We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little seafood place”

Blue Seafood and Spirits
Ranked #1 of 1,423 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Blue is a 60 seat Chef owned and operated restaurant focusing on high quality, fresh, local seafood in a casual, yet elegant setting. We are best known for our award-winning crab cakes, tempura fried shrimp, fish dishes, and chocolate bread pudding. We feature local beers, local spirits, and our own signature cocktails, as well as a full wine menu.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little seafood place”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a small restaurant in a little strip mall away from the oceanfront. The food was excellent. The chef sent out some shrimp canapés as starters which were a treat. We all enjoyed our entrees (the shrimp tempura was cooked perfectly) and the sweet potato biscuits with apricot butter were a hit. Service was superb and chef came out to personally to check on things. The place is easy to get to from the oceanfront and I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldmanwhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Blue Seafood and Spirits, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    69
    29
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family (three families actually, seven people total) just returned from this restaurant and we WERE VERY IMPRESSED! The food was excellent (absolutely delicious) and the service highly professional, accommodating and friendly. The gratis crab salad appetizers were a pleasant surprise, just hinting at the entrees to come. Our entrees were all seafood dishes and all were cooked to perfection. The owner/chef personally greeted us, a very nice touch! We all would go back in a flash!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twophds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Blue Seafood and Spirits, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing meal, amazing service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A fantastic dining experience. A small restaurant with wonderful decour. The chef personally brought our table a free single taste small plate. The table next to us got a one as well, but it was a completely different recipe! The food was perfectly prepared and I loved how the menu was geared with lots of options for multiple protein choices. My plate had swordfish, scallops, and a crab cake. The sides were included as well. Our server, Lexie, was awesome. Our glasses never went empty and our table was always clean. She also arranged for me to try a salsa that was served with an entree that I didn't order. The other staff helped as well with bringing us food and beverages, demonstrating a great synergy among the wait staff. This is a must try restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Blue Seafood and Spirits, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“surprisingly delicious!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very delicious food, service prompt and professional. Handmade dishes and very fresh. Worth going out for dinner,and spending the money!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Blue Seafood and Spirits, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't let the strip mall fool you...”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Blue is located in a strip mall, which for this urban dweller seems suspicious for a quality restaurant. But once inside, you are surrounded by a comfortable yet chic atmosphere. I was dining with my extended family. Although they don't take reservations, we called a day ahead and talked about the best time to come. When we arrived, they had a table for us. Even though this restaurant leans toward the upscale end of the spectrum, we found the service to be very accommodating for younger children. The food was delicious, with some very nice and creative options on the menu. I would dine here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennmike1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles T, Owner at Blue Seafood and Spirits, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Seafood and Spirits also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Blue Seafood and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing