We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
richmond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great rooms and ocean view. Music by the water and also great food.

No reason to leave the premises for anything.

Actually met Bria Kelly and her parents, who was a top ten finalists on the voice. She happened to be singing on the lawn area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdeertrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    506
    247
    163
    96
See reviews for
522
563
60
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean,quiet room.Great meeting facilities and terrific restaurant!Easy upgrade to ocean front room at a reasonable price with very friendly folks.Good,close parking.Catch 31 is a large,great! seafood restaurant where I love to visit each time I go to Va.Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate that you took the time from your busy day to comment about your positive experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent stay and facilities for our group of less than 300 attendees. Service and rooms were excellent, very capable banquet staff, restaurant and bar were well staffed. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Requested two rooms since I brought family with me. One room not ready until 6:30 pm. Staff rude and unhelpful. Heated pool not heated at all. Dinner was unpleasant due to waitress. She was visually upset that a family had entered the room. Not a place for family! Nice hotel in appearance and OK if you want to attend a meeting. Not a place for family. I would not recommend to anyone except business types.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are sorry that you had a bad experience during your recent stay with us. During the summer, 99% of our guests are families, and there are plenty of things to do. I am sorry that you didn’t find this to be so during your stay. Thank you for your comments about the pool. It allowed us to check to ensure that the pool’s heater was operational. Should you return, please let the front desk know that you are visiting with your family so that our staff can alert you of family orientated activities around the property.
Sincerely,
Dave Schaum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there over this Memorial Day weekend. The location is perfect, especially if you have small kids like us. There is a kids' play area right on the beach in front of the hotel, and the hotel is right on the beach and boardwalk. There are several restaurants and shops within walking distance. The restaurant itself has a great, but pricely restaurant. The staff were all very friendly. House keeping was excellent, and came early each morning to clean our room. The only down side is that the pool is very small and on the roof. There are only a few lounge chairs around it, so it's not the best place if you're looking for a nice pool where you can just relax. I would stay here, again, mainly because of the great location.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beach view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the time the valet greeted us at the door and we checked in, until we checked out, it was a nice experience. We arrived early for our room and were assured I would be sent a txt message when the room was ready. We went for a walk on the beach and finally at 4:30 we went back to the front desk and our room was ready (no message had been sent). We found out later we were supposed to have received a welcome package, so be sure to ask - local map, coupons, etc. But things went better from there. We stayed two nights in a club floor room. The room was spacious and clean with a nice balcony that looked out on the ocean with a couple of chairs and a small table - perfect for a cup of coffee in the morning. Beds were very comfortable and room had a refrigerator in it. Empyran Club room was worth the extra cost. Fresh brewed coffee every morning (a Starbucks machine that ground the beans and brewed the coffee). The machine produced lattes, cappuccinos, espressos even iced coffee. The continental breakfast was nice - lots of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, even deli meats for the heartier appetite. Evening happy hour had heavy hors d'ouevres and alcohol was available for purchase. Concierge desk was very nice. Offered us beach towels and coupons for free beach chairs - be sure to ask on your way to the beach so you don't track sandy towels back to your room. Dinner at Catch31 restaurant was nice. We were offered several choices of oysters, then told the ones we ordered weren't available. Bring us oysters! we declared. Okay not really. Oysters we received were fresh and delicious. Wait staff always seemed hurried but for the most part attentive. We ate there two nights and waitstaff was able to recommend wines to pair with our dinners. There was always a wait for a table - no reservations taken - but the wait was short. There is a night club on the top floor of the hotel and pool there during the day that we understand is nice, though we didn't check them out. This hotel was located right on the boardwalk on the northern end of Virginia Beach, so not quite so busy. We were very happy to see there were restaurants, shopping and a spa all within walking distance. Biggest complaint I had was that the room was reserved with one credit card and paid for with another - I was assured when I made the reservation that nothing would be charged to the credit card used to reserve the room unless we didn't show up. Receipt at checkout showed that the full amount had been charged on the correct credit card. When I returned home, I saw that the credit card used to reserve the room had been charged for one night of the stay. When I called the hotel directly they told me that they always charged the credit card used to reserve the room for one night if the hotel was booked up (though I would have no way of knowing this), but that a credit would be issued in 2-3 weeks. Essentially I stayed two nights, was charged for 3 nights, and assured of a refund 2-3 weeks later. The woman I spoke with in billing offered to call my bank to have the charge removed that day, which I had her do. Although it was off my card within the hour, I would have been very unhappy if I had had to wait 3 weeks! Be sure to check your account.

Room Tip: Be sure when booking a beach side hotel that you ask for a beach front room, not a beach view. Corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel so many times I have lost count. The fact that I continue to return speaks volumes. It is a great choice for Virginia Beach and I always love my time here. For this particular stay, the room was very clean, housekeeping was timely, and overall, no complaints. However, there are a few consistent issues that I have brought forward in the past (as have others) that never seem to be addressed. Perhaps they are not of importance to the hotel, but these few minor changes could make this place a true gem at the beach.

The hotel is somewhat apathetic to early check in requests. Yes, I fully understand that this cannot be guaranteed or accomodated on every visit, but I do think more effort should be made, particularly for HH gold and platinum members, particularly those who are extremely frequent visitors to this establishment. Each time I stay, I note my request on the form, and call the front desk first thing in the a.m. to let them know I am on my way in hopes that housekeeping might be alerted to the request. However, each time it is always the same old story. The front desk appears to be completely unaware of my request, and it's always, "I'm sorry, we do not have anything ready" (even in the off season). I just find this extremely hard to believe given the volume of stays I have had at this hotel. One would think that a room would be available at least once in a blue moon. To their credit, I will say that "most" times, I do get in a bit before check-in time which is greatly appreciated. In comparison, each time I have visited the Oceanaire hotel, I am greeted at the reception desk with an acknowledgement that they are fully aware of my check in preferences and either have a room available or are working on it as we speak. Hotels need to understand how much this means to their guests when they make this extra effort. Either way, even without the early check-in, Hilton is great about allowing full use of the hotel facilities while you wait.

My other long standing issue has been with the pool area. I truly cannot understand why a resort of this caliber does not have better food service at the pool - particularly when there are two full service restaurants in the hotel. The very few items they have on the menu are pre-made in advance. For the second year in a row, I ordered a fruit and cheese platter only to be told that they could not serve that to me because they had run out of cheese. Really? No cheese with full service restaurants downstairs. Truly, no excuse. They brought out a plain fruit platter to see if I would like to purchase that instead (minus the cheese). This consisted of some poor looking, watery fruit rolling around in a plastic tray. Of course, I declined. I decided to order the ham and cheese wrap. Again, this was pre-made and the wrap was completely wet and soggy from sitting (for how long, I do not know). I stay at many beachfront resorts, and most typically go to the other extreme of pushing food and beverage to the poolside vacationer. This is clearly not a priority at this hotel, and I see it as such a tremendous loss of potential revenue. This is of course of no fault of the poolside staff, as they were all very friendly.

Finally, this hotel is also supposed to be 100% non-smoking, yet, smoking is allowed at the pool. No offense to smokers (I am a former one myself), but even though it is an outside space, the pool/lounging area is extremely small and it's not pleasant to be surrounded by smoke. I can understand smoking at the poolside bar, but I do not think ashtrays should be distributed and folks allowed to smoke in the lounge chairs that are all right on top of each other.

Again, the issues noted above are fairly minor and would only enhance the experience if changes were made. Otherwise, I had another great stay with no real complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OneHotelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing