We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed several days at this hotel while visiting family in the area. The best thing about this hotel is its location and the large family-style suites. A decent breakfast is provided each morning free of charge. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay. Once we had to move to a new room due to plumbing issues and the hotel staff immediately helped us with the move. The location is great and all rooms have ocean views and balconies. The balconies are really not functional due to their small size. I was aware that this was a pet-friendly hotel, although we did not have a pet. We did refuse the first room offered to us as it truly smelled of pet urine. So my only caution about this hotel is to be sure that it does not smell like a pet if you find this offensive. Otherwise, the staff, location, and room layouts are great.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 6th floor tend to have less "pet smells."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosegardener11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. I assure you that we try and make sure that rooms are properly cleaned after every stay. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    171
    65
    37
    10
See reviews for
327
144
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have stayed at this Residence Inn many times in the past 5+ years and have written many reviews on this property as well.

LOCATION: The hotel is located on the boardwalk and the beach, next to Neptune Park. Conveniently located to a lot of restaurants. It is also located toward the end of the boardwalk. This part of the boardwalk is much nicer with nicer hotel.

PARKING: Onsite parking is available, but limited. If there is no parking, they have a valet parking service that is free, but I do recommend tipping since the valet guy will drive your car to the parking garage a block away and walk back. I didn't use the valet service during my stay, but I have in the past, and the valet guy was always very polite.

ROOMS: All the rooms in this hotel is oceanfront with balcony. Each room is equipped with a fully functional kitchen - coffee maker, toaster oven, dishwasher, sink, microwave, refrigerator, pots, dishes, utensil, towels, paper towels, and dish detergent for the machine.

BATHROOM: Plenty of bath towels (4 by default), and there are some more in the drawers under the bathroom sink. I like that they started placing extra towels in the drawer. I don't need to bother the maid for extra towels if I don't want my room clean at all during my 3-4 night stay. They offer Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner, and also, they also offers lotion, bath soap and facial soap. The hairdryer is full size, not the tiny little one that hangs on the wall found in most hotels.

BALCONY: The balconies on the 2nd floor are larger to accommodate people with wheelchair, and they have a full size round table and 4 chairs - all plastic and white. The 3rd floor and up have a much smaller balcony that barely fits 2 chairs and a small end table - all plastic and white. The only complain I have is that the patio furniture is always very dirty from being outside. This time, I mentioned to the front desk during check out recommending that they wipe the chairs and table down after check-out. Hopefully, they will take my suggestion and that I'll find the table and chairs somewhat clean to use.

PETFRIENDLY: YES YES YES. This is pretty much the main reason why I seek out Residence Inn to stay at when I plan my trips. Almost all of them are petfriendly. The pet fee at this hotel is $100 per stay. There were many dogs staying at this hotel every time I stayed there. It's nice to see other little 4-legged guests on vacation. Sometimes there would be a 4-legged guest(s) that would barking in their room late at night or in the morning. That can be annoying if it is excessive, but I haven't experienced excessive barking from another room during any of my stay at this hotel.

ROOM LAYOUT: The bedroom has a door that separates the living room/kitchen and the bedroom/bathroom. It has 2 flatscreen TVs - one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Most rooms have a work desk. This time, I stayed in the room for wheelchair and hearing impairing guests, and I noticed that the work table was missing. It wasn't a concern for me since I don't need it, but it would have been nice to have the extra space to put things.

OVERALL experience of this stay:

Of the many times I stayed at the hotel, there was a prior visit where the carpet was stained all over with pet urine and furniture and drapes were marked. It was pretty gross even though the carpet was cleaned. I don't understand those pet owners who would travel with their pets that marks or pee everywhere and don't do anything to prevent urine getting onto the carpet or furniture. Anyway, fortunately, the carpet has been replaced in this hotel, and when I walked into my room, the room smelled very fresh.

This is the first time that I checked out with a list of issues that I found in the room. The issues are tolerable, and I wrote down a list of them, and gave it to the receptionist at the front desk. Hopefully, the repairman and housekeeping will take notes, and ensure this will not happen again.

Some of the issues that I've encountered during my stay included:
- the microwave was not clean
- the utensils had food on them - I had to soak them before I could get the food off them. I recommend always washing the dishes and utensils prior to using them no matter where you go and which hotel you stay at.
- as I mentioned before, the patio furniture was so dirty that I didn't make any attempt to wash them. i didn't use them at all because of it.
- one of the bath towel had dirty (some black particle fell on it), and when the maid came to replace the dirty towel, she either didn't notice or didn't bother replacing this towel. But then, the towel was hanging on the rack. I am surprised she didn't notice it. It was quite obvious.
- there was a stain on the shower curtain and a little hole in its lining.
- the cap on the stopper in the sink came loose.
- during my stay, I caught a child throwing ice cubes over the balcony from the 8th floor, and the ice-cubes landed on my balcony. Fortunately, my dog or I wasn't out there. I did stand outside and waiting for more ice-cube to fall, and when I caught her, she stopped. Then the next morning, I found popcorn and a plastic soda bottle on my balcony (fell from the sky). I also found dog toys - that I think it's cute - on my balcony. They were all returned to their 4-legged owners.

I was really surprised to run into so many issues, but because of my previous visits that were so pleasant, I just provided a list of issues at check-out.

I still highly recommend this hotel. The rate is reasonable and you'll get a suite instead of just a hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate that our guest care about our establishment and are willing to take the time to let us know when there is something wrong . Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach, Thank you for choosing Residence Inn by Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My girlfriend and I went to a conference over the weekend and stayed at the Residence Inn Atlantic Ave and it was a great experience. The customer service was great. I would like to thank Patrick and Julius for their great attitude and customer service excellence.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stay at Marriott properties around the nation every week and have done so for years. I have never felt a need to complain until I stayed at this hotel. Here's why:
1. If you stay here and leave something behind in your room, don't expect to ever see it again.
2. If you want to get a call back from housekeeping or the Manager (Julius) to help find the items you left in your room, don't expect a call back for 10 days and until you contact Marriott Headquarters to force them to call you back.
3. If you expect professional courteous service and assistance, don't contact Adriana at the front desk. She went off on me when I simply said I was returning her call. She interrupted me and denied ever calling me, rudely, and abruptly. Why, I don’t know. She was out of line and completely unprofessional.

I'm very disappointed in the experience at this hotel. I already complained to Marriott Customer Service. I am in the process of tracking down the hotel ownership as well, as I believe this is a franchised location, and the ownership needs to know about this experience.

My advice - don't stay here. The staff makes this a bad choice. They took zero accountability for a lost article I left behind in the room, even though they first left me a voicemail within an hour of checkout to tell me the article was left behind, then avoided me for 10 days when I would call back. They later said they did not have it and that Adriana did not call me, even though Marriott HQ even said you could clearly tell her voice matched the voicemail message. Julius and Adriana tried to tell me I was wrong and did not lift a finger to try to figure the situation out or even admit that they lost it. Inexcusable.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vistor500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We apologize that you feel the situation was not handled correctly. Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Va Beach for 3 nights. I can't say enough about the service from the staff at this hotel, especially from the nice young lady who provided breakfast. From Valet parking to the front desk, everything was just as it should be. Very clean facility, and even the other guests were polite and friendly. Parking is limited, but they guarantee you a spot. Sorry we had to come home so soon. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank You so much for your comments, we are always happy to please our guest. We hope that in the future you will continue to make our property your home away from home. Thank You for choosing marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed in Virginia Beach for the first time last week. Picked the hotel as they appeared to be very dog friendly and they were! Service was great - friendly, Patrick was excellent - all was extra special, from the front desk, to the wonderful maid and the valet parking. Very clean hotel. Value was also very good - the location was perfect right on the beautiful beach.

Cindy

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and all was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank You so much for your wonderful comments, I am so glad that we were able to meet your standards. We hope that in the future you will continue to make our property your home away from home. Thank You for choosing marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This oceanfront hotel is very well kept and convenient if you like to walk. We walked to many different excellent restaurants for lunch and/or dinner. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff was very nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank You so much for your comments, I am so glad that we were able to meet your standards. We hope that in the future you will continue to make our property your home away from home. Thank You for choosing marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing