We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dine overlooking the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Fish-Two Fish

One Fish-Two Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
One Fish-Two Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Shore Drive
Description: Located minutes from Chesapeake Bay on the water is One Fish-Two Fish. We offer an alternative to formal dining, it's what we call "fun dining." The atmosphere is "upscale without the uppity." This unique feeling is created by a casual waterfront environment with boat access. The restaurant is centered around the Exhibition Kitchen with panoramic views of the Bay. The menu incorporates a blend of California style with fresh, local seafood. The wine list focuses on "boutique style" wines and is consistently recognized with the Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence." Stephen Michaels, owner, and his staff strive to make this venue high energy but still elegant. The only thing we overlook is the water. See you there.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dine overlooking the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

One Fish Two Fish has a premier location on the Lynnhaven River at the end of a marina. This is a sizable restaurant with an inside dining room, a good bar area, glassed-in party room and an outside deck. You can enjoy a casual dinner on the deck, a sit down table for ten or a wedding reception with a view. The kitchen is exposed in the middle of the restaurant so there is lots to watch. The bar scene is locals and dinner is a mix of everyone, you can even come by boat. The food is high end and well prepared. Quite a treasure tucked in the marina and worth searching out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BambooH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    81
    39
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Local's Upscale Restaurant With Various Atmosphere Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best thing about One Fish Two Fish is you have several atmosphere options in this restaurant - you can 1) sit at the bar or high top tables, 2) sit at the bar around the open kitchen to watch the action there, 3) sit outside, 4) sit in the regular restaurant table section. I love that there are so many options with this place!

The food is fabulous! I've been on date nights with my husband where we sat around the bar at the open kitchen and felt like we were the only ones in the place and I've also been there for a family dinner with kids where we sat around a table. It really is a local's place and you have to know it is there. Most tourists wouldn't know about it so it is truly a hidden gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmicChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Leonard, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Annual college roommate reunion and we always try to go to a higher end restaurant for dinner. Atmosphere was nice, a little dark and an older crowd (we are mid 40's, most people in the place were 55+ (maybe because of the cost??).

Two of us had the crab soup which was good, the other two shared a salad which I think they enjoyed.

We all ordered fish dishes for our entrees. Two had the market fish (red snapper on this occasion), one had the Ahi and I had the daily special (Grouper). Very generous portions and the vegetable pairing and sides were nice but nothing special. We all commented that all four of our entrees were loaded with salt.

Individual bill ranged from $55 - $75 per person (depending on who was drinking what). For the price I wasn't really impressed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmiller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood in a great environment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are in Virginia Beach it will take you a good 20 minutes by car to get to this restaurant but it is worth the drive. Situated on a busy marina and decorated with a maritime theme, it is a great setting for a seafood dinner. The service was impeccable and the food was very good. Local fish, great salads and nice deserts.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Marquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View - Still Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It had been awhile since we visited 1 Fish 2 Fish as we always considered it overpriced for the food and service. Our previous impressions were once again confirmed.

Delicious food, fish cooked extremely well, and one of the few restaurants in VB with water views.

But, $8.95 for a salad, and $12 average for appetizers? Really? Main dishes, while advertised on most sites from $20 - $30 is misleading. The actual prices hover closer to $30 than even $25.

And the wine list is outrageous! Hard to find a decent wine for under $35.

Lastly, the service was mediocre. Slow to respond, and didn't ask if we wanted a drink before scuttling off to get water and bread.

While we may return, there are far better values in the Beach, with just as good food (if not better) for us to make 1 Fish 2 Fish a routine destination.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JW110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Fish-Two Fish also viewed

 

Been to One Fish-Two Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing