We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$156
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$240
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$206
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
224
236
158
104
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
236
158
104
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streettimeshare ownersfull kitchenliving roomfire pitadult poolsister resortconcierge desknice resorthot tuboff seasonthe check in processatlantic avenuedvd playersmall balconyneptune festivalbeach front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
582 - 587 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just returned from a weeks stay at the resort and had a great time.
Our family of five stayed in a 2 bedroom city view, which was very clean
and spacious. The lack of a balcony was disappointing- I do like to get fresh air and we were on the 15th floor. I tried to upgrade the room but
since they were booked solid we had no luck getting a better view.
Overall the resort feels very upscale- new and tropical decor. The staff
was friendly and helpful, including the front desk and porters that were
always waiting to assist you out front.
The pools were a bit small for the size of the hotel- but very pretty. The
restaurant onsite seemed very busy- I only tried the bar one night.
Other reviews have noted the pools are shaded by lunch time- this is
not a problem to me but maybe a rooftop pools would have been a good additon for those seeking sun.
Overall this is a very nice place to visit with a great location and we would return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view if it's important to you. The 2 bedroom lockout may not be ideal for small children as the units are separated by 2 doors. We had to prop open the doors with chairs to open up rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glassjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our family stayed here for 5 nights and overall we were pleased. We own another timeshare, however were invited here to do the "3-hour Gilligan's tour" sales pitch to buy into the new OceanAire. We were put into a 1 bedroom for 4 people. If I return here, I will definitely request a 2-bdroom. My husband and I ended up on the pullout couch, which was really uncomfortable. The kitchen is a great perk as we ended up eating two meals/day in the room and saving some money also. We did not have a balcony and our room faced the street, so no great ocean view, but it was not that important to us. The one negative comment that I have is the check-in process. We arrived at the resort at 12PM and were told that our room was not ready. No big deal...we went to lunch and bought our groceries. We came back at 4pm..no one had called. Later to find out that they did not ask for our phone number, nor did they have this from the paperwork. Overall our trip was positive as we made it that way!!

Room Tip: request a room larger than you really need...pullout sofa is NOT comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbzmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent an entire week and had a great time. Our room was clean and what a beautiful view. We enjoyed ourselves from the minute we arrived. The staff was sooo friendly and helpful.. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: high floor was very private
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Ocean Beach Club is a truly fantastic resort located at 3401 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451 (http://www.vboceanbeachclub.com/). We are a family of four and our boys, six and almost three travel with us. We are a diverse family as I am in my sixties, my wife is half my age, and, of course, our boys tend to look at things differently than either myself or my lovely wife. We selected a two bedroom lock-off suite on the ocean-side of the facility and ended up on the 11th floor. Virginia Beach is our favorite mini-vacation spot on the East Coast. We cruise on Royal Caribbean once or sometimes twice each year, and we always try to visit our favorite city, New Orleans, LA once a year. For any future Virginia Beach vacations, the Ocean Beach Club will be the standard we use to judge any other place we choose to stay. We highly recommend the Ocean Beach Club, part of the Gold Key Resorts, as a wonderful place to stay while in Virginia Beach.
A two bedroom lock-off suite is really a one bedroom suite and an efficiency suite combined. Each suite is complete with kitchen/kitchenette bathroom, and balcony. Each has a queen-sized bed. We had excellent space for our boys to play. The suites can be divided into two separate suites for even more privacy if desired – or the interior doors can be propped open to all free access to the entire suite. The suites were fully furnished and the full-sized refrigerator and fully equipped kitchen in the one-bedroom suite was great – all of the necessary cooking utensils and cookware/dining ware necessary to prepare and eat every meal in the suite if you elect to do so. Also, lots of choices in ordering and bringing food back to the room (either delivery or carry-out) or eating out within walking distance – our very favorite breakfast in Virginia Beach at Pocohantas Pancakes is right across the street less than a block away. With one exception, we found the staff to be highly professional and helpful. Coin-operated laundry facilities are available in several locations throughout the facility, so bring a roll of quarters if you want to do laundry while staying.
I want to share one short story about the quality of the staff. When we first arrived our bellman greeted us like long lost friends and even though we had an unfortunate encounter with someone at the front desk, the bellman significantly mitigated the negative encounter before and after. He was a walking guidebook of details for the best food and activities in the area, and took the time to show us the details of our suite after wrestling with way too much luggage, shopping bags full of supplies, ice chests, etc. for a three-day visit. We saw him daily at one time or another and he always took the time to greet us and ask about the quality of our stay. It was a cool and rainy evening and I walked our boys across the street for ice cream after a carry-in dinner. Our 32 month old dropped his ice cream cone on the driveway, directly in front of the entrance. Our bellman was on duty and witnessed the accident and heart-broken little man. About three minutes after we arrived back in our room, the doorbell rang and there stood our friend the bellman with a new ice cream cone. This was above and beyond service and while we didn’t experience anything else this remarkable, we found most of the other staff seemed to strive for similar levels of service.
I want to mention the swimming pool. We, but especially our boys, love to spend time in the pool. For us choosing to stay in any hotel that does not have a good pool is a problem, and the Ocean Beach Club pool is superb. It has both an indoor and outdoor area and the indoor pool can be closed off during the colder parts of the year or if the weather doesn’t permit use of the outdoor area. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool here, and appreciated the bar staff in the outdoor area too. Also, parking was great. There is a parking garage located right across Atlantic Avenue and guests pay a very reasonable fee to park and have unlimited access to their vehicles with easy entry and exit from the garage.
Because we do mini-vacations at Virginia Beach, we don’t always have the ability to stay exactly where we want to, either because we take advantage of last-minute opportunities, or because our top choices have no vacancies for the dates we are able to visit. Many of the rooms are booked months or even a year in advance, and The Ocean Beach Club is a timeshare facility with many of the suites booked for week-long stays by owners or timeshare exchangers. For all future vacations we will always try to book here first – the best of many wonderful facilities in our opinion.
Virginia Beach is one our top three vacation choices – Royal Caribbean cruises and New Orleans, LA visits being the other two. Considering everything, including location, accommodations, amenities, value and service, The Ocean Beach Club will be our place of choice every time we visit Virginia Beach in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry_Tinovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here with family for 3 days. We had a nice stay , but price was very high per night. The balcony was tiny with no furniture. We brought the living room chairs out there and barely fit.our room on the 13 th floor had a nice view, with the exception of the run down Diplomat hotel next door. We were pleased with our stay , but were constantly bombarded by solicitations for the tours of the resort. After the first few refusals it got very old and intrusive. Nice little resteraunt on premises and very nice staff . Pools were nice and being on the boardwalk a plus. Nice fitness room as well located on 17 th floor.Would have given better rating if not for the pestering of their sales pitch.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Myrtlefan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews