We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice property, great visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a really good experience. The location was easy to get to. Parking is limited on the actual property but there is plenty of street parking directly adjacent. Check-in was smooth and the managers were nice, ensuring our needs were met, asking about dietary restrictions, etc. Take time to talk with the managers (Rich and Sharon) - they are very nice and have a lot of knowledge of VA Beach, local attractions, etc. We stayed in the Avamere room, which is the biggest and the only one with an outside private deck, which was nice. This room also has a very nice steam shower with numerous jets and whirlpool tub. Location was about 3 blocks off the beach - it was an easy walk. The location is near many restaurants, so plenty of variety. There is also a school with an athletic field and running track a few blocks away and also a nature reserve/path nearby. Breakfast was very good, with a different gourmet presentation each day. The property is overall quiet compared to hotels along the beach - during the day there are quite a few cars going by and jets from nearby Oceana Naval Air Station are flying from about 8 AM to 11 PM, but you will hear these anywhere in VA Beach. The property is definitely quiet indoors. We experienced none of the issues we have had in almost every other recent hotel stay such as rowdy drunks, loud conversations in halls, unruly kids, etc. The property does allow kids but all the ones we saw were quiet - perhaps because the B&B model attracts quieter clientele in general. The hot tub was very nice. Even when the B&B was fully booked we managed to have the tub to ourselves each time we used it. We had a couple massages - they bring in local masseuses with skills for whatever type of massage you prefer (we did sports massage) - it was very nice. Overall no downsides I can think of other than hot water takes a while to heat up in the bathrooms. Great stay overall! P.S. there are fireworks each WED and SUN at 10 PM on 25th street. You can go to the boardwalk to see them and they can also be seen from the deck of the Avamere room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    46
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
223
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you want to stay in a relaxing place that feels like home with wonderful food, then this is the place! We were meeting friends for a weekend halfway down the Eastern Coast and chose the Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast. It's not on the beach, but within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were incredible. It's a small B&B with wonderful people who own it and run it. Their hospitality was amazing and we had a great weekend there. We didn't use the spa but wish we had!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisondeanlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchspa, Owner at Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments and spending time with us. I had fun slicing and dicing vegtables for you infusion. Also thanks for the LED lights and information. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was a great find!! We had never been to Virginia Beach before and we were not familiar with anything in the area. This was centrally located to everything!
Rich and Sharon welcomed us like family! My husband is lactose intolerant and Rich went out of his way to accommodate his diet with dishes that were just as scrumptious as mine!
It was such a peaceful vacation. We treated ourselves to a couples massage and it was glorious!
We highly recommend this B&B! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Breakers Hotel room and enjoyed it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennans29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this B & B! Rich and Sharon made us feel right at home and were great to talk with! Rich would make the best breakfast for the guest! Very yummy!The B & B is very clean and well kept and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere!
We stayed in the New Castle Room which is nice and big! We enjoyed the spa and afternoon snack with wine! It was great to have a short walk to the beach! Thank you again for making our stay an enjoyable one!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was more private I thought! The New Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisesutherlandgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was the second tiime we have stayed at Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast and were more impressed the second time around!! Rich and Sharon were absolutely wonderful in every aspect possible. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and the stay there made it very memorable. The breakfast choices were fantastic and the atomosphere relaxing. Cannot make a more glowing recommendation for this bed and breakfast! Will definitely be returning!!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommabear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I called the B&B 3 weeks prior to the date we wished to reserve. Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night, which was explained when I called. His response was "mmmm...we only make two night reservations unless you call us 3 days before the weekend". I asked if he was sure since there were so many rooms available that weekend and as I assumed he wouldn't want to miss out on our business. He said "thank you very much. Have a nice night." And hung up on me.

I can think of several other much more hospitable ways one could have responded. I am disappointed! The resort looks beautiful on line but this is not how I wish to be treated so my search continues.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rungolflovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bchspa, Owner at Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Here at the Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast we pride ourselves in helping all customers. There are certain restrictions we have in order to succeed in this competitive world. As explained to you a one night stay is not permitted during the weekend. However, if you check back 3 days priort to your desired weekend we will release any rooms that are available for a one night stay.

We are sorry you could not accept this policy and found our response not to your liking.

Enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my 30th birthday and babymoon and were just thrilled with everything. The house is in a great location- only a 5 min walk tops to the beach, the room was elegant and the bathroom large, the food was fantastic, and Rich and Sharon were lovely to talk to. We stayed in the Waverly room and it's on the first floor off the kitchen, but we didn't hear noise in the morning and it was right next to the guest pantry where daily we'd find an afternoon snack and fresh chocolate chip cookies- delish! Rich was very accommodating to my slightly picky eating and actually made me a separate breakfast from others one morning. They gave us ideas about where we could baby shop and also recommended some great restaurants. The room was comfortable, had a spa tub, and a rain shower. We tried the spa hot tub as well and would lower/up the temperature to what was best for us. I also scheduled a prenatal massage in their spa tower which they coordinated for me- Leslie was fantastic. It's the most relaxed I've felt in awhile and I'm about 8 months pregnant. Wish I could have had another. Overall it was a lovely experience and my husband remarked that he would stay at another bed and breakfast sometime but only if it were as nice as this one.

Room Tip: We would stay in the Waverly room again- perfect for those that want a bit more space and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katienoyes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2420 Arctic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Luxury Mini Spa Resort Voted #1 Spa Bed and Breakfast in America, Coziest Inn by Southern Living and one of the most eco friendly Inns on the East Coast by Shape Magazine. The Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is centrally located to some of the best Restaurants in Virginia. Only 2 blocks to the boardwalk and one more step and you're on the beach. The charming beach cottage, circa 1937, has been transformed into a mini spa resort. Majestic porches, butterfly bushes and a cascading waterfall welcome guests into the enchanting retreat. Historical post cards decorate the Inn. Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is a great alternative to hotel accommodations and perfect for a romantic getaway. Book your anniversary enlightenment, romantic getaway or adventure package. All 8 beautifully appointed rooms feature private bathrooms which may include hydro body massage, steamer, rainfall shower, Travertine tile or jetted tub. HDTV, cable, internet hookups, WiFi are throughout, accommodating the business traveler and vacationer alike. A 3rd floor spa tower awakens your senses to a warm ocean sunrise and the year round heated outdoor spa pool rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Beach Spa b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing