We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice "Tapped" Surprise”
Review of Tapped

Tapped
Ranked #191 of 1,423 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Nice "Tapped" Surprise”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our friend read about this restaurant/pub in the local paper and asked my wife and I if were would like to give it a go. We did and were very pleasantly surprised. In addition to a nice dinner menu, Mon. night also offered Military discounts and $5 Martinis offerings. My wife ordered Blackened Sea Scallops, which she thoroughly enjoyed. Our friend ordered a Sirloin steak stuffed with Boursin Cheese and I ordered their Cajun Rubbed Ribeye steak which was tender and grilled to perfection. We all had Martinis (not the $5 kind) to compliment our meals. Service was attentive and friendly. We chose to eat inside for a more relaxed meal, but a large outside dining area was available. Next time we'll check out the tap beers at the bar before ordering our meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedskinRod38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and Hokie-owned!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've had brunch there several times and a late-night snack once, and enjoyed all our visits. The food is tasty, the drinks are generous and cold, and the servers are all pleasant and seem to enjoy working there. Make sure you sit outside (weather permitting) for a nice change of pace. Remember, support your local businesses!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBHokie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A good dinner...”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a better-than-decent dinner at Tapped on our first night in Va Beach -- lobster ravioli were quite good, prices were agreeable, and service, while a little overly-friendly (at some point, just let us eat and chat on our own...) was just fine. The setting is not posh or elaborate; Tapped is not a white-tablecloth establishment, but rather more of a large sports-bar type setup. The menu is varied and offers a number of temptations, although I would say that the term "gastropub" nudges expectations a little too high.

Tapped is more about the beers than the wines, and we tend toward the latter, but there were some very good offerings at moderate prices. Overall, the place is oriented toward a crowd somewhat younger than we are (nowadays, *everybody* is younger than we are!) but we still had an enjoyable evening.

Like quite a few places in this section of Va Beach, the restaurant sits in the interior of a biggish strip-mall setting and is not visible from the main road. But head on into the interior of Hilltop North, I think it's called, and you'll find the place. It's worth a stop --

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Beer Guys at the Bar”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Both bartenders did a good job talking about the various beers on tap. Friendly scene with unique pour your own options at tables.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant/bar experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I previously wrote a review for this restaurant and I was definitely underwhelmed. The service then was poor, but I'm happy to say that we frequent this restaurant now, due to the awesome staff and food. Their bar menu during football season is pretty standard, but well done, and when we're in the mood for something more substantial, their regular menu is great. Their lunch specials are fantastic, I can't believe how reasonably-priced they are and they change every day - it's a great place for locals to grab lunch if they work nearby. I really can't say enough good things about this place, we love it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahannimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapped also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Tapped? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing