We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch!”
Review of Salt - CLOSED

Salt
Price range: US$25 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First Court
Description: Salt is an upscale restaurant in the Hampton Roads area. Salt features seafood, steaks and regional ~ international ingredients from all over the world. Salt is a refined dining environment featuring a spacious patio, 16 seat bar, and a dining area that seats over 80 guests.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Ate here for the first time today. Lunch was very nice and reasonable. The salad with fried goat cheese was delicious. The goat cheese stayed gooey and warm throughout the meal. Some prices are high ($12 for a half dozen oysters?!?), but will go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Misleading at times, but surprisingly decently average”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself, my wife, and her boyfriend have been frequent visitors to the virginia beach area, even so much as that other vacationers think that we're locals because we know so much of the area! LOL! however, during our most recent excursion to our most favored destination, we inquired with the staff at our hotel, the hilton oceanfront (DUH), as to which restaurant they would recommend us trying for a first time. we've tried so many restaurants for a first time, and for a second time, and for a third time, and some for a fourth time. besides for the hotel staff OBVIOUSLY trying to get us to go to their restaurant, catch 31, which is exquisite, maybe i'll post a review on that too, but perhaps i should finish this one, first, thing is, first. we were recommended to SALT -- not the angelina jolie movie LOL! -- but a newer, fresher upscale asian cuisine. this obviously spiked our interest. after perusing the menu, which, is available, online, for free, for a good forty five minutes, we were sold (nay, my dear readers, our bodies were not physically sold, i do sincerely apologize for any confusion my diction has caused). for myself, it was the pork and ginger potstickers (NOT an adhesive marihuana decal) to begin, and of course a nice traditional american hamburger - the hereford burger. the lovebirds decided that they would try the hangar sammy, which is just a bunch of stuff and things, and stuff. off we go! we fetched a taxi cab, it was a yellow one (remember this, this is important for the rest of the review), for the approximate 12 mile drive. (editors note, if, that' s that' that is a big if, virginia beach is guilty of one thing, it is poor traffic flow. too many red lights. like, c'mon man, we just need some SALT.) after a tantalizing 25 minute drive, we had arrived! BUT ALAS! to our dear surprise, it wasnt even open! granted, it was 9:30 in the morning, but being the early birds that the three of us are, we were none too pleased. we returned to the hotel to let a few hours pass. we were ready to come back, by taxi cab, a yellow one as well, not the same one, granted, it was similar, but not the exact one that chartered us to SALT previously; two seperate vehicles (same company however - confusing, it is). upon entering FINALLY we immediately noticed the beautifully okay looking decor - a nice, golden-silver chandelier adjourned upon a slanted white wall, with a red velvet backdrop (UM HELLO). we were greeted by a gentleman, whom i correctly identified as server waiter. i will not bore you with the details of the food nor the dining experience, but in short, SALT is pretty okay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babylon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The food lived up to the name. ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I was there for a wedding rehearsal dinner and I was unimpressed with the food. The service was very good and attentive but the food was lacking. I was told this is an Asian fusion restaurant but there didn't seem to be much of an Asian influence and it was American fare with a somewhat Asian twist. I had the phyllo wrapped shrimp which was like shrimp wrapped in shredded wheat. My entrée was the sweet and spicy shrimp which was more salty than sweet or spicy and overcooked. It came on a bed of coconut rice which was very sweet and some veggies thrown in for color I guess. Not a well conceived dish. For dessert I had the goat cheese cheesecake which was super sweet and had a weird finish to it. Overall, I think Salt is trying to be something it's not an upscale restaurant for the area but it's lacking the skills to give you a true culinary experience.

Helpful?
Thank lacrazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to Salt several times now, and have never found it less than outstanding. We have eaten at the bar and regular tables, and have gone for couples night and 1/2 price wine night. EVERYTHING we have had has been fresh and well-made. The new sweet and spicy shrimp dish is amazing! It is owned by two local gentlemen who are always on-site and care a lot about their business. They are great at recommending wines as well! We have only been for dinner, but the lunch menu looks great and they have a nice little bar menu as well. Go to Salt! You will not be disappointed! FYI- they also sell their sauces and a few small food items at the East Beach Farmer's Market- check them out there too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had a delightful server, Devin, who was very knowledgable and attentive. The restaurant is small and wasn't busy on a Monday. But half priced bottles of wine are a great surprise and worthwhile. There is clearly an Asian influence to the recipes. Best gazpacho ever. Spicy and a large portion. Wonderful cheese plate appetizer. Terrific Pad Thai. Duck duo was tasty. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Handsrgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing