We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This will be our new summer destination of choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbridge Dunes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandbridge Dunes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This will be our new summer destination of choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

For families that want to relax on the beach, this is your place. The beach was gorgeous, quiet and so family friendly. We stayed in unit 308 and could not have asked for more. We had 3 kids, 2 grandparents, and 2 parents, and we had more than enough room. The condo is huge and so nice. I hated, hated, hated to come back. My only complaint of Sandbridge in general is the lack of eating options....not even the options, but the fact that the restaurants wouldn't really accommodate take out, so at times dinner was a bit tricky, but beside that, I loved every second.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms but the back have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank twinsplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had a wonderful time in Sandbridge! The Dunes Condos are in a great location, at the heart of everything. We had number 113 and it is decorated beautifully, right in the middle with a great view of the ocean. The beach is not too crowded, but you are also right there by the market and restaurant, which we frequented several times!!

They really try to keep it nice (no towels on the decks, quiet in the pool at night, etc) because owners are there year-round. I found this to be great because it kept for a family atmosphere and better clientele.

This is a beautiful place, but not the party scene of Virginia Beach. However, we took our kids there for the day and it was only 20 minutes away. Loved the aquarium there and shopping is fun to stroll the boardwalk (typical beach stuff for kids :)

We had no problems with Sandbridge Realty. The check-in process was easy. It is drive-thru. We got there at 3:00 and went right through the line. I was ready for traffic into the town and there was none. We had no issues with our condo, so I cannot speak for that side of things. However, I will say that each property is privately owned...

We love the more up-scale and quiet family beach atmosphere, and with this condo, you get the pool choice so the kids can go back and forth. We booked for next year. I thought I was hooked on the Caribbean and would never return to the Atlantic Ocean...we visited here because we wanted to see family. I think we found our new spot!

We had us (a couple with 2 kids, 9 and 13) and my parents. Plenty of room for all of us and a few visitors for a few days of the week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in a corner condo at the Sandbridge Dunes. The check-in was very smooth and convenient. This spacious condo has been tastefully decorated. We loved the master bath with its Jacuzzi tub. There was plenty of closet space and an overall open feel to all of the rooms. The upstairs loft and bedroom was perfect for the 6 males ages 20-23 that were with us. They were able to enjoy their own space and so could the rest of the family. We loved the three bathrooms, comfortable beds and use of a washer/dryer when needed. The wrap-around outdoor balcony offered a fabulous view of the ocean. The beach was clean and was easily accessible from the ground floor. The storage closet in the garage was filled with beach chairs, toys, 2 boogie boards and a sand cart. We did call maintenance due to several cathedral ceiling light bulbs that needed replaced. The staff was prompt and took care of the problem within the hour of our phone call. I'm reluctant to write this review because it will make it more difficult for us to rent this beautiful condo in the future. Please be sure to thank the owners for the use of their lovely home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marti4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

First time there.. and it was wonderful! We had to cancel from the Gulf --due to the oil spill. We booked here and had a wonderful time! The condo was wonderful... and the kids had a great time, as well. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandasAccents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We visited here with our family prior to the "busy" season (Memorial Day weekend). The service was absolutely terrible. As an example, I had to request a light bulb 3 times and it never arrived so I had to go and pick one up. I was very disappointed. They were getting everything ready for the following week and it was just a mess all over the place.
The condo, however, we stayed in was very nice. THis is probably a better place for a family to stay who does not want to go anywhere. With a family full of young adults, this place was pretty boring and very far out of the way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

This was way better then we could of imagined. The beach wasn't as busy as Virginia Beach and there is a little store just across the way for everything you migt need.
We all loved this condo!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyny32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

the place was exactly as described. we traveled with 2 other families, with a total of 4 kids under 5 and it was more than enough room! Our first at trying a condo. All the amenties were there including the subtle things like wine glass, opener, everything needed to cook, for almost every night! Really close to a big upscale suburban shopping center . Close to everything. The pool was well kept and not crowded at all! The beach was across the street and very nice. They had a lot of beach stuff that really we didn't need to bring everything. We had a terrific time and you could tell the owners took pride in their place. we had 3 cars and always had a parking space. I'd say the best location to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioOhiotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
6.0 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbridge Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbridge Dunes

Property: Sandbridge Dunes
Address: 204 Sandbridge Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23456
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sandbridge Dunes Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing