We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aldo's Ristorante

Aldo's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Aldo's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,414 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Description: Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients. Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995. Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's. We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Barney was an excellent server. Flounder dinner with angel hair and snap peas was delicious. Tiramisua for desert was excellent. Love Aldo's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vabeachmmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hearing feedback from our guests helps us keep improving to be the best we can be. We look forward to serving you the best Italian at the beach for another 25 years. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    65
    17
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, Fancier Restaurant in VA Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We made some last minute OpenTable reservations for Aldo's when it seemed like other plans with friends were going to fall through. When we arrived, we noticed this restaurant was trying to be more upscale than other restaurants you'd find at the beach, as there was even a sign on the front door that said that proper attire was acquired, you can't wear hats, etc. We asked the host staff if they could seat us at a table that could accommodate two more, as another couple told us they were coming. The staff was able to give us at a table for four by the piano. We felt a little underdressed when we came in, as the host staff had suits and ties and some guests were dressed more formally, as well. Thankfully, there were other guests who were dressed even more casually than we were, so it didn't seem like much of a big deal.
Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. The food was pretty good. I ordered the chicken parm, which I would have finished all of if it wasn't for the fact that I didn't want to go to bed feeling stuffed full of food. The food is a little pricier than what you would find at a typical chain Italian restaurant, but it was worth it. We would definitely come back here again (and probably with pants, instead of shorts).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We're glad you and your guests left Aldo's full and satisfied. Receiving feedback from our guests helps us improve and grow. Thank you for the review and we hope you stop by the next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Went there this evening. Ordered the Zucchini Frittata which was tough and greasy. The green was a dark green as if the squash were old - tasted old as well. Ordered Chicken Picatta which is my usual. The chicken looked manufactured - undercooked and my fork would not go through it - tough as leather - seemed microwaved and had no saute indication. Completely white/light pink & unappetizing - the knife barely went through it - usually it is succulently tender. Clearly their concern for quality has greatly diminished. My waiter was one I have seen before. Didn't seem to really care about our experience - quick and on to the next - not authentic. A very kind waiter stepped in as the original did not have time to show concern. No accommodation was made. Ordered a Mozzarella appetizer and paid full price for all. The meal was over priced, under-served and quality well below it's cost. This is no longer my favorite and my visiting business associates will go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are sorry that you had a bad experience at Aldo's. We pride our restaurant of 25 years with serving the most delicious food available, but we are human. Please contact us directly at the restaurant so we may remedy your bad experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in Virginia Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Figured we had to get away from the beach area to avoid the tourist trap restaurants. Drove 10 to 15 minutes inland and found Aldo's. Great atmosphere, professional wait staff and very good food. We would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mass_traveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Public Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Aldo's Ristorante. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONROE NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cork charge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

when visiting Virginia beach we decided to try this restaurant. we first called for a reservation. then we called for directions. we then called about byob and they said yes and where we could buy wine. they never mentioned a cork charge in any of the 3 phone calls. we had a wonderful meal and great service. they also had their own bar which we commented on and still no mention of the cork charge. we then get the bill with a charge of $25.00 per bottle which we had 2 of. when we asked why a charge they said that was their policy. we told them no one told about this and all they said was that they were sorry. we told them we from out of town but they could care less. I might never get back there but I think they handled this situation poorly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We're sorry about the miscommunication. Please feel free to call us at the restaurant so we may settle this. 757-491-1111. Despite the miscommunication, we're glad you and your guests were able to enjoy your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing