We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a year it went from amazing to awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from the annual Virginia tour. First stop was Hilton Garden Inn in Williamsburg which was pristine. Then did a 3 night stay in VA beach at the Hilton. We were very impressed by the Hilton Oceanfront last year so we returned. I'm a huge Hilton fan...Diamond Honors member so of course I get VIP treatment. The rate given the peak of summer was over $300/night and not worth half of that. The room was gross with multiple stains on pillow cases and sheets. I can tolerate stains on stuff that's permanent, but sheets and pillow cases are disposable. C'mon! So because of my diamond status, we could get into the Empyrian club which is an exclusive place to get food / drinks as needed. The food consisted of nuts, cookies, and a few pieces of fruit and soft drinks. If you get there at the wrong time, you're not getting a table or food to eat. The kids could only eat so many handful of nuts and cookies so we had to hit up the restaurants in the hotel. They claim to be 4 or 5 star but are just awful. The breakfast is as basic as can be and there were bugs EVERYWHERE. Inside or outside...flies, fruit flies, and mosquitoes. Just disgusting and not even attempting to be good food or unique. The steakhouse and catch 31 are equally bland and no where near what they pump them up to be. So disappointing. We skipped the restaurants last year...
Also, beware - you pay nearly $500 per night to get timeshare marketed a lot. Not sure why they allow this.

Then there is the pools. Freezing cold and gross. The water looked like there was something toxic about it. There are waiters that never once engaged us to see if we needed anything.

The beach and weather was nice, but beware of the beach umbrella/chair guys. They are super shady. Tell them you're a guest at the hilton and they'll get you some chairs. The guy who runs it constantly uses racial slurs to describe patrons which was really awkward. Saw them charge a woman $75 for an umbrella and 2 chairs. That just seems ridiculous for stuff you can buy at a dollar store for $10.

Very disappointed in this Hilton - the first time I've ever had to talk bad about a Hilton. We wished we had spent the whole trip at the Garden Inn in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you and your family encountered during your recent stay. Each one of your comments will be used as a training resource to help improve our overall guest satisfaction. I agree that the stained pillow cases and sheets are unacceptable, and I am sorry to hear about your ruined dining experience. With the influx of traffic through the restaurant doors due to the popular outdoor seating area, it is hard to control insects that come in; however, we have measures in place to minimize them. Also, please note that the pool water is checked every two hours and because of your comments we are re-visiting our process and may implement a more aggressive schedule. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Dave Schaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,976)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay: The facilities are top notch; the location is the best you can find in VA Beach; and the employees are wonderful.

At this hotel, we encountered the best bellhops in the business. They were the NICEST, most helpful, and happiest we have ever encounter. Waldorf-Astoria, these bellhops would give you a run for your money. Lucas welcomed us when we arrived. He managed to get the luggage for our two families in one cart; no clue how he did it. He was so proud of himself. (see photo) Ryan, John, and this other wonderful guy (can't remember his name) packed us back into our car at departure time.

If you want to know anything about bikes in VA beach, these are the guys to talk to. They are all avid bikers and know everything there is to know about biking in Va Beach.

This is clearly a place where employees are treated well and enjoy their job. It sure translates into superb customer service. From the housekeepers, to the receptionists, the the pool side attendants, every one was wonderful! Could not have asked for more.

My only gripe is that the restaurant at the hotel is the ONLY decent place to eat around there. We asked to be put on the list at five and were told that we did not need to. If we showed up by 7:00 PM we would get it. Well we did, and were not given a table until 10:00 PM. Way too late for young kids. We all ended up going to bed without dinner. However, the next morning we had breakfast there and I enjoyed the best Eggs Benedict that I have ever had.

I also wish the pool-side menu was a little more extensive and offered more choices. What we had though, was top quality.

Room Tip: Anywhere where you can see the ocean. We had a corner room and had a superb view of the boardwalk...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MacVA175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind comments, and we are delighted that you were pleased with our customer service. I have shared your comments with the Hilton team and in particular, the bellhop crew was happy to hear your comments. I am sorry to hear that you missed dinner one evening because of the late seating, and I do want to apologize to you and your family. Thank you again for your comments, and we sincerely look forward to having you back soon.
Dave Schaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The pool was disgusting you could tell the pool was turning yellow especially because all the toddlers and kids being in the hot tub. My whole family actually got a rash from the pool. The receptionists were very rude especially the supervisor. The hotel looks bigger on the website than in person. The rooms are too cramped up and so is the skybar at all times. The waiters at the downstairs restaurant were very slow and they forgot our orders. Its not family oriented the skybar at 10 is only for people over the age of 21.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakira23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong u can never go wrong with the Hilton just beware of any extra charges on your account they tried to get an extra 100 but it was resolved. The staff is very nice and kind and will never not help infact if you look a bit lost they will come to you and help asap. The location is amazing and the jets from the air force base nearby make it a thrill to sit on your balcony

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessejamessmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

no free breakfast and no free wi-fi. Very sketchy room service (maybe you get it in a timely manner and maybe you get it cold over 30 minutes later than advised with dirty dishes) and breakfast in hotel restaurant is not good even though you are paying premium prices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Your comments regarding your recent stay are appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you received cold food and the restaurant did not meet your expectations. The Room Service team is aware of the timeliness of food delivery, and it is on the forefront for further training. On your next visit, please be aware that the hotel does offer free Wi-Fi 24/7 in our business center. It is also offered on the first floor lobby and second floor public areas. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Dave Schaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

There's no shortage of hotels on the beach and many of them are fine places to stay, but the Hilton is clearly at the top of the class. My wife and I have stayed here many times over the years and have never been disappointed. Check in was easy, no line for the elevator and the room was clean and comfy. The beach is right outside the lobby and we appreciated the complimentary towels. The valet service is prompt and courteous but you can also self park for the half the price and access to the car is easy via a second floor walkway over the busy Main Street (we opted for the valet anyway). The in house restaurants, Catch 31 and Salacia, are much better than what you normally find in a hotel, but there are better choices elsewhere in VB.

Our only problem with our stay was that the adjacent room was occupied by *several* or maybe a half dozen, young men who were creating quite a ruckus past midnight. Yes, even at the Hilton's Club Level, you will experience some of this nonsense. Fortunately, we called security and they responded in minutes and resolved the problem.

Easy access, super clean hotel, perfect location: we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Club level (floors 18 and higher) offer free snacks and non alcoholic drinks in the 21st floor loung...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gunner4id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront through the years. We are sincerely grateful for your loyalty and praise regarding your recent stay. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Regards,
Dave Schaum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a little more than an average beachfront choice. Room was clean upon arrival. Room service was on time. Loved the outdoor bar, food and music. Had a terrific seafood tower for lunch. Ice machine broken on 17th floor. Requested for room to be serviced mid afternoon. Coffee delivered and cup was dirty. Was credited and most apologetic.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Schaum1, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are making every effort to ensure the room service misstep does not occur in the future, and I am glad to hear that we could help make it right. Hope to see you again very soon.
Dave Schaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
772 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £110 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing