We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th of July Beach Vacation”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“4th of July Beach Vacation”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

From mom:
---------------
It meets the basic needs for a family. Not overly fancy, but clean and functional. Hotel lobby and halls are no frill. Free bicycles. chairs and beach supplies were available. Huge over-sized jacuzzi tub in the room was very nice. View from room was beautiful.

From dad:
-------------
Overall, great experience!

Parking garage is challenging and can get a little stressful when full. The turns are tight and the spaces are small. If you park and leave your vehicle mostly, it's fine though. We walked most places.

The staff is friendly and for the most part professional. Sam and Casey (spelling?) were great.

We had a one bedroom ocean front suite. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. There is a small but functional kitchen. There's no dining area per say, but a pull out desk/table will hold 4 people. There's also a small bar with 2 chairs. The bed was very good. The size of the room was a little surprising, but I suspect the hotel is older and was probably standard size when built.

The view from the 9th floor was spectacular. Imagine full moons, warm ocean breezes and an ocean view that goes on forever. The balcony actually extends across the two rooms so is quite large.

AC was excellent. It was truly frosty in our room and in the high 90s outside.

Maid service was very good - they probably spent a 1/2 hour cleaning our room. We had lots of towels.

The location of the hotel is terrific. It's right on the boardwalk and easy to walk to restaurants, etc.

You could rent movies and there were activities for the kids though we didn't participate.

There's only one elevator and it can take a while to get places. Stairs are always available.

The bill was exactly as expected. No surprises. Overall, a wonderful family vacation!


From kids:
--------------
Liked it a lot- good location! Good beach supplies. Convenient with the kitchen, DVD movies.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTrips411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    116
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
141
129
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed here for the first time last week. Booked based on TA reviews and price. Was not disappointed. Rooms are clean, kitchen well equipped. Housekeeping showed up every day offering extra towels, paper towels, etc. Bed is firm but comfortable; sofa bed not so much. Would work fine for kids. Free crib, bikes, chairs, umbrellas, sand toys. Nice view from the balcony. Lots of families, older couples. Great location close to restaurants and shopping. Pool area small but clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking garage is tight on the first two floors, open on the top floor. Did not eat at the restaurant. We were never approached by Timeshare staff.

Room Tip: We had no problem with the elevator wait time, but could be an issue during high season. Might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank OHIOMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Wow, what a great place! Rooms were perfect. We stayed in a single room suite. Kitchen, fully stocked with every type of dish and glass ware you could want. Dishwasher, ice maker in freezer.

Balcony over looking the ocean was perfect. Located right on the boardwalk but at the more quiet end. The crazy side of the boardwalk is past the Hilton and it gets a little loud with the clubs and live music. Fine to walk down too, but I was glad our hotel was at the opposite end.

Bed was very comfortable and the rooms are well insulated. Could hear a thing! Also, there is a fold out couch in the living room. If you wanted to sleep out there by the balcony, you could easily.

They had all kinds of bikes you could borrow for free, Water toys and some chairs. There was a restaurant downstairs which seemed good for bfast or lunch. Didn't get a chance to try it though.

Also take advantage of the coupon books they have at the front desk. We saw those after we spent $ at sunsations and there was a $10 coupon in there.

Any time we had an encounter with staff they were nice.

Jacuzzi tub was nice. It's in the bathroom. We were so busy enjoying the beach though we only tried it once.

Clean. They change the sheets every 3 days, which was fine with us. They have extra sheets in the room plus you can ask them to change them more frequently. Lots of towels.

Really a perfect stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marialikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have a timeshare at Four Sails. I absolutely love this resort. After 1 1-week stay I bought my timeshare. It is used every year by myself and members of my family. If it's a place you will be returning to, do a timeshare, it will be paid for over and over again as there are good prices to be had. After 3 1-week stays you may as well say mind paid for itself. Staff is friendly and professional, location is perfect (1 block from Neptune statue and concerts), right on the beach and 2 balconies. All the kitchen needs are there and wrapped individually in plastic. Not the newest place in Va. Beach but larger than some of the newer ones and extremely clean. Yes parking garage is small but I have a van and have no trouble. Enjoy the Four Sails Resort.

Room Tip: For privacy from the boardwalk gawkers I'd recommend staying above the 3rd floor at least. My t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshiffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with 5 yr old and 2 yr old. We had a king suite and the room itself had ample space for the 3 of us. It could stand some updating but it is quite adequate especially for the price and compared to other oceanfront rooms/suites at other hotels you cannot go wrong with staying at Four Sails. Kithcen is fully equipped with everything you need so save some $$$ and bring your own food, snacks and drinks. The hotel also had free bikes to ride, beach chairs & umbrellas and beach toys for the kids which was a nice extra. The pool is pretty small and we could not use it becasue the kids were too little for me to handle both at once. Also, I do not recommend the restaurant in the lobby as the food is not very tasteful. Overall though, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are directly in front of the pool and could possibly be loud depending on who's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
474 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

For a beach location, could not be better. Great view of the boardwalk and ocean from our balcony and well located to walk/bike to a lot of attractions/restaurants along the boardwalk. Our 1 bedroom is adequate for the two of us, and would work for children also, but I would not want to have two more adults sharing the space. We had a minor maintanence problem that was taken care of right away. The fact that on-site parking is included is a plus. While we did not use the indoor pool, it seemed that the people who were using it enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

My family of five stayed here for three days beach was awesome and the rooms were updated and very clean, the indoor pool could use some updating. Very pleased with service, would definitely stay there again thanks four sails.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
The Breakers Resort Inn
The Breakers Resort Inn
#40 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing