendly and on top of their game.. All different ages and dress however you like.. I saw everything to girls dressed like they were on Jersey Shore, to boots tees and jeans
This is a must go to spot

Helpful?
Thank JazzyJ0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will go back again and again . . .”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just love this place. The location is perfect. The food is amazing. The outdoor seating with entertainment is great. There is always something going on. . . lots of happy hour specials. $2 Landsharks, $2 Red Stripes . .the Frito Nachos are my fav. We've had the fish tacos, the fish n' chips (YUM), the wings and it was all very good, cooked to perfection, huge portions and always hot and fresh!! Dustin has been our server every time and we love that. He always has a smile and is great at his job!! Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mamaofsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing