We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from balcony of beach and boardwalk”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel has a wonderful view of Virginia Beach and the boardwalk from the balcony for each unit. It is toward the north end of the beach close to the Neptune statue. It is an older time share property. The rooms are very basic but clean. We had a king suite for three people, which included one bedroom, a living room, and small kitchen area. The balcony covered both the living room and bedroom with sliding doors, which was nice. The kitchen was updated with plenty of good quality dishes, pots and pans and utensils to use. The only items missing in the kitchen was a large pitcher for drink mixes and a large size collander (they had a very small one to use). There was a full stove, microwave, refrigerator and a small dishwasher. Dish liquid and dishwasher detergent was provided. Overall, the kitchen was very good for fixing meals. In the living room there was a sofa bed and several small chairs to use for the dining table, a table for dining which stores itself under the TV stand, and a flat screen TV with a DVD and VHS player. Since there were three in our family, the room really needed another comfortable chair to sit in for viewing the TV, as it was very crowded on the small sofa bed for three people. The bathroom was interesting--it had a large whirlpool tub with a large mirror next to it. I did not like the mirror next to the tub and there was no fan in the bathroom either. The sink area was outside the bedroom and it was very small. The bedroom had a large king size bed and another flat screen TV, as well as an iHome for your iPod. Everything was clean in the unit, and we had plenty of towels to use each day. The hotel does not have wireless internet, but you can purchase an ethernet cable at the front desk to connect to their high-speed internet. My daughter brought her own ethernet cable, and was able to access the internet without any problems.

The people at the front desk were very nice and welcoming. The parking garage isquite tight and only good if you have a small car. We never had trouble finding a space, but I didn't really want to take my car out too much, because of how small the spaces were.

There were only a few things I didn't like about this hotel. The carpet in the rooms was clean, but older and not a great color. The decor in the rooms was pretty boring as well. Our room was right above the pool area and at times we could smell the chlorine from inside our room. The indoor pool looked green and had a strong smell of chlorine, so we did not use it for this reason. I would definitely request a room not near the pool.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel because of the convenience of having a full kitchen, the wonderful view from the balcony, and its location on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carcode7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

It look home with nothing changed on 4 years.no wireless in room.carpets are getting old. At balcony I found plenty killed insects and hair.staf is good and helpful but check your bill before you leave, they always make mistakes.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Halogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just came back from a two night stay. Great location, spotless rooms, reasonably priced, large and spacious balconies, super location toward the north end of the Boardwalk, and above all, very gratious and accommodating resort staff. We had to make last minute changes to our reservation because of unexpected events and staff at the front desk went above and beyond. Very positive vibe from housekeeping as well. My only caution would be to echo what others have said about the tight parking - the smaller the vehicle, the better.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank qcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Clean, clean, clean!! I wore socks and no shoes around the room and the socks didn't even look like they had been worn! And the off-season rates were amazing! Great view, relaxing, good sleep. What more could you ask. The parking deck was a little tight ... but at least they had one!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngTnVols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Four Sails surpassed our expectations. We have stayed at many places at the beach but Four Sails will be our future loaction. An older time share property that is well kept and fits the bill. The rates are good and all units are ocean front with large balconies. The parking is complimentary and there is a restaurant on the premisses.
All rooms have large jacuzzis and complete kitchen facilities. There are 2 flat screen Tv's and cd player. The bath has an easy access from bedroom and living froom which as a fold out couch. The indoor pool as well as the proximity to the ocean are great.
What a great find!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Listen, this place has to be the best hands down! The staff is friendly, courteous and goes out of your way to accommodate you. The hotel is clean, the grandchildren love it! We recently stayed with Four Sails and again the room was excellent, well stocked and conveniently located at the end of the strip. The price...well you can't beat it. My only complaint would be get some Wi-Fi, but I can live without it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsGMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Before staying at the Four Sails, I had done some research in the area to see where you could really get your best bang for your buck and stay right on the beach. Early on the Four Sails jumped off the page but unlike the other hotels in the area, this is not a national chain and it was hard to figure out if I should only believe the good reviews or the bad reviews. In the end I decided to give it a shot and thankfully I made the right decision. My wife and I traveled with our toddler age son and we had a great time.

Check in was very quick and easy, they were even able to supply us with a crib for our son. While the parking may be considered tight, there is garage on-site which some hotels on Virginia Beach do not have. The covered parking was very nice especially during the thunderstorm that came through the area on Saturday night. The rooms are very basic but clean, there is plenty of room to store any food you bring and they supplied enough dishes for us to use the entire weekend.

Our room had an ocean front balcony that could be accessed from the bed room or the family room. The only minor downside of our room was the noise that could be heard from the indoor pool which was on the floor below us and would impact the 4th through 6th floors, but we didn't hear the noise past 9 pm on either night we were there.

The room included 2 flat screen tvs, a dvd/vcr player (the front desk has movies to rent), a stereo and all seemed pretty well kept. The TV had all of the standard and basic cable stations including a few stations in HD.

The location was really amazing, while it is just north of some of the older, well known Virginia Beach hotels and restaurants, there is a lot of new restaurants, hotels and shops coming to this area. The Oceans 31 development is a couple blocks away and it includes a couple of fantastic restaurants and Neptune park is just a couple blocks away as well. Also Pi-Zzeria and Casby's Tapas Bar and Grill are right across the street.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back in the fall.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egoldscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing