We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Anniversary dinner in 37 years!”

Terrapin Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 1,413 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 32nd Street & Holly Road
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary dinner in 37 years!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This is the best restaurant we have eaten at in years! If you are visiting you must try it! We were overwhelmed with impeccable service and the food is unbelievable! We will return!

Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    40
    22
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sussex County, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ugh...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a reservation and was hoping for a table indoors. Instead of accommodating us, say like, "we have a table that should finish up in about 15-20 minutes, do you mind waiting?", it was evident that they only wanted us to sit outside - next to the busy road (and it was a bit muggy/hot out as well). We left.
THANK YOU FOR NOT BEING HOSPITABLE!!!
We went to Chops were we had Caymus wine and excellent steaks. Read my review for that restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank reallyobnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdw10868, Owner at Terrapin Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request for a table inside. Our inside dining room is quite small and usually is booked several days out. We do hope if you visit Virginia Beach again, you will join us and actually be able to enjoy the great dining experience we are known for. Please contact me personally at the restaurant and we will do our best to ensure such an experience. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Chop's and hope to see you again. Brian Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seregno, Italy
Level Contributor
271 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Romantic, good, high level restaurant!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Terrapin restaurant in not too far from the waterfront. It is a nice elegant restaurant in a quiet street with a nice terrace. The selection of wines is good. In the menu you can find pasta, meat, fish, cheese, almost everything. All the dishes we tasted were really well cooked. High quality and fresh ingredients. Waiter was gentle and ready to give us useful suggestion. Price is quite high. If you are looking for a romantic dinner this is your place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank orso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great from Start to Finish”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Dinner at Terrapin was a very enjoyable experience. Top notch service from a very busy waiter(Lee) and an excellent food experience. Terrapin was packed by 6:30pm and filled with the good energy of a successful restaurant. looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poursh993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average high end restaurant”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is your typical high end restaurant. You are definitely paying for the ambience, and so it is a nice treat for special occasions. We had four courses and my favorite was the dessert...the Chocolate Charlotte mouse cake. Delicious. The Chloe Pinot Grigio was excellent as well. For the amount of money you are spending, I would have expected better and more attentive service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cocolove78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrapin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Terrapin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing