We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza Good Service!!!”

Salvatore's Pizzeria
Ranked #116 of 1,414 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Pizza Good Service!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved everything about this place - the fresh ingredients, the fact the owner was there to make sure everyone was happy, and the wonderful service. When it came time to order my two year old took it upon herself to ask for an apple, and low and behold the waitress brought her a sliced apple for no charge! They also gave us these great rolls and some puffy doughnut type things at the end of the meal. The pizza was the best I have ever tasted outside of New York and it is definitely a place I will frequent and bring all out of town guests too. Definitely a must in VB!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbanks2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Uncharacteristically disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We LOVE this place but on our last visit for eat-in, we were very disappointed. We ordered what we always order, a 14 inch pizza with sausage, mushroom, and onion. It came, barely cooked and incredibly soggy in the center. Our server kept forgetting to bring us water and other things we asked for (straws, plates, napkins) and we had to flag the busboy to help us. We were shocked as this is NOT what we typically exerience here. Slavatore's is our favorite pizza place but this visit we we highly disappointed. Our server did not offer anything when we mentioned that the food was sub-par and I asked for a website or email for the manager/owner and was told there was anything available. I hope he reads this and reaches out as we would like to come back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MangerAimerVivre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
433 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Lot's of Offerings - Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Let me start off by saying that this place is quite different from other Italian offerings in the area. The slowest part of the evening was awaiting the hostess, who also was responsible for bringing one of the free appetizers to the table. She was overtaxed by her duties, and made it a bit of a wait to be seated.

Upon sitting down, you will notice that employees are buzzing all over the place. Service was impeccable from the free bruschetta, free garlic knots, and after your meal, free dough balls w/chocolate. As soon as a plate of ours was empty, there was someone there to whisk it away from the table.

Food was good, but my pizza was a bit undercooked. The sauce was rather bland, and could of used either more sweetness, or zip. It just wasn't anything special. The others in our party had salads and other items, and they were very happy with their meal.

We did order a dessert, and it too was very good, but the cannoli shell was a bit overcooked, and flew apart as we tried to cut it up.

Prices were reasonable, and again, the service was top notch!!! Maybe we just caught them on a bad night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepBlueDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ordered a custom large pizza with pepperoni, onions, and pineapple. It was HUGE (plenty for 3 people + leftovers the next day) and delicious. We actually ordered the pizza to go, so we didn't eat in the restaurant this time around. My dinner companions had eaten there a number of times and enjoyed their spaghetti & meatballs as well as being able to order pizza by the slice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible authentic Italian ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Rainy day late lunch while on vacation in Virginia Beach. Always weary of restaurants in strip malls but this one is the real deal. Great food, perfect service. I think it comes really close to eating at your Italian grandmother's house. The 24" pizza is not only the largest round pizza I've ever seen but definitely one of the best pies I can remember eating. They had no problem accommodating our 12 person party at all. Enjoy!!

Helpful?
Thank EssexOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salvatore's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing