We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and almost great.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Trav-L-Park
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice and almost great.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Overall, this campground is above the average because of the pools, snack bar, paved roads, friendly staff, and the super sites. The regular sites are cramped and the dirt floor makes them a little too rustic for me, but there are paved super sites. The super sites are very pretty and comfortable BUT are surrounded by old, abandoned campers. Unless you're in the middle of the super site section, your view is of old campers. The super site section would be perfect if the storage was moved out of sight.... especially considering they are the same price as Disney's Fort Wildness sites. I would come back here, but I'd be careful to request a site in the center of the super site section.... and I wouldn't stay in the regular sites.

Room Tip: Ask for a super site in the center of that section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travlnmommO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    39
    18
    16
    12
See reviews for
85
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Been here before but park is starting to show its age. Heavy rain caused some minor street flooding. Big rig sites are tight and some difficulty getting satellite signal. Premimum sites very nice but you pay for it. Disney Fort Wilderness is better deal. Convienient shittle bus from campground and free parking at private lot at beach is nice. People drive way too fast. Lots of kids. Major fault is smoking and alcohol consumption permitted in pool areas.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank srq221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We always enjoy visiting the Holiday Trav-L-Park. We have been camping here for many years, several times each year. We rarely have any problems but if there is excess noise after 11 pm a quick call to security fixes it. They have 2 little camp stores if you need a snack, supplies or gifts. The trolley runs very regularly to take you to the beach and back without worrying about parking. If it is a major holiday, expect it to be very crowded and book early. I have had family stay in the cabins and they were happy there as well. This is our home away from home and we can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniandHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from Holiday Trav L Park in Va Beach and it was just OK. Primarily, because it's not on the beach so it's a big production to get there. They have a shuttle that runs every 30 mins but it takes half the camper contents for us to go to the beach and the thought of dragging all that on public transportation was a huge deterrent. The campground itself is outdated except for the super sites. They were all booked of course, while the remainder of the campground was probably 25% filled (hello opportunity!). The super sites were VERY nice and were huge with fire pits and deluxe picnic tables. The site we were on was not level or even graveled which meant after the rain the first night, we walked through mud all weekend which made sitting outside impossible. There are a lot of pools but not much else to do. There also was no cable at the site which we were not prepared for. The store is filled with everything you could think of, including the floor and aisles to the point they were impassable. Laundry was nice but pricey especially since the clothes came out of the washer dripping wet which necessitates quite a few quarters to rectify the situation. We enjoyed the weekend because it was spent with family and friends but if this wasn't the closest campground near a beach for us, we probably wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Don't settle for anything less than a super site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This campground is right next to oceana air force base. They fly over the campground about every 15 minutes and the altitude is probably 500 feet -- sooooo loud. The campground is really nice, spacious sites, people are friendly, but the noise from the planes is unbearable! I'll never go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbfl34480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

First of all if your not a people person stay home. We have been camping here for over 10 years every memorial day weekend. The live music at the pool is fun. Though you get a few people that cant handle their drinks and smoking you just have to watch out for them. There is a lot to do here and very close to beach with free parking. The spots are very level and just enough room. Those complaining about the rain you just have to play in the rain and make the most out of it. WE LOVE IT. can not wait to get there in a few days.

Room Tip: Bring your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotblondefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here recently on a group campout and had a great time. Would've never considered camping here before because we only live a couple miles away, but again it was a group campout. First, the camp personnel we met were super nice and helpful. We had one of the "super sites" which is a large pull-through site with concrete pad for the RV. Each site also has a picnic table and fire pit. Grassy areas between all sites are well manicured. Don't exclude other sites in the park becuase it is huge and there's a lot of selection with many pull-throughs being more shady than the super sites. As others have stated, the bath houses are numerous and clean. There must also be 4 or 5 pools! I didn't go in, but it looked very clean and had lane markers for lap swimming. There's also a 1 acre dog park which our dog wore himself out! Given the size of the place, I imagine it can get kind of wild when full, Here's the deal with the location - if you're visiting VB for the beach resort area, this place is very close - about 2.5 miles of easy and safe bike ride (there's a dedicated bike trail all the way to the beach). On the other hand, you might look at Google maps and zoom out a bit - becuase this place is also directly at the end of the Oceana Naval base runway. On the day we arrived, we had jets passing directly over 2 and 3 at a time and only a few hundred feet up. This continued every few minutes from about 3pm when we arrived until 10 pm!!! You can't hear yourself think when they pass over let alone have a conversation! For all it's good attributes, I doubt I'd stay here again due to the noise.

Room Tip: Check wind direction to determine which way the jets are taking off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
10.9 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Trav-L-Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Trav-L-Park

Property: Holiday Trav-L-Park
Address: 1075 General Booth Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4828
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 800

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing