We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was my third stay at this wonderful hotel and each time has been perfect. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Even though it was a little chilly I spent a lot of time on the huge balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff is extremely friendly and very efficient. The room rate is quite reasonable. I truly have no complaints and can't wait to return. I recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    117
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
144
133
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

For the price you pay you can't go wrong. Location is perfect. The rooms are a little in need of TLC but nothing major. Very spacious rooms with all the amenities you need. I found the beds quite comfy but to each there own. Overall I would do again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DotheCaboWabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Used a timeshare trade for a Spring Break vacation in Virginia Beach. Staff was welcoming but unit did not represent the descriptions from previous TripAdvisor reviews that mentioned that the bedroom included an ocean view. True most units do have this perk but the end ones do not and that is where timeshare trades are placed. Despite many empty rooms, we were not allowed to move to another unit due to the restrictions of timeshare units.

This meant that our bedroom faced a parking garage and required the curtains to be closed at all times. Other reviews have noted the small size of the unit. I concur with these remarks as well as those that mentioned the use of mirrors as an aesthetic device. The bed barely fits in the space provided and one person will not have a nightstand or a headboard with a shelf for the placement of glasses, a watch, phone, etc.

Another problem we encountered is that the indoor pool is open to the rest of the resort, so you can hear any noise that comes from that area. It can be rather noisy if a large group of children are prevented from going to the beach.

The unit was very clean, fitted with a full kitchen, and had a daily towel exchange. Two new flat screen televisions were equipped with a large choice of stations. It is also in close proximity to the boardwalk, beach, and restaurants.

Due to the fact that our vacation was marred by poor weather, we decided that the Four Sails would prove to be a dark, dismal, and noisy place for the week, and moved down the street to a hotel that met our needs.

Room Tip: Don't exchange a time share if you have own one better than this property. It is not an even exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godzgud, Manager at Four Sails Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Rowand,
I am very sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations here at the Four Sails. You exchanged your unit through RCI and they assigned you a specific room. We are a deeded timeshare and our owners own specific units and weeks. We don’t have floating units like many resorts, which allows more leeway in moving. I know you spoke to the front office manager and mentioned that you owned a two bedroom at your home resort, but RCI exchanged you into a one bedroom, because there were no 2 bedrooms available in their exchange inventory. Unfortunately if RCI does not have another unit that had been space banked and not been picked up we are not able to move your reservation as it would be an owners unit that was not placed in the exchange program. Even if the owner has not showed up,( which does happen often this time of year). The owner can still show up and use that unit anytime they want during the week and they want their specific unit as that is the one they own. We would have been glad to move you to a center unit or a two bedroom as a courtesy, if we had one that was in the exchange inventory that was not on reservation yet, but we did not. Our information listed on RCI does not show any one bedroom center units and only confirms the queen suites when they confirm. You went to our rental website apparently and looked at the units our owners put in the rental program and perhaps assumed that all units were the center units. I’m sorry for that misunderstanding.
The pool is in an atrium area and is enclosed for floors 4 through 7 only. It is open from 9AM until 10PM. Children are not allowed in the pool until 10AM. If there is ever a problem with noise, we immediately go up and quiet the children down if they are being too loud.
Once again, please accept my apologies for any misunderstanding between RCI and you and with our rental website, as we have never intentionally misled anyone.

Sincerely,
Jeff Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Before we got there we thought this place was going to be too good to be true, but it delivered! We booked very early and got an incredible deal. All the rooms face the ocean and have a private balcony. There is not a whole lot to do in the little town, so go expecting to have a lot of relaxing, strolling, and hanging on the beach time! The staff was so kind and helpful. There are some great places to eat and drink within walking distance, and more within a few mile drive. If I ever go back to Virginia Beach, I will definitely be staying here again, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Just a quick getaway after too much snow over winter.wonderful place with king bedroom separate from living area and full kitchen.huge jacuzzi tub in the bathroom.two balcony entrances
With private one in bedroom.this place was ideal.the staff was so nice and ocean front really means it,step out onto balcony to the ocean and listen n watch the waves,walk or borrow free bicycles
And ride the boardwalk,restaurant right on first floor if u don't want to cook,but fully stocked kitchen is amazing,my only complaint was the indoor heated pool was cold both days,took a cold dip anyway but we will def book again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolf22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartly
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very clean and modern one bedroom, one bath unit. Had a full kitchen and an ocean front balcony the entire length of the unit. Beautiful view.
Staff very friendly and housekeeping does a great job. Indoor pool, free internet and bike use.. Parking garage a little tight, bring your smallest vehicle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DEGhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. Very clean, big tv's and the balcony was absolutely huge. Katie at the front desk was absolutely delightful, very polite and delivered great customer service. Will definitely be staying here again and I recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mathesjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing