We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Price for a block away from beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Price for a block away from beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I was very nervous about booking a cheaper hotel, with hope of not checking into the bates motel. I was very pleased with the staff and our room. The tile floor in the room got slick a few times from my kids tracking sand in the room upon returning from the beach, but nothing major. Alot of great shops and restraunts within walking distance. I will keep this hotel in mind if I plan another trip to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMomto2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    15
    12
    31
See reviews for
48
21
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the hotel. Room 419 ocean view. Looks nice inside the room but not worth saving money to be bitten like crazy. First night I woke up with a couple of bumps on me and just thought a mosquito had bitten me. Second night I woke up to over 55 bites on me. I told the front desk and showed some of the bites to them along with an actual bed bug that I caught from the back of the mattress. Was told he would call the owner and have the owner call me. We got our stuff and a can of bed bug spray from Walgreens and checked out. Upon checkout I asked about the owner and was told he had left two messages on the owner's phone and that I should get a call. It has been 10 hours since that conversation and I have yet to receive a call. Please do not subject your family to this unclean place! Pay a little more and stay somewhere that you can be comfortable and not paranoid about being infested. I will be contacting the local health board tomorrow and filing a complaint. DO NOT PATRONIZE THIS BUSINESS!

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel other than this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 482John_L482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

this is the first time we stayed here at the Blue Marlin but to tell you the truth it was a joke. first we checked in and it was raining so we park the car near the front so it was easy for us to bring our stuff to the second floor which had no elevator. once I got into the room there was nothing the bedroom made, nothing in the kitchen no tables no chairs. there is nothing for us to put our clothes on or hang up there was cloest so we used the iron board.after we came inside the room I went downstairs to ask them if they had any pots or pans no coffemake and the stick cause it squeezed in tight spot. they tell us we had to bring owe. Then later in the week were gold that we had to move our vehicle because our car was blocking the view. All im sayin this hotel is terrible.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking room call ahead plenty of times before you leave to make sure there were no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summergirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was my 3rd trip to Virginia Beach in as many years and I have paid more than $150/night for 2 star hotels in the past. This time I booked with the Blue Marlin Motel- was skeptical in the beginning due to the mixed and very few reviews but I can say it was well worth the stay.

Its a very small Motel with few rooms , just one block from the beach. I- the check-in was quick, just took under a minute, Our room was on the ground floor.

Room: the room consisted of 2 double beds, a large apartment style refrigerator, and a kitchenette, a TV with a good number of cable channels, and AC with thermostat stuck at 60 degrees. So in the middle of the night I had to get up to switch it off as it made the room very cold. The room does not have any kind of hangers. As I read this detail in one of the previous reviews, I had brought my own door hangers which proved very useful. If you are planning to stay in this hotel and coming with kids make sure you bring hangers or you will have no place to hang your clothes.
The bed was nice to sleep on- I am in my late 20s and I did not have any problem because of the bed. Now, wanted to point out something that many other reviews would find it a cause of concern while selecting a hotel- the bed comforters had many cigarette burn holes on them, made by previous travelers. you might want to consider this while selecting this hotel. I can understand that it is hard to control the type of travelers you rent your rooms to.

Pool: I never used it but this hotel has a small pool which I saw many people using it , and the hotel staff cleaned it daily in the evening. So, it seemed very clean.

Location and price of the Hotel: this Motel is located just one block from the beach, there is a 711 right across the street where you can buy ice or alcohol. the motel does not have an ice machine so you will have to buy it. I paid less than $150 for 2 nights total. so it was well worth to disregard some of the flaws of this motel.

I would definitely recommend this place, if you are someone who can overlook some of the flaws that I have mentioned, over the location and price.

Room Tip: Bring a clothesline/ hanger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank rahul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a bad experience our first night at Virginia Beach at the Travelodge at 1909 Atlantic Ave., stayed one night and checked out. Had stayed at the Blue Marlin on a previous occasion so went there to get a room for remainder of stay. Staff was friendly and accomodating on such short notice. Everything that we needed we were either handed it right on the spot or someone brought it to our room within just a few minutes. Rooms were clean and newly remodeled. Bathroom was spacious, bed was comfortable and for the most part it was pretty quiet. It's not oceanfront, but is within walking distance of many restuarants and stores. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. Don't stay at the Travelodge, it's dirty and staff is rude.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at the Blue Marlin twice in the past, when it was owned by a different family. Back then it was kitschy but comfortable and friendly. Now it has new owners and they have cut everything to the bone. The rooms are recently renovated and clean, have the usual amenities including an iron and ironing board but...NO HANGERS OR EVEN A BAR TO HANG CLOTHES ON!! Not even a hook on the bathroom door! Free WiFi is offered but we could not get any of their four servers to connect in the room. I could connect if I stood outside, near the office..... Traffic is intended to enter the lot from Pacific Avenue, go through the lot to the garage, and exit the garage to a side street. Problem is, the end of the garage has a locked gate so you have to make a 3 point turn if parked in the garage and hope no one else is trying to come in from the street! Also, the garage has lights but they were never turned on....very dark at night. Good notes: the room was clean, maid service cleaned every day, the floor is tile, not carpet so it is easy to see that it is kept up. The AC unit kept an even temperature and was not noisy. Although not BM's fault, Navy aircraft were constantly landing and taking off from Oceana Naval Air Base, very loud...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Upon arrival we went to the office and processed our paperwork. We had made the arrangements through cheaptickets.com. We were given a key card and we proceeded to our room. When we opened the door we were greeted by two unmade beds and empty beer and wine cooler bottles strewn about the room. We went right back to the office and told them we were leaving. The manager want to show us another room but we weren't interested. The manager said that he wouldn't refund our money because we did not take the other room. We will deal with the charges through the card holder if the charges should appear on our statement. My advice is to check out the room before handing over your credit card. I should have known that the place was a rat trap after seeing only two cars in the parking lot when we arrived and only a few any time we passed during our three day stay.

Room Tip: Avoid this place like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank wtbusdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
19 Atlantic Hotel
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#92 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Carousel Motel
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 2411 Pacific Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marlin Inn & Suites is located right in the middle of vacation district, where all the fun and excitement prevails. Just a block and a half away from boardwalk and the ocean, our motel personifies simplicity and luxury like no other VA Beach HotelsThis plush family owned motel, is made more special with the personalized attention and gracious behavior of the owners, who make sure that your stay is as pleasurable and joyous as you can imagine it to be. Our newly renovated motel boasts of an enhanced and improved ambience and upscale amenities. Rooms and suites, adorned with the finest of features, add a majestic touch to your stay. We consider it our priority to serve our guests with the exceptional service and best of facilities in a time bound manner. Our motivated and experienced staff is always at your service to provide anything that your heart desires. We are acknowledged as one of the finest Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel for our impeccable service and attention to details. The pristine ambiance combined with our immaculate service is bound to enhance your comfort and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing