We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Rockafeller's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockafeller's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 1,414 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Cross street: Winston Salem Ave
Transit: Catch the Wave to Rockafeller's on Virginia Beach's hybrid electric trolleys! Trolley stops are available up and down the Virginia Beach oceanfront. Simply take the trolley to the 5th Street stop, then you will have a short and pleasant walk down Winston Salem Avenue (note it is the same as 5th St.). This deadends into Rockafeller's parking lot.
Description: When visiting Rockafeller's, one of Virginia Beach's landmark seafood restaurants located on Rudee Inlet, customers can expect a casual atmosphere and a menu with endless options, featuring fresh local seafood, steaks, pasta, sandwiches, Sunday Brunch, three course early bird specials and more! Our chalkboard specials will provide you with the freshest fish and seafood offerings available in Virginia Beach. Don't forget that Rockafeller's award winning homemade desserts offer the perfect way to finish off your dining experience . While there they can also feel good knowing that by supporting Rockafeller's they are also supporting one of the first Virginia Green restaurants. Large parties are always welcome with private banquet facilities which can accommodate groups from 9 to 90. Please visit our website, www.rockafellers.com to see a complete edition of what we have. Rockafeller's is committed to great service, freshly prepared food and environmental excellence.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Several of us ate dinner here. We all enjoyed the food. Most of us had seafood and everyone said it was very good. My steak was as good as any I have ever had. The service was excellent starting with our greeting at the door and following up with the server who took great care of us. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    331
    146
    58
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heard great things...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

But in the end, I think the hype killed the experience.

We wanted to try it before the tourist rush started...so wen there for a dinner on Friday.

The crowd skewed "retiree"...so it's not the hippest place.
For the prices portions were very small.
I had tuna. Asked for medium, came over done. Was decent quality and tasted (if not a little dry) but again a small portion.
Strip steak had too much gristle.
The Vegetable sides tasted as though they were previously frozen...or we're just overdo e.
The seafood hush uppers had too much hush and not enough seafood.

I think I'd have given a better review if we hadn't heard how gat this place was and the prices were more reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Keveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Place was slammed and we had 6 people but they said have a drink and we will seat you soon. By the time I got drinks we had a table. All the seafood was great! The server was awesome. We can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drfoodie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It was a madhouse on Mother's Day, but the food and service were great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Mother's Day is usually crazy anywhere you go to eat that's any good. Rockafeller's was no exception. Fortunately, they were valet parking cars; otherwise, it could have been a disaster.

We had reservations for 2:00 pm and had looked forward to outdoors dining since it was a nice day. However, they were not seating outdoors because the wind made things too cool for comfortable dining. I think this may have impacted things a bit since this eliminated a good amount of seating. We were seated approximately 20 minutes after 2:00. It was very noisy in the dining area to the point normal conversation seemed impossible. We were thankful that we were seated in the very back by the bar. There were only a few people at the bar, which helped allow us to converse with one another in a normal tone. It was my mother and I, and we were seated at a table for four next to a window overlooking the water. It was a very nice view. Our server, Bryce, was very attentive considering the crowds of people. He served us drinks quickly. Bread and cornbread, along with butter, came soon afterwards. When requested, he provided water to the table, then took our orders. There was a good amount of time before we received our food, but it was understandable, and he checked on us routinely to ensure that we had enough to drink and plenty of bread to hold us. They had select cocktails on special for $1.99. We started with a couple of these, then moved on to a bottle of house chardonnay, which was very good and well-priced. We both ordered the steamers with corn, celery, onions, sausage, a crab cluster, oysters, mussels, and shrimp. When the steamers arrived everything was piping hot, except the corn on the cob. When brought to the attention of a waiter, he went and placed an order for more corn. Our waiter soon brought out two pieces of hot corn on the cob. The food was cooked well, properly spiced with cocktail sauce and melted butter were provided. Everything was delicious, with good sized portions. We felt it was all reasonably priced. We witnessed and overheard the table behind us that had issues with not receiving very good service. They were seated way before us and received their bread after we received our meals. This was a table of ten and I believe the manager waived the whole check. As we were leaving, we saw the manager at another table where there was obviously a complaint from the patron. We heard him say, "what can I do to make you happy?"

This is a long established restaurant and I believe they will do their best to make everyone happy. I know we were very happy and enjoyed our meal greatly. Everyone seemed to be doing their uptmost to keep everyone happy and serve them as fast as possible under the circumstances. We would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egret1986061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great family-run place on the inlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a great place for seafood. My daughter and I split the feast ($30) which came in a galvanized pail. It had a variety of steamed seafood (oysters, clams, mussels, shrimp, and crab legs), as well as potatoes and corn on the cob, and was served with a starter of cornbread. Although it was advertised as an appetizer, we couldn't finish it all and took the rest home. it was even yummier for breakfast the next morning!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Torontotravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockafeller's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rockafeller's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing