We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croakers

Croakers
Ranked #139 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We always visit Croakers while we visit VB and it never disappointed us. I had the best she crab soup during this trip at Croakers. The food is fresh and tasty. The flounder with mushroom is so yummy and I love my seafood platter. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    46
    13
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Virginia Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We visit Virginia Beach almost every year. During our stay, we tried close to thirty seafood restaurants around town. When it comes to taste, Croakers is hands down the best. Everything we ordered is cooked to perfection! The servers are very friendly and helpful. Definitely a must try if you love food!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local seafood, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been coming here for years whenever I am in town, always excited to eat some local seafood! However, my visit I waited an hour to receive my meal and the wait staff was very rude- forgetting items we had ordered and constantly asking if they could clear our plates. Despite the service, the scallops and crab cakes never disappoint!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
204 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Local Cooking of Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Croakers
Neighborhood Grill

Croakers is one of those little gems you find when visiting new areas. Obviously we were informed about it by enthusiastic locals. It’s a quaint little place with limited seating. We were properly forewarned about getting there early so we encountered no difficulty getting a table. Although it was established in the 1990’s it has the warmth and feel of a family run eatery from the 1950’s. They offer a varied menu ranging from steak to pasta but the seafood is the star. It’s fresh and properly prepared. What amazed me was the large number of couples who apparently come regularly. Everyone seemed familiar with their table neighbors. For starters we had She Crab Soup and for entrees their fresh fish of the day, Haddock, prepared a number of different ways broiled, fried and Cajun style. Each preparation was unique and delicious. The wait staff was young but competent and friendly. If you’re tired of chain restaurants and want to try some local flavor and good food at reasonable prices give this place a try. Come early.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Realtor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Don't let the look of this restaurant stop you from eating here. We always eat here when at Virginia beach. The blackened seafood in Cajun cream sauce over angel hair pasta is tops. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank 2_WV_Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Croakers also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Croakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing