We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, great for families, just beware the noise”
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Affordable, great for families, just beware the noise”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 BR---great value for what you get. The full kitchen is wonderful, well stocked. Huge room overall, big dining table, living room areas, bathroom is enormous with large jetted tub. We love the location, we bring our bikes and hit the boardwalk area from early to late. The pool was ok, didn't feel all that warm and unfortunately no hot tub (there is one next door for adults only). Had to hunt down towels since they were all gone and people were just throwing the used ones all over the place--once notified staff picked them up and brought fresh ones. The onsite restaurant is great atmosphere, but food was not as good as we remembered from last year. Also, it is hard to get the luggage cart in between the outer door and inner door to your room (there are two separate rooms behind each door). The only real complaint, which we knew from reading prior reviews, was the trash pick up around 6:30 every morning even Sunday. The sound is horrific, might as well set the alarm for 6:15 and save yourself being jolted out of sound sleep by the loudest crashing you can imagine--and we were on the 12th floor. There is also construction going on next door and across the street, but we didn't notice much noise from that--and not at 6:30 A.M. So just be forewarned: it WILL be noisy.

Room Tip: wish we could point you to a room that's not noise but with the trash trucks and the constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the OBC. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your kind comments about our great location, large well stocked rooms and overall atmosphere. I also appreciate your comments regarding the pool tempature and trash pick-up you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our team to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    213
    136
    94
    95
See reviews for
349
223
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel after looking at some reviews and mostly bc of the pictures on line. Pulling up to the hotel it seemed to be really nice but there was construction of a new hotel right next door. When I booked the hotel I was hoping to have an ocean front room, kitchen and do forth. When I got to my room it was nice but very small.. There wasn't a kitchen and it wasn't ocean front. At that point I was very disappointed! I went downstairs and asked for an ocean front room and of course thry didn't have any.. I was there for 2 day's in a room that I didn't want. I also didnt like to be bugged about a timeshare. .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Our Resort Concierge is a complimentary service that we provide to our owners and guests for help with buying discounted tickets to local attractions or informational meetings about vacation ownership. However, your description is not consistent with the purpose for the service and I apologize if this had a negative impact on your vacation. I have shared your comments with the management team so that the behavior can be addressed and corrected. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving us the opportunity to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have been a long time owner of OBC, have a two-bedroom that has ocean view. Stayed for my week Sept 13 - 20th, 2013.

Great views, and no noise, slept great - yes it only has queen sized bed. Hearing the ocean waves can really put you to sleep. A/C unit is not noisy at all. my only gripe was the pull-out couch is at the end of it's life, The cushions and support are nearly gone, if you set down you might not make it back up again. Our solution was to take the very heavy and brand new bedspread and use it as a covering on the couch, firmed it up - a lot.

When we arrived, we had a freshly shampooed carpet, I had called and chatted with my owner rep about some bad reviews ( dirty pool, rooms needing work) he said we would enjoy the week, so the great cleaning job to allow my wife's allergies to not be an issue. Place was very clean, and has been that way on all visits. the shampooing was over the top.

Service - tops. Ask a question and get a friendly and informative response. Being a long time owner I don't go to the owner's briefing.. rather have beach time then hear what is happening, but if you do go, low pressure to buy. This place is really neat. the new hotel next door gives you an adult only pool, a wind shielded sundeck with a view.

Room Tip: get the one-bedroom with full kitchen, true one-bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highway_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Your comments made my day! Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. Our team was delighted to hear you were pleased with Ocean Beach Club. We look forward to being of service to you again on your upcoming trips to Virginia Beach. Thanks again for your kind comments and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As we arrived, we saw that there was a huge construction project next to the Ocean Beach Club. They were building a Hilton Redort. Not once while booking this room did they tell us about the construction. At check-in they gave us a letter about the construction and told us that they have ear plugs if needed. REALLY! At 6:30 am the noise began and continued all day. The room set-up was aweful. OUr room had a very small balcony and a door. Our room's window looked out onto the adjacent room's balcony. Needless to say that we had to keep the shade drawn at all times for our and their privacy. Very loud music played 24/7 in the lobby area. Found out that the majority of the hotel were timeshares that all had ocean front rooms. Ours was not, but if you leaned out far enough over the balcony you could see the water! Turned on the heat and the most fould smell came out.

Room Tip: The construction is on the south side of the building. Anything on the north side should be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just completed our annual stay at the oceanfront for the Neptune Festival. September is a favorite time of year to visit. We love the Neptune Festival with all the art, volleyball, regatta, and best of all the International Sand Sculpting competition!

Unit Features: Units ending in "02" are classified as Mediterranean. They are corner units. The "A" side has an oceanfront balcony off of the bedroom and beautiful oceanfront views from the windows in the living area, as well as views of the City (panoramic). The "B" side has a small side balcony, also with beach, ocean and City views. There is a shared foyer for this lock-out. The 1BR side will accommodate up to four, with a queen in the bedroom and a sleep sofa in the living area. It has a full kitchen. The kitchen is small, but is equipped with the essentials. It has a dining table with three chairs and a booth type bench seat for three. There is a full bath with Jacuzzi tub that is closed off from the vanity/sink area. The single bathroom can be closed off by doors to the bedroom and living area, offering privacy for four. There are TVs in the bedroom and living area. The Studio will accommodate up to two. It has a full bath, mini kitchen and queen bed. It has a small balcony for two and TV.

Condition of Unit and Property: The condition of the unit was good, The furnishings were in good condition, although the springs in the sofa bed could be felt on one end of the sofa when seated on it. Nothing in the units could be considered plush; however, everything was clean and well-maintained (except the sofa). The sofa was not used during our stay for sleeping. The Property, itself, is very nice. All areas were clean including interiors, amenity areas and landscaping.

Any problems encountered such as check-in problems, room changes, etc.: Everything went very smooth during our week-long stay. There were no issues encountered. I had requested an upper floor in my unit type prior to my stay, and was placed on the 14th floor.

Planned Resort Activities such as welcome parties, barbecues, kid programs, and outings: There were several planned activities each day. Many required pre-reserving space 24-48 hours in advance. Some of the activities had fees. OCB is owned by Gold Key Resorts, which has four other resorts at the oceanfront. Some of the activities were held on-site at the other resorts.

Resort Amenities: The resort has an on-site Tiki bar (seasonal) that is very nice, overlooking the boardwalk and ocean. The service was very good, as well as the food and drinks. There are two outdoor pools with lots of loungers. Pool towels are provided. There are two indoor pools. One is an infinity pool. There is a very large hot tub. A couple of bars are located in OceanAire, which is a new phase at the OCB Resort. A well-equipped fitness room is located in a glass-enclosed upper floor area. There is also a well-equipped game room, concierge and valet services, a parking garage across the street, and free WIFI in the rooms. There is no full-service restaurant on-site, although there are many dining options within walking distance.

Staff Friendliness and Responsiveness: The friendliness and responsiveness of the staff, all around, was great. Everyone encountered was happy to assist in making our stay a great one.

Convenience to Area Attractions: The location of this resort is at the Northend of the beach/boardwalk. It is near great shopping, restaurants, a music stage, nightlife, the oceanfront bike path and boardwalk and more. It is near the interstate for travel to other attractions and activities. There are two grocery stores nearby (Harris Teeter and Farm Fresh), as well as an alcoholic beverage store.

Additional fees assessed: Parking was provided for one vehicle only. If parking more than one vehicle in the parking garage, there was a daily rate of $8. There were fees for some of the planned activities, if one chose to participate.

Suitability of Resort for couples, families, relaxing, partying, etc.: This resort would be great for all groups. There were lots of families, couples and older singles at the resort during our stay. There's opportunities for both relaxing and partying, and neither interfers with the other.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egret1986061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Ocean Beach Club. We appreciate your kind comments about the resort & it's staff. I also appreciate your comments regarding the condition of the sleeper sofa you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our team to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKAWVILLE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had read reviews prior to our arrival, so knew parking was across the street. Others on check in upset about this fact. Arrived late, Jason was great in helping us get our stuff upstairs, Emily at the front desk help us with directions for our early morning excersion, Daniel from the restaurant helped me with access to the beach late at night. On the beach,beautiful rooms, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We couldn’t agree more with your kind comments regarding Emily. We are fortunate to have many great associates on our team at Ocean Beach Club. You can be assured we will share your kind comments with our team members. We hope we can serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Beach hotel for a family get together. We booked a standard queen room. We've had larger cabins on cruise ships! There was a queen size bed, 2 side chairs, a small table and 2 nightstands in addition to a chest with 2 drawers and a TV on top. There was also a small armoire for hanging clothes (no closet). The room included a kitchenette type setup and we appreciated having an undercounter refrigerator.

The storage in the room was impossible, although there were just 2 of us and we were only there for 3 nights. There is so little space in the room that we had to take turns getting anything out of the two drawers that were available. The noisy window air conditioning unit is within 1 foot of the bed and blows right across your feet. You have to turn sideways to get into bed on the side next to the air conditioner--very tight space even for a small person. We had to move some of the kitchen equipment to make room for a bit more storage. The bathroom was large in terms of area, but very poorly set up. We could not use the vanity or see in the mirror above the vanity (the only mirror in the room) unless we closed the bathroom door and stood right next to the wall. They have an iron in the room but there's no space for a regular ironing board; they provide one of those tabletop boards and it's a challenge to figure out where to set it up in the cramped room.

The property itself is nice with a beautiful pool area. It's right on the beach, so very nicely located. Parking is about a block away and costs $8 per day.

We would have enjoyed our stay if only we had had a closet and about 25 more square feet in the room. The hotel's amenities did not make up for the completely inadequate room size.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_McM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at Ocean Beach Club I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay in a studio room.

I personally apologize that your expectations were not met regarding the size of the studio room. We do appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest, as we strive for consistency and excellent service. After reading your review, I will address your comments with my staff. Again, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us this time, but I hope you give us another chance to earn your business back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,867 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
293 reviews
1.9 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Property: Ocean Beach Club
Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing