We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Blue Away

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Terrible
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
1 review
“Disappointing Rental”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018
NEW

This was a very disappointing rental. The pictures are very deceiving so we were rather surprised to see the condition of the house upon arrival. For starters, it has a lovely canal view from the back...except a trailer park blocks the view. The house is very rundown and generally dirty. Examples of some issues are trash around the property and under the beds, burnt out lightbulbs in the bathroom, no tops for any cooking pots, no wine glasses, broken off handle on the fridge or freezer, filthy caprets and furniture, yellow pillow cases, and paint chipping off the walls and ceiling. Please be aware that this rental needs serious work and the pictures are not an accurate representation of the condition of this home. We recommend avoiding this home for your vacation if possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you Sarah for your comments. The photos we have online at the moment for Blue Away were taken last spring, May 5, 2017. They're very honest to what the property currently looks like. The trailer park can be seen in a good number of the photos (we didn't take a photo exclusively of the trailer park, but it is clearly in the backdrop). We will add a photo this fall of the back of the property, there isn't much of one, that shows the canal and will show the trailer park. Lastly, you're leaving this review while you are currently still in the property and this is the first time we're hearing of any of these items other than a broken blind and a few cigarette butts found in the yard. I have shared your review with our maintenance team so they can take care of these items, with the exception of the linens. All of our pillowcases, bed sheets, etc. are an off-white. That's what color they're supposed to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcv8216
Fredericksburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Away”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an old house that needs to be redone. Everything is falling apart. Holes in walls, filthy carpets, needs paint and the list goes on.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam_i_am4...
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pictures of the house are better then the actual house.”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first visit to Virginia Beach, I searched for the right house and the pictures are really nice for this house. When we went to the rental property bushes were over grown, the property was not maintained very well. The back porch was so dirty we couldn't use it, the bushes were overgrown so much in the back yard you could barely see the canal or the view. I just think the owner needs to do some work on this house and it would be a great rental. The inside of the house wasn't much better. I understand it is a beach rental but you need to do some repairs on this house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2017
I see that your stay with us was over a year ago. The owner of the property had done a lot to the landscaping of the property. In fact, the photos online right now were all taken this past spring (April 5, 2017), interiors and exteriors. It is an accurate depiction of what the property looks like today. In 2016 there was an issue with the previous landscaper. The landscaping was not cared for during the summer of 2016. This has been remedied since. Please come back and see it again. We will make a point of update the rear exterior photos in the spring 2018 so the back yard will be visible. It is November right now and all the trees and bushes have dropped their leaves; it's not as pretty as what you would see in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing