We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I loved the Residence Inn. Beds were comfortable and view spectacular ! . The AC was too loud in the bedroom and when you were sitting on the balcony it blew hot air on you .Those are my two only complaints.We just turned off the air while we were sitting out there . The baconys are small but ok . Having a kitchen was great as we enjoyed nights of take out from across the street.
Breakfast was delicious and staff friendly and always helpful .

Room Tip: Take chairs and umbrellas for the beach. To rent is costly. I enjoyed being on the 8th floor but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful Review. I am happy to see that you was able to enjoy your stay. . Our team look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

If we could, we would really rate this 3.5 stars, but it's definitely closer to 4 than it is to 3. We like the location as the north side is definitely more family friendly and has less of a "spring break" feel. The room was nicely decorated, newly updated and having the full kitchen (minus oven) is always a plus. We really wish the balcony had extended all the way to the bedroom, but it still provided a nice view. The lobby, eating area and pool were small. Housekeeping wasn't especially thorough. The nearby restaurants were fair, but if you are willing to venture 10 minutes away into town, the food is much better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lok1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your great review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here on the weekend after Memorial Day, figuring we could avoid the large crowds and find a good deal. We picked the Residence Inn based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor and came into our stay with relatively high expectations.

Two great things stuck out immediately: the friendly staff and the complementary valet. However, a few issues kept me from giving it a higher rating. First, our room had a damp, musky smell that lingered throughout our entire stay. Second, the AC unit is pretty loud and located conveniently right next to the bed. Finally, and most frustratingly, I tried to sleep in both mornings I stayed here, only to be woken up around 9:30am each morning by room service. On each occasion, and after yelling "no thank you," the maid actually walked into our room. Apparently you have to sign a paper saying you don't want service. Each time this required me to get out of bed, get dressed, and fill our her form. A simple "No thanks" should be enough to keep someone from walking into your living room.

I'll give this hotel 4 stars because it's in VA Beach. If it were any where else, I would get an Average rating. I will most likely stay somewhere else next time I visit VAB. At over $600 for the weekend, the value was just not there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to hear that my staff failed to meet your expectations as well as the expectations of Marriott . We will use your comments as a learning tool to help us improve for all of our guests. We hope you join us again to see how your comments help us improve. I thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonerful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As everyone has said Patrick and his staff are great. He does lead by example. First trip to a Residence Inn and it is now our favorite. You can tell everyone takes pride in their work.
Dog places to try with outside dining......Leaping Lizards and Taste on Shore drive...app. 12 mi from hotel. They both use local produce.There is also Margie and Rays near Sandbridge. They have the best seafood ever. Doughboys and Ben and Jerry's are right across from the hotel along with a coffee place ,small food mart for essentials and an Italian Restaurant. The reason I tell you this is because parking spots are at a premium. This hotel will also buy your groceries and charge them to your room....you never have to leave. Also next door at another hotel they have a nice lunch menu.
Bella says to tell you; we will be back. Say hi to everyone at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Papx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful Review. I am happy to see that you was able to enjoy your stay. our guest are the most important to us and we strive for nothing short of excellence.I am only as good as my staff and im so thankful to have great people working with me to make our hotel a success. Our team look forward to your return. Please tell bella hello for us all Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We picked the Residence Inn Virginia Beach because it was ocean front and they accept dogs. From the minute we checked in we were welcomed by the staff behind the desk with a warm welcome and so was our beagle Lacey. They came out and played with her and gave her a treat...friends forever!!! Everyone who works at this hotel was amazing. The room on the 12th floor was just beautiful...the view is amazing and the sunrise you will see each morning is like a Hallmark Card.... They served a very nice breakfast each morning and had events scheduled for evenings also. I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed the week before Memorial Day and was allowed to take our dog on the boardwalk and on the beach. I think the entire hotel came that week with their dogs because we met one friendly dog and owner every time we rode the elevator or was in the lobby. Also the kitchen in each room is just great....bigger than we thought...and equipped with everything you would need.

Room Tip: Every room has an amazing view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are constantly striving to provide our guest with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We hope to see you again whenever you are in Virginia Beach! thank You for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The title says it all! Patrick and his team were so welcoming. Great room on the 10th floor. Clean, spotless, spacious and comfortable. We took our dog and were concerned the rooms may have an odour. No worries there and we didn't hear one dog barking in a room. We arrived May 5 and the appertizers in the breakfast room that night were nice after a long drive. They were enough for our evening meal!
One morning we left our dog in the room while we nipped out for an hour. The maid will not clean unless the dog is crated, (understandable) but she left a note to call when we returned and they came right up. Breakfast was great and love the fresh coffee in the lobby at any time. Truly we can't wait to return. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beautiful boardwalk and beach. With a higher floor you may hear less of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westwind2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am lucky to have a team that is remarkable and talented. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After careful consideration and deciding to stay on the North Beach end of VA Beach, my husband and I decided on Residence Inn for our anniversary vacation...Having stayed at another hotel in May 2013 in the middle of the VA Beach Oceanfront, we wanted to stay on the North End this year for a little more quiet and more upscale. Upon entering the hotel on our check in we were greeted by such friendly and attentive staff. Everyone in the hotel were pleasant and always accommodating to our needs. Too many names to mention but the entire front desk staff and valet men are what every hotel should have and they were WONDERFUL!!! The room was clean...Air Conditioner was tempermental...Breakfast was a nice plus...Parking was tight and limited spaces but not to worry because valet would park your vehicle and it was complimentary...View from our balcony over the ocean was beautiful...Highly recommend this hotel to everyone... Such a great anniversary vacation and we plan on visiting again...

Room Tip: This hotel is all Oceanfront so the views are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you was able to enjoy your stay. our guest are the most important to us and we strive for nothing short of excellence.We are constantly striving to provide our guest with the most comfortable and friendly environment possible. Positive guest comments, such as yours, are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve..We look forward to your return the next time you are in town. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#35 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oceanfront
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oce...
#5 of 109 in Virginia Beach
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2936
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £92 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront is an extended-stay hotel on Virginia Beach in Virginia. Our hotel lets you thrive on long stays, whether you have come to Virginia Beach for a wedding, vacation or business trip. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodations at a superb value. Our all-suite hotel offers beautiful guest rooms that are spacious and well designed to provide you with a memorable and pleasurable stay in Virginia Beach. Guest suites feature spectacular views, furnished oceanfront balconies, modern appointments and full kitchens. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, an indoor pool, a fitness center and guest laundry at our hotel. We also provide valet parking, a complimentary daily hot breakfast, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing