We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated & Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marjac Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marjac Suites
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outdated & Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel is old and needs major renovations. When the air conditioner was loud and making funny noises, or when you we kept complaining because the bathroom drain, or the sink, or even the toilet was continually blocked; it was the same story, "I will send someone to take a look".

I believe someone did come to take a look... that was once maybe twice... and as soon as that person left the problem returned.

The only time we saw the manager/owner smile was when we were handing him the money. Otherwise his face was more like, don't bother me!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel where you are appreciated as a customer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happey_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    71
    38
    39
    93
See reviews for
164
34
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The good: The staff was friendly, polite and helpful; the hotel is beachfront.

The Not-so-good: Parking is tight and limited but that is the case all over Virginia Beach. Our first experience in this place was to get stuck in the elevator for 20 minutes right after we checked in. It was hot and uncomfortable. There is only one small capacity elevator for the whole place and it was very slow. After that, we took the stairs the rest of the week. To be honest, there is a sign posted with the maximum elevator capacity (I think it is 5 people). Do yourself a favor and keep it to 4 people and 3 if they have luggage.

This is an old building in need of upgrades and renovation. Furniture is outdated and cheap.
Our suite didn't look very clean - carpet was creepy and the hard floors looked like they needed mopping so we kept our shoes on the whole time. Bed sheets were thin and so dingy, I felt compelled to wash them before we slept. Then there were the bugs. Just keep your suitcase zipped up!

The lamps had low watt light bulbs so we couldn't see inside the closet. It also made it impossible to read in the bedroom and also contributed the overall drab look of the suite.

Although the balcony overlooked the beach, the air conditioner equipment below was so loud that we couldn't sit out there and have a conversation without shouting at each other let alone enjoy the sound of the ocean waves. We kept the sliding door closed the whole time to avoid the noise -what a waste of beachfront property!

Bottom line, we won’t stay there again.

Room Tip: Book it at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have decided to give this hotel a four rating relative to the price and type of hotel. Positives include:

- very courteous staff, accomodating
- sufficient parking
- off season rates are very affordable - AAA rate was $60 weekday, $75 weekend (plus tax)
- ocean view rooms
- rooms include bedroom with two doubles, living area with a sofa bed, full kitchen, balcony
- great location on the boardwalk just off of 21st st
- walking distance to lots of shops
- pool
- bike rentals out back

minor issues
- wifi did not work in our room but worked intermittently at other rooms
- don't expect courtyard at marriott like rooms, but again great for the price
- the hotel is closing for the season in mid-october (for the first time ever), so I hope you get to enjoy it for one last weekend! I wish the staff the best in finding other jobs in or out of the area
- no restaurant, but close enough to others on Atlantic ave

Give the opportunity we will seriously consider heading back to the Marjac soon! Thanks again to the staff for a pleasant stay,

Room Tip: Seventh floor has great views (sunrise and sunset). No ice machine on this floor, only on some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We just stayed at Marjac Suites on oct 3-7 2013. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms are great since they have a separate bedroom and large living room and kitchen area. The living room faces the ocean. There are a lot of places around for food, drinks, and fun. The building and small elevator is old, but the room had new updates like flooring, countertops, etc. The price was a lot better than the surrounding hotels.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the reviews complaining about it being too old. It's really fine unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a nice stay at the Marjac at very reasonable price. When we go to the beach we always want an ocean front view with a balcony which we got at the Marjac. The constant roar of the cooling equipment on the ocean side of the build made it difficult to have a conversation on the balcony much less enjoy the sound of the ocean. Other than the wasteful shower heads that's our only complaint.

Room Tip: Get a room on the quieter north end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritiville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

When we booked our stay, I read the reviews online. I was very concerned that it was going to be a bad experience.
The negative reviews proved wrong. This hotel is very clean and very nice. Hotel staff was excellent. And the view was beautiful. I would come back here again and again. And, the elevator is not that bad. The steps are right beside it. We used them except when we carried our luggage up. Thanks MARJAC for a great birthday weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missbutterbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our first time at virginia beach. Loved location. It was convenient to everything. Was very clean. Affordable rates. would definitely stay here again. desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I liked how bedroom was to itself away from kitchen&living room area. Was also great to have 2 televisions in different rooms at end of late evenings on the beach. I would reccommend this for a nice stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#64 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjac Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjac Suites

Property: Marjac Suites
Address: 2201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marjac Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marjac Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjac Hotel Virginia Beach
Marjac Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing