We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Relaxation and Classy Comforts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamsburg
1 review
“Peaceful Relaxation and Classy Comforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Our stay was lovely and we plan to visit again.
Highlights were the peace and quiet & the feeling of being off the beaten path which is a lot to ask for Virginia Beach. We were close enough to the water and the boardwalk, yet tucked away enough to feel like we could escape the hustle and bustle of the tourism that dominates the beach area. Our room was clean and comfortable. We LOVED the tasteful simplicity of the decorations and thought that it was great to not have a TV in our quarters. Its absence allowed us true relaxation as well as encouraged us to explore other parts of the Arts and Crafts era inn. We soaked in the whirlpool, read in the foyer and lounged delightfully long at breakfast.
Our only suggestion to the innkeepers would be to instruct visitors how to operate the fantastic 4 star showers and how to control the air temperature in the room. The bathrooms were incredible, but we simply could not figure out how to operate them and ended up wasting water by the gallons while searching for a way to get the shower water hot and get the rainfall feature to work. We finally had to call the innkeeper for help in our bathrobes. Perhaps a little notebook in each room with directions and other helpful visiting tidbits would make this an easier adjustment. We also did not realize that we needed to come in a different entrance after ten and were , therefore, locked out for a small spell. We feel like these were very small issues in what was a near perfect stay. Overall the beach Spa B &B is for those who wish for the quaintness of a small inn with the polish of a classy resort.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flumflorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    46
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
222
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

This is a perfect spot for a summer escape, provided one is seeking tranquility and quiet after a day at the beach. Its near-the-beach location was our first criteria. The innkeeper and owner were able to recommend top-notch nearby restaurants--the ones that the locals like. Breakfasts were a gourmet treat to start the day and the spa pool the perfect way to end it. One suggestion would be availability of ice buckets to chill an afternoon bottle of wine.

  • Liked — Location and the architecture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank megerstch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

I have always said that Virginia Beach needed a reputable Bed and Breakfast as an alternative to motels/hotels. My husband and I were thrilled with our stay. The home was immaculately clean, quiet and the breakfast was gourmet and delicious. The outdoor waterfall spa was the perfect temperature and was so inviting after a day at the beach. We routinely stay at bed and breakfast accommodations and this one is top notch.

  • Liked — spa features
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colonialheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown,Va.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

Greg and Yvonne, the place was very nice. We enjoyed it very, very much, especially the hot tub and the massage etc. The tv was an issue which being new we understood but we do believe there still should be the tv/dvd on controlled sound or earphones.
The shower was nice but do need detailed instructions? I feel the other suggestions from others and your implementing them was great,all sounded positive. We would suggest your place to all our friends etc. and best of luck, hope too stay with you all soon again. Bill Gilbert and Tammie Ray

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank tazz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Pinewood Suite and absolutely loved it. The AC worked like a charm, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean.

The innkeeper was very welcoming and easy to talk to.

I only wish they had brunch on the weekends We missed breakfast every morning to sleep in. (We're not morning people)

I would definitely stay again though.

NOTE: Flip up and read the welcome card in the bathroom. It explains their policy on getting fresh towels. My boyfriend and I totally missed it.

  • Liked — The cozy bed
  • Disliked — early breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MeBeckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

We actually came the second weekend the B&B opened, and had such a wonderful time that we decided to spend my wife's 30th birthday weekend there as well. The rooms are spacious and warm, and the bathrooms are fantastic - especially the rooms with the super spa shower units with tons of buttons for easily distracted people like me. We had a little balcony, and we sipped wine we bought from the Harris Teeter two blocks away.

The innkeeper remembered us, and remembered that my wife is vegetarian. Both mornings, we had a fantastic breakfast (and my wife loved the frittatas). They have a nice outdoor hot tub, and the first visit it was great - the second visit it seemed to have a hard time staying hot enough.

The place is two blocks from the beach - lots of good restaurants - I would suggest Fire and Vine which is about 5 minutes drive- that place is amazing.

We also played a lot of golf - a lot of great courses in the area -

Overall, we really like the place and will most likely go back again when we need a weekend away from the city...

Jeff and Emma

  • Liked — It's a great place to relax
  • Disliked — The hot tub wasn't hot enough
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffs_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

BEACH SPA WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR US !! It was the first time for a stay in a bed and breakfast....We would stay there again in the future. Breakfast was WONDERFUL and Michelle , the inn keeper was VERY-VERY helpful . The room was nicely decorated and comfortable.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank boyora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
12.2 mi away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2420 Arctic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Beach Luxury Mini Spa Resort Voted #1 Spa Bed and Breakfast in America, Coziest Inn by Southern Living and one of the most eco friendly Inns on the East Coast by Shape Magazine. The Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is centrally located to some of the best Restaurants in Virginia. Only 2 blocks to the boardwalk and one more step and you're on the beach. The charming beach cottage, circa 1937, has been transformed into a mini spa resort. Majestic porches, butterfly bushes and a cascading waterfall welcome guests into the enchanting retreat. Historical post cards decorate the Inn. Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast is a great alternative to hotel accommodations and perfect for a romantic getaway. Book your anniversary enlightenment, romantic getaway or adventure package. All 8 beautifully appointed rooms feature private bathrooms which may include hydro body massage, steamer, rainfall shower, Travertine tile or jetted tub. HDTV, cable, internet hookups, WiFi are throughout, accommodating the business traveler and vacationer alike. A 3rd floor spa tower awakens your senses to a warm ocean sunrise and the year round heated outdoor spa pool rejuvenates your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Spa Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Spa b&b
Beach Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing