We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flamingo Cottage is a nice place to spend family...”
other travellers have booked this property
Great place to relax and bbq on the grill.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Great place to relax and bbq on the grill.
You can't miss the red roof! Relax in the backyard - play a round of croquet!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Great place to relax and bbq on the grill.
You can't miss the red roof!
Relax in the backyard - play a round of croquet!
Ample parking for three cars.
Flamingo welcomes you at the entrance...
You will enter into the all-weather porch.
Set a spell, or enjoy your coffee and breakfast on the porch.
Welcome!
Dining area, looking out to the great room and all-weather porch
Sweet breakfast area for two the the bright kitchen
New smooth surface stove.
The kitchen is fully equipped and has basic spices, napkins and coffee filters.
Relax in the back yard.
Master bedroom #1.
Master bedroom #1.
Plenty of closet space in Master Bedroom #1. All linens are provided.
Bedroom #2 with full bed.
Bedroom #3: twin bed with trundle, and adjoining powder room. All linens are provided.
Bedroom #3 with twin and trundle. Books for all, and toys for children.
Bedroom #3 with twin and trundle bed. Adjoining powder room.
A relaxing seat has your name on it!
Lovely backyard. Relax and enjoy the picnic table for an outside supper.
The outside shower is super private and has hot and cold water. Perfect for much of the year!
Storage shed with everything you need for the beach, including a Wheeleez cart to carry beach items!
Sun and Sand! Just what you want at the beach! Flamingo Cottage has a cart, chairs and umbrella!
Flamingo Cottage awaits you!
Charming Flamingo Cottage!
Shady driveway with side entrance to house.
You'll recognize the red roof!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
salah r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flamingo Cottage is a nice place to spend family vacations.”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Located at about 300 yards from the beach, Flamingo Cottage, is a good place to spend nice family vacations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for the kind words and for leaving the cottage in excellent condition - we loved having you both back at Flamingo Cottage again! My Best, ~Gretchen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beachcomb...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location but lacks privacy”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Really liked this location and the cottage is cute although the layout is a little odd (bedrooms between the kitchen and dining/living room so you have to walk down he hall with your food to eat at the bigger table. We decided to rent a house instead of staying in a hotel because we thought it was worth not having to deal with the lack of privacy that comes with a hotel stay.

Unfortunately, the kitchen had ants so we never got to use that adorable little table under the window because it seemed to frequently have ants crawling on it. There were also ants on the cabinets, counters, and kitchen floors most mornings and we were worried about finding them in our food. Additionally, we had a waterbug in the half bathroom. The owner said the ants are just part of life in the south but it was disappointing to not be able to use that spot. There were some ant baits out in the kitchen and they did drop off a spray for the waterbug issue, which was only a one time thing, but maybe it would be better to hire a professional because the ant bait didn’t seem to be working.

The biggest issue was that the owners live next door and they must watch everything you do (or at least the husband does). We had friends who were also vacationing in the area and after going out to dinner together, they came by so my daughter could pick up a change of clothes and have a sleepover with their daughter. Our friends arrived back at the cottage about 5 minutes before us and pulled over in front, the husband was heading out from the house next door but walked back to the driveway, stood there watching them for a minute, then went over to find out what our friends were doing there and was rude to them. It was really off putting and he wasn’t even pleasant about it, just walking away without a word after they told him they were waiting for us. We are in our 40s and 50s and had our young kids with us, so I don't think we really give off the party vibe. The wife was lovely when she came over and introduced herself but at that point we wondered if he was watching us while we were in the yard and the sense of privacy we wanted with a house was lost. If that’s not something that matters to you then the location is great and the cottage is well equipped.

As much as we loved the location and the area, we will find another rental in the area next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Wow. I’m saddened by the review, especially when it was posted almost a year after your stay in August 2016. My email communications with the wife indicated everyone was having a great time at the cottage, keeping busy and catching up on reading.

There was a problem with ants and one water bug and I had several communications with the family about that issue. The last email I received about this was a thanks for having my husband drop off a stronger bug killer. We did have a professional come in, but didn’t want to interrupt this holiday with someone entering the house. And, unfortunately, this is an issue living in the south and here at the beach.

I’ve no knowledge, nor memory, of other folks at the house while you were there. I’m sorry you felt my husband was off-putting. Nothing was mentioned to me at the time, so any changes could not be made. I’m sad your stay did not live up to expectations.

My Best, ~Gretchen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper690...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute, clean cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Flamingo Cottage (or as my 4-year-old called them, "flabingos"). The house was clean and thoughtfully supplied and decorated, and the location was perfect. Even the 87th Street entrance to the beach was a pleasant surprise with a beautifully maintained community garden. Gretchen was a pleasure to work with. We will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
I love the new name for "Flabingo" Cottage! You left the cottage in pristine condition and for that I am very grateful. We look forward to your return any time, and thank you for your gracious review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Loretta, we LOVE having you visit Flamingo Cottage - what a treasure you are as a guest! We look forward to your return at any time and thank you for the lovely review. ~Gretchen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jig1952
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, cozy and well equipped.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This charming cottage has lots of well appointed generous living space (living room/dining area, sun room, all weather porch and outside deck). The bathrooms, bedrooms and kitchen are small but very clean and serviceable. The outdoor shower is wonderful for after-beach bathing. The owners are responsive and helpful with questions. This is on the quiet end of town, so be prepared to drive to restaurants and the boardwalk. Within easy, short walk to the beach, all beach equipment (umbrellas, chairs, cart to get it there...) is supplied. Peaceful place to vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet neighborhood and close to beach
Liked least: bedding
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you so very much for your accurate, thoughtful review. We so enjoyed meeting you both and hope you'll return in the future.
My Best, ~Gretchen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny E
Glen Allen, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Flamingo Cottage was a great find in Virginia Beach”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our time at the Flamingo Cottage. It was very clean (which is very important to our wives and a prerequisite to stay anywhere we go), nicely furnished, slept great, nice amenities for use inside/out (loved taking outdoor showers), we hung out both inside and outside plus enjoyed using the bikes riding all the way to Rudee Inlet and back. Would most definitely recommend the Flamingo Cottage and would like to return ourselves again sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: probably the cleanliness, so important especially at the beach
Liked least: could use a bigger flat screen TV, we watched some college football, it was adequate enough, TV isn't so important, but if it was a big sports weekend (Super Bowl for example) would enhance the good time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Oh, I'm so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves at Flamingo Cottage, despite the iffy weather when you were here. We welcome you back at any time, and thank you all for leaving the Cottage clean and organized upon your departure. ~Gretchen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing