We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing the second time around” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing the second time around”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We traded a Platinum Marriott Vacation Club week to go to Va Beach. We won't do that again. We were given a street view that overlooked parking garages and had no balcony. We tried everything possible to get an ocean view and/or balcony but was told nothing was available. We did call ahead to make a request. Funny thing was the resort seemed kind of empty. Neither the pool or beach seemed crowded. Our unit was run down, the kitchen had bare minimum of supplies and the beds were not comfortable. The bedding is nice but the mattresses not so much.

We traded a superior product and received a way inferior product. Again, we will stick to MVCI in the future to avoid this disappointment.

VA Beach itself is a nice location. The boardwalk is clean, lots to do, just a shame our unit was so bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaK20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your time share exchange stay at Ocean Beach Club Resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay as much as your previous stays.

I personally apologize that your expectations were not met regarding your inability to get a oceanfront room in June. We do appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest, as we strive for consistency and excellent service. After reading your review, I will address your comments with my staff. Again, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us this time, but I hope you give us another chance to earn your business back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    207
    133
    91
    89
See reviews for
338
215
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel looks very nice on the outside (pools, oceanfront) howeverrrrrrrrrrrr check your sheets before you lie down. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. The first night we arrived I smelled a very strong odor of somesort. Not sure where it was coming from we went about our day. When we arrived back to the room and attempted to take a nap before dinner.. the smell became stronger. I asked my boyfriend to smell the sheets. LORD! im so glad he smelled the sheets. We had been sleeping in a bed full of urine. The entire bed pad reeked of urine. We immediately went down to the front desk and they gave us another room. Our first room was a studio. We were moved to a studio oceanview room. I would not recommend this resort. Again, lovely pool area, jacuzzi but none of that matters when you cant even rest your body/head in a clean/sanitary bed.

Room Tip: seems like the rooms on the higher floors (10-11) are the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Charlotte,
I am very sorry to read that some aspects of your stay have not been satisfactory, particularly with the condition of your bed. This is not a common situation at our property, and I want you to know that it is taken very serious. Your concerns have been escalated to the Director of Housekeeping to investigate further. We appreciate your feedback and kind comments.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to this resort to celebrate our 15 Wedding Anniversary and had a blast. Everything is conveniently close and the hotel staff was great. We will definitely stay here again. Although we stayed on the street side, it was very quiet.

Room Tip: If possible stay at least 3rd floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear C10,

Congratulations on your 15th Wedding Anniversary! We are honored that you selected our property to celebrate this very special event. I am very touched to hear that you had such a great experience; I will share your wonderful review with our teams. We wish you many more anniversaries and look forward to having you back. Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our 1 bedroom suite at the Ocean Beach Club we previously stayed in a studio. My daughter slept on the pull out couch that had a thicker than normal mattress.

We especially love the outdoor bar restaurant Tortugas...great drinks, food and the bartenders were very friendly!

The pool area is great...sun or shade thru 2pm.

We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tm40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Tim40plus,

I am delighted to read your positive review regarding your recent stay at our resort. It’s always a pleasure to know that our owners and guests are satisfied when they leave our property. We appreciate your loyalty to our resort and your kind comments about Tortugas and our staff. We look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We booked 1 night over a holiday weekend . The hotel is located on very good part of beach with ability to rent chairs and umbrellas.
However, upon pre check in (we got there early) we left our cell number to call when room was ready. No sooner did we pull away to park we got a call saying or room was ready. Inconvenient since literally 3 minutes before we were talking to Inez and asked if a room was ready. So we lugged everything from the parking deck when we could have unloaded conveniently 3 minutes before.
Nothing is included and the food is pricey.
The bed is very uncomfortable. Don't plan on a good nights sleep.
We also complained to the manger that there was a leak in our bathroom above the toilet, bc that is where husband got dropped on from ceiling toilet water. There was evidence of poor repair job but it didn't cover up the mold. Manager didn't give credit, not that we asked but we did point out a health and sanitation concern.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Alison,

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. Our rates are established by supply and demand; generally they go up during certain holidays. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our location and resort amenities. I do apologize for any delays in your check in; we have are currently rolling out a new check in process for our owners, which will make the process much smoother. Unfortunately, we are not an all-inclusive resort, so your nightly rate does not include food or beverages. We thank you for your concerns regarding the leak that you mentioned and our engineering team inspected the area to ensure everything is in working order. Our staff and I wish you a wonderful Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
150 Great Wolf Drive
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice, our room however tiny and faces the street. Ugh!
The service is OK not great. Pool is lovely and cute indoor pool for kids. The boardwalk is really nice - great walks! We have a timeshare and traded for here, it's ok but wouldn't come back.

US Air Base nearby, F16 fighters on drills overhead all day and into the evening. Loud but neat to see. Yay USA!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoyadocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hoyadocmom,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our facility. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities and surrounding area. I agree with you, it is a pretty cool experience to be able to hear the jets fly by. Thank you again for visiting our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here in the fall on the way down to a wedding in the Carolinas.( Virginia beach looked like a ghost town btw) Although this property is large and does offer some very nice amenities such as a gym, and beautiful pool our stay was just ok. When we arrived late at night we were tired and wanted nothing more than to check in and relax. The front desk agents were very nice but then they escorted us over to the timeshare desk. The woman there tried to push us into a time share meeting early the next morning. We kindly explained that we were just in town for the night and had just driven 12 hours. We had to be at a rehearsal dinner the next afternoon in North Carolina and didn't have a few hours to spare for a time share presentation. When I tell you as soon as we expressed to the time share woman that we were not interested, it was as we didn't even exist as hotel guests. So odd. Like "ok people be gone" LOL The attitude was a bit jarring. On a side note I was training for a fitness competition at this time and needed access to a 24 hour gym and a fridge for my food. This place offered both, so we chose this property specifically . Rooms were nice though. The gym was alright but had some broken equipment. The moral of the story here is, if you are staying for a week or so, maybe this place would be better. but prepared to get hassled about timeshare ownership.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalBee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBGM1, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear SoCalBee78,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hassle that you encountered during your time at our resort. We have contacted the appropriate department heads and shared your review with them to take corrective actions. We appreciate all guest feed back as this helps us continue to improve guest satisfaction.
We wish you a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Property: Ocean Beach Club
Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest oceanfront resorts in Virginia Beach, Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing